Skip to content
Simpler Grants

No. 24-597 · U.S. National Science Foundation

Open

U.S. National Science Foundation Research Traineeship (NRT) Program

Dealbreakers No cost share required Audit: not stated Reimbursement-only: not stated
Award range
$2,000,000 – $3,000,000
Expected awards
~20
Application deadline
Sep 8, 2026 6 days left
Posted
Aug 17, 2024
Last verified
4 days ago

At a glance

AI summary

The program funds traineeships and training projects for STEM graduate students in interdisciplinary or convergent research areas, with the goal of improving graduate education and workforce preparation. Eligible applicants are U.S.-based accredited institutions of higher education applying on behalf of faculty members; Track 1 is open to all such institutions that award research-based STEM master’s or doctoral degrees, while Track 2 is limited to non-R1 institutions. Track 1 awards may be up to $3 million over five years, Track 2 awards up to $2 million over five years, and Track 2 planning grants up to $100,000 per year for up to two years. The program expects about 8 to 20 awards total, plus about 3 to 4 planning grants per year, and there is no stated cost-share requirement. NRT stipends and tuition and required fee support are limited to U.S. citizens, nationals, and permanent residents, though international students may participate without stipend support or as non-trainees.

AI-generated summary — verify against the announcement

What it funds

  • Science and Technology and other Research and Development
  • Capacity Building & Technical Assistance
  • Training, Fellowship & Career Development
  • Researchers & Scholars
  • Students & Learners (K-12 and Postsecondary)
  • Higher Education Access, Institutions & Humanities
  • STEM Education & Research Training
  • Workforce, Employment & Economic Mobility
Official description from grants.gov

The NSF Research Traineeship (NRT) program seeks proposals that explore ways for graduate students in research-based master’s and doctoral degree programs to develop the skills, knowledge, and competencies needed to pursue a range of STEM careers. The program is dedicated to effective training of STEM graduate students in high priority interdisciplinary or convergent research areas, through a comprehensive traineeship model that is innovative, evidence-based, and aligned with changing workforce and research needs. Proposals are requested that address any interdisciplinary or convergent research theme of national priority, as described in section II.D below. The NRT program addresses workforce development, emphasizing broad participation, and institutional capacity building needs in graduate education. The program encourages proposals that involve strategic collaborations with the private sector, non-governmental organizations (NGOs), government agencies, national laboratories, field stations, teaching and learning centers, informal science centers, and academic partners. NRT especially welcomes proposals that reflect collaborations between NRT proposals and existing NSF Eddie Bernice Johnson Inclusion across the Nation of Communities of Learners of Underrepresented Discoverers in Engineering and Science (INCLUDES) Initiative , Research Experiences for Undergraduates (REU) , Louis Stokes Alliances for Minority Participation (LSAMP) , NSF Scholarships in Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics (S-STEM) , and NSF STEM Ed Organizational Postdoctoral Fellowship program (STEM Ed OPRF) projects, provided the collaboration will strengthen both projects. Researchers at minority serving institutions and emerging research institutions are strongly encouraged to submit proposals. Collaborations between NRT proposals and existing NSF INCLUDES projects should strengthen both NRT and INCLUDES projects.

Who can apply

  • Others
Geographic restriction None found in the announcement — likely nationwide

Program history

USASpending.gov

Assistance listing 47.041 · Engineering

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (47.041), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 604 $407,608 $200,000 – $550,000
FY 2025 1,537 $389,666 $282,237 – $549,621
FY 2024 1,761
FY 2023 1,862
FY 2022 2,238
FY 2021 2,436

For comparison, this notice advertises $2,000,000 – $3,000,000.

Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 10,438 — award counts are complete.

Who wins it Higher education (9,406), Business (952), Individuals (3) of 10,438 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states TX (94) · CA (88) · MI (57) · NY (56) · PA (39)
Largest recent awards
  1. NORTH CAROLINA STATE UNIVERSITY $7,674,141 · FY 2026
  2. VANDERBILT UNIVERSITY $4,000,000 · FY 2025
  3. NORTH DAKOTA STATE UNIVERSITY $3,848,048 · FY 2025
  4. CALIFORNIA INSTITUTE OF TECHNOLOGY $3,000,000 · FY 2025
  5. NORTHWESTERN UNIVERSITY $3,000,000 · FY 2025

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 19, 2026

Assistance listing 47.049 · Mathematical and Physical Sciences

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (47.049), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 762 $299,931 $121,337 – $500,000
FY 2025 2,247 $482,485 $249,935 – $627,333
FY 2024 2,571
FY 2023 2,745
FY 2022 2,640
FY 2021 2,567

For comparison, this notice advertises $2,000,000 – $3,000,000.

Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 13,532 — award counts are complete.

