Skip to content
Simpler Grants

No. DE-FOA-0003600 · Office of Science

Open

FY 2026 Continuation of Solicitation for the Office of Science Financial Assistance Program

Dealbreakers No cost share required Audit: not stated Reimbursement-only: not stated
Award range
$50,000 – $5,000,000
Expected awards
~500
Application deadline
Sep 30, 2026 28 days left
Posted
Sep 30, 2025
Last verified
6 days ago

At a glance

AI summary

This annual DOE Office of Science solicitation funds research in Advanced Scientific Computing Research, Basic Energy Sciences, Biological and Environmental Research, Fusion Energy Sciences, High Energy Physics, Nuclear Physics, and Isotope R&D and Production. All types of applicants may apply except 501(c)(4) nonprofits that engaged in lobbying after December 31, 1995, and DOE/NNSA National Laboratories may not apply as lead applicants. Cost sharing is not required for basic and fundamental research awards, and it is also not required for DOE/NNSA National Laboratories, other Federal agencies, other agencies’ FFRDCs, or their subcontractors. Historically, the program has made 200 to 350 new awards per year, with individual awards ranging from $5,000 to $5,000,000. Applications are accepted nationwide for work within SC’s Congressionally authorized mission, and the solicitation remains open until September 30, 2026.

AI-generated summary — verify against the announcement

What it funds

  • Science and Technology and other Research and Development
  • Research & Discovery
  • Researchers & Scholars
  • Biomedical & Disease Research
  • Engineering, Physical & Mathematical Sciences
  • Research Infrastructure, Instrumentation & Data
Official description from grants.gov

The Office of Science (SC) of the Department of Energy (DOE) hereby announces its continuing interest in receiving applications for support of work in the following program areas: Advanced Scientific Computing Research, Basic Energy Sciences, Biological and Environmental Research, Fusion Energy Sciences, High Energy Physics, Nuclear Physics, and Isotope R&D and Production. On September 3, 1992, DOE published in the Federal Register the Office of Energy Research Financial Assistance Program (now called the Office of Science Financial Assistance Program), 10 CFR 605, as a Final Rule, which contained a solicitation for this program. Information about submission of applications, eligibility, limitations, evaluation and selection processes and other policies and procedures are specified in 10 CFR 605. This NOFO is our annual open solicitation that covers all research areas in SC and is open throughout the Fiscal Year. Any research within SC’s Congressionally authorized mission may be proposed under this NOFO. This NOFO will remain open until September 30, 2026, 11:59 PM Eastern Time, or until it is succeeded by another issuance, whichever occurs first. This NOFO succeeds DE-FOA-0003432, which was published September 30, 2024.

Who can apply

  • Unrestricted
Geographic restriction None found in the announcement — likely nationwide

Program history

USASpending.gov

Assistance listing 81.049 · Office of Science Financial Assistance Program

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (81.049), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 173 $206,500 $197,284 – $659,000
FY 2025 613 $505,884 $205,499 – $850,000
FY 2024 902 $491,643 $200,000 – $895,426
FY 2023 1,111
FY 2022 1,046
FY 2021 890

For comparison, this notice advertises $50,000 – $5,000,000.

Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 4,735 — award counts are complete.

Who wins it Higher education (2,594), Business (1,808), Nonprofit (244) of 4,735 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states CA (146) · NY (76) · MA (73) · TX (51) · IL (27)
Largest recent awards
  1. THE KRELL INSTITUTE INC $21,744,164 · FY 2024
  2. UNIVERSITY OF MISSOURI SYSTEM $20,000,000 · FY 2025
  3. UNIVERSITY OF TENNESSEE $14,448,913 · FY 2025
  4. PURDUE UNIVERSITY $9,369,784 · FY 2024
  5. UNIVERSITY OF TEXAS AT AUSTIN $8,549,842 · FY 2025

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 10, 2026