Skip to content
Simpler Grants

No. RFA-NS-27-002 · National Institutes of Health

Open

BRAIN Initiative: Integrative Team-Research BRAIN Circuits Program - iBCP (RM1 Clinical Trial Not Allowed)

Dealbreakers No cost share required Audit: not stated Reimbursement-only: not stated
Award range
Not specified
Expected awards
Not specified
Application deadline
Jun 23, 2028
Posted
Aug 31, 2026
Last verified
4 days ago

At a glance

No plain-language summary yet for this grant — the official description below is the best source.

What it funds

  • Health
  • Research & Discovery
  • Researchers & Scholars
  • Biomedical & Disease Research
Official description from grants.gov

The National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke (NINDS), with other NIH Institutes and Centers (ICs), the National Eye Institute (NEI), National Institute on Aging (NIA), National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism (NIAAA), National Institute of Biomedical Imaging and Bioengineering (NIBIB), Eunice Kennedy Shriver National Institute of Child Health and Human Development (NICHD), National Institute on Deafness and Other Communication Disorders (NIDCD), National Institute on Drug Abuse (NIDA) National Institute of Mental Health (NIMH), National Center for Complementary and Integrative Health (NCCIH), and Office of Behavioral and Social Sciences Research (OBSSR), intends to publish a Notice of Funding Opportunity (NOFO) to solicit applications from teams to understand how the nervous system, from its individual components to its unified whole, gives rise to mental experience and behavior. Teams must integrate distinct expertise of 3-6 PDs/PIs to deliver fundamental principles about central nervous system (CNS) function through theories, models, and approaches that bridge cells, circuits, behavior. Applications must connect these 3 levels of analysis: (1) rich large-scale information about circuit components (e.g., cell types, connectivity), (2) in vivo CNS recordings at cellular and sub-second and temporal resolution, (3) along with analyses of a tractable behavior of an organism or a well-defined neural system. Projects may also include the development of tools and approaches to surmount key research roadblocks. Experimental systems should be chosen for their potential to optimize integrative approaches and reveal generalizable, multi-scale principles about CNS computations underlying function and behavior. Applications are not being solicited at this time. Notice is being provided to allow potential applicants sufficient time to develop meaningful