Who wins it Higher education (12,621), Individuals (465), Business (248) of 13,532 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states CA (138) · NY (88) · MA (64) · TX (52) · PA (44)
Largest recent awards
  1. ASSOCIATION OF UNIVERSITIES FOR RESEARCH IN ASTRONOMY, INC. $19,041,217 · FY 2025
  2. UNIVERSITY OF CALIFORNIA, LOS ANGELES $7,039,283 · FY 2026
  3. WEST VIRGINIA UNIVERSITY RESEARCH CORPORATION $5,950,041 · FY 2026
  4. MASSACHUSETTS INSTITUTE OF TECHNOLOGY $4,980,000 · FY 2026
  5. UNIVERSITY OF WISCONSIN SYSTEM $4,950,000 · FY 2026

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 21, 2026

Assistance listing 47.050 · Geosciences

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (47.050), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 286 $384,889 $140,548 – $582,302
FY 2025 920 $382,104 $189,831 – $608,490
FY 2024 1,251
FY 2023 1,285
FY 2022 1,314
FY 2021 1,504

For comparison, this notice advertises $2,000,000 – $3,000,000.

Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 6,560 — award counts are complete.

Who wins it Higher education (5,801), Business (430), Individuals (137) of 6,560 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states CA (124) · MA (88) · NY (70) · TX (62) · CO (36)
Largest recent awards
  1. EARTHSCOPE CONSORTIUM INC. $55,190,331 · FY 2025
  2. TEXAS A & M RESEARCH FOUNDATION $17,635,793 · FY 2025
  3. REGENTS OF THE UNIVERSITY OF MICHIGAN $6,000,000 · FY 2025
  4. THE TRUSTEES OF COLUMBIA UNIVERSITY IN THE CITY OF NEW YORK $5,406,902 · FY 2025
  5. PRESIDENT AND FELLOWS OF HARVARD COLLEGE $4,893,936 · FY 2025

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 5, 2026

Assistance listing 47.070 · Computer and Information Science and Engineering

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (47.070), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 647 $358,200 $187,638 – $481,247
FY 2025 1,559 $320,881 $200,061 – $597,771
FY 2024 1,919
FY 2023 2,177
FY 2022 2,045
FY 2021 1,910

For comparison, this notice advertises $2,000,000 – $3,000,000.

Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 10,257 — award counts are complete.

Who wins it Higher education (9,892), Business (180), State government (6) of 10,257 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states CA (109) · NY (68) · MA (58) · FL (41) · PA (36)
Largest recent awards
  1. THE ALLEN INSTITUTE FOR ARTIFICIAL INTELLIGENCE $18,113,645 · FY 2025
  2. UNIVERSITY OF CALIFORNIA, SAN DIEGO $11,000,000 · FY 2026
  3. CARNEGIE-MELLON UNIVERSITY $10,000,000 · FY 2026
  4. THE MORGRIDGE INSTITUTE FOR RESEARCH, INC. $9,000,000 · FY 2026
  5. UNIVERSITY OF CALIFORNIA, LOS ANGELES $9,000,000 · FY 2026

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 5, 2026

Assistance listing 47.074 · Biological Sciences

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (47.074), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 458 $570,595 $339,784 – $897,764
FY 2025 826 $501,517 $345,101 – $859,237
FY 2024 1,075
FY 2023 1,137
FY 2022 1,240
FY 2021 1,243

For comparison, this notice advertises $2,000,000 – $3,000,000.

Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 5,979 — award counts are complete.

Who wins it Higher education (4,952), Business (476), Individuals (460) of 5,979 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states CA (111) · NY (70) · TX (46) · PA (31) · MA (25)
Largest recent awards
  1. RESEARCH FOUNDATION FOR THE STATE UNIVERSITY OF NEW YORK, THE $2,999,999 · FY 2025
  2. UNIVERSITY OF GEORGIA RESEARCH FOUNDATION, INC. $2,514,000 · FY 2025
  3. UNIVERSITY OF MARYLAND, COLLEGE PARK $2,432,713 · FY 2025
  4. CLEMSON UNIVERSITY $2,400,000 · FY 2025
  5. THE PENNSYLVANIA STATE UNIVERSITY $2,200,000 · FY 2025

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 5, 2026

Assistance listing 47.075 · Social, Behavioral, and Economic Sciences

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (47.075), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 89 $574,558 $210,470 – $772,299
FY 2025 559 $208,544 $38,032 – $400,000
FY 2024 838 $193,570 $86,318 – $399,791
FY 2023 869
FY 2022 895
FY 2021 958

For comparison, this notice advertises $2,000,000 – $3,000,000.

Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 4,208 — award counts are complete.

Who wins it Higher education (3,813), Business (195), Individuals (130) of 4,208 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states CA (104) · NY (88) · MA (74) · TX (73) · IL (32)
Largest recent awards
  1. REGENTS OF THE UNIVERSITY OF MICHIGAN $10,999,998 · FY 2024
  2. NATIONAL OPINION RESEARCH CENTER $7,998,747 · FY 2025
  3. UNIVERSITY OF KENTUCKY RESEARCH FOUNDATION, THE $5,599,998 · FY 2024
  4. REGENTS OF THE UNIVERSITY OF MINNESOTA $5,200,000 · FY 2024
  5. NATIONAL BUREAU OF ECONOMIC RESEARCH INC $3,065,935 · FY 2024

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 5, 2026

Assistance listing 47.076 · STEM Education (formerly Education and Human Resources)

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (47.076), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 93 $743,868 $218,502 – $1,887,597
FY 2025 803 $475,000 $242,507 – $1,000,000
FY 2024 1,421 $398,874 $200,164 – $909,820
FY 2023 1,303
FY 2022 1,344
FY 2021 1,191

For comparison, this notice advertises $2,000,000 – $3,000,000.

Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 6,155 — award counts are complete.

Who wins it Higher education (5,466), Business (351), Tribal government (18) of 6,155 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states CA (93) · TX (67) · NY (65) · NC (49) · IL (37)
Largest recent awards
  1. GEORGIA TECH RESEARCH CORP $8,990,942 · FY 2025
  2. THE REGENTS OF THE UNIVERSITY OF COLORADO $8,000,000 · FY 2025
  3. CAL POLY POMONA FOUNDATION INC $7,500,000 · FY 2025
  4. FLORIDA A & M UNIVERSITY $7,500,000 · FY 2025
  5. MONTANA TECHNOLOGICAL UNIVERSITY $7,500,000 · FY 2025

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 5, 2026

Assistance listing 47.079 · Office of International Science and Engineering

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (47.079), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 12 $343,574 $134,406 – $552,844
FY 2025 110 $443,613 $274,824 – $478,396
FY 2024 127 $344,984 $257,834 – $512,493
FY 2023 128 $281,771 $150,000 – $417,907
FY 2022 107 $299,888 $162,654 – $678,098
FY 2021 127 $299,945 $200,596 – $398,431

For comparison, this notice advertises $2,000,000 – $3,000,000.

Who wins it Higher education (575), Business (21), Individuals (2) of 611 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states CA (58) · NY (46) · TX (37) · PA (24) · FL (14)
Largest recent awards
  1. THE TRUSTEES OF PRINCETON UNIVERSITY $23,201,013 · FY 2023
  2. AMERICAN ASSOCIATION FOR THE ADVANCEMENT OF SCIENCE $22,676,043 · FY 2022
  3. INTERNAT HUMAN FRONTIER SCIENCE PROGRAMM $21,236,000 · FY 2025
  4. GEORGIA TECH RESEARCH CORP $20,210,752 · FY 2021
  5. DUKE UNIVERSITY $20,203,733 · FY 2021

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 5, 2026

Assistance listing 47.083 · Integrative Activities

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (47.083), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 69 $393,875 $291,425 – $1,250,907
FY 2025 388 $463,272 $269,010 – $887,105
FY 2024 697 $452,434 $270,334 – $807,474
FY 2023 700
FY 2022 476
FY 2021 150

For comparison, this notice advertises $2,000,000 – $3,000,000.

Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 2,480 — award counts are complete.

Who wins it Higher education (2,352), Business (81), Individuals (8) of 2,480 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states AL (60) · LA (48) · MS (42) · OK (24) · SC (24)
Largest recent awards
  1. GEORGIA TECH RESEARCH CORP $23,999,998 · FY 2025
  2. UNIVERSITY OF WASHINGTON $22,294,445 · FY 2024
  3. THE REGENTS OF THE UNIVERSITY OF COLORADO $19,998,055 · FY 2024
  4. UNIVERSITY OF OKLAHOMA $19,982,835 · FY 2025
  5. UNIVERSITY OF KENTUCKY RESEARCH FOUNDATION, THE $12,912,881 · FY 2024

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 5, 2026

Assistance listing 47.084 · NSF Technology, Innovation, and Partnerships

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (47.084), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 199 $304,926 $50,000 – $1,149,405
FY 2025 908 $305,000 $50,000 – $997,540
FY 2024 1,040
FY 2023 1,102
FY 2022 623
FY 2021 268

For comparison, this notice advertises $2,000,000 – $3,000,000.

Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 4,140 — award counts are complete.

Who wins it Higher education (2,266), Business (1,777), Individuals (2) of 4,140 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states CA (138) · NY (79) · TX (68) · MA (66) · CO (31)
Largest recent awards
  1. ACTIVATE GLOBAL INC $14,978,985 · FY 2025
  2. OREGON STATE UNIVERSITY $7,500,000 · FY 2026
  3. TRUSTEES OF INDIANA UNIVERSITY $7,500,000 · FY 2026
  4. UNIVERSITY OF ALASKA FAIRBANKS $7,500,000 · FY 2026
  5. UNIVERSITY OF CONNECTICUT $7,500,000 · FY 2026

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 5, 2026

Change history

Since we first indexed it
  1. Jul 25, 2026 Grant announcement document replaced