Skip to content
Simpler Grants

No. PAR-25-124 · National Institutes of Health

Open

NCMRR Early Career Research Award (R03 Clinical Trial Optional)

Dealbreakers No cost share required Audit: not stated Reimbursement-only: not stated
Award range
Up to $200,000
Expected awards
Not specified
Application deadline
Jan 7, 2028
Posted
Nov 18, 2024
Last verified
7 days ago

At a glance

AI summary

This program funds early-career rehabilitation research to collect preliminary data for future R01 grants, including basic, clinical, technology, and hypothesis-driven projects in areas within NCMRR’s mission. It is for independent investigators who are not postdoctoral fellows and who are no more than 8 years past their most recent qualifying degree; foreign organizations and foreign components of U.S. organizations are eligible. Awards are grants with a combined direct-cost limit of $200,000 for the full project period, with no more than $100,000 in direct costs in any one year, and the maximum project period is 2 years. No cost sharing is required. Applications focused only on cognitive rehabilitation without a physical component, sports medicine for able-bodied athletes, or animal model development for specific diseases or injuries are not responsive, and only one NCMRR ECR Award application may be submitted as a single PD/PI or one of multiple PDs/PIs per due date.

AI-generated summary — verify against the announcement

What it funds

  • Education
  • Health
  • Research & Discovery
  • Researchers & Scholars
  • Biomedical & Disease Research
Official description from grants.gov

The National Center for Medical Rehabilitation Research (NCMRR) Early Career Research (ECR) Award (R03) is intended to support both basic and clinical research from rehabilitation scientists who are establishing independent research careers. The research must be focused on one or more of the areas within the mission of NCMRR: Applicants are encouraged to refer to the NIH Research Plan on Rehabilitation for strategic priorities (https://www.nichd.nih.gov/newsroom/news/110121-NIH-rehab-plan). The NCMRR ECR Award R03 grant mechanism supports various types of projects including secondary analysis of existing data; small, self-contained research projects; development of research methodology; translational research; outcomes research; and development of new technology. Irrespective of the type of project, the intent of the NCMRR ECR Award R03 is for the Program Director(s)/Principal Investigator(s) (PD(s)/PI(s)) to obtain sufficient preliminary data for a subsequent R01 application.

Who can apply

  • City or township governments
  • County governments
  • For-profit organizations other than small businesses
  • Independent school districts
  • Native American tribal governments (Federally recognized)
  • Native American tribal organizations (other than Federally recognized)
  • Nonprofits with 501(c)(3) status (other than higher education)
  • Nonprofits without 501(c)(3) status (other than higher education)
  • Others
  • Private institutions of higher education
  • Public and State controlled institutions of higher education
  • Public housing authorities / Indian housing authorities
  • Small businesses
  • Special district governments
  • State governments
Geographic restriction None found in the announcement — likely nationwide

Program history

USASpending.gov

Assistance listing 93.865 · Child Health and Human Development Extramural Research

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.865), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 386 $392,826 $79,188 – $593,582
FY 2025 665 $452,972 $178,000 – $1,225,547
FY 2024 785
FY 2023 835
FY 2022 799
FY 2021 764

For comparison, this notice advertises Up to $200,000.

Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 4,234 — award counts are complete.

Who wins it Higher education (3,137), Nonprofit (693), Business (224) of 4,234 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states CA (103) · MA (87) · PA (75) · NY (62) · MI (34)
Largest recent awards
  1. PRESIDENT AND FELLOWS OF HARVARD COLLEGE $16,115,056 · FY 2025
  2. UNIVERSITY OF MIAMI $15,385,183 · FY 2025
  3. UNIVERSITY OF WASHINGTON $6,635,347 · FY 2025
  4. GEORGE WASHINGTON UNIVERSITY (THE) $5,117,920 · FY 2025
  5. RESEARCH TRIANGLE INSTITUTE $4,847,747 · FY 2025

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 23, 2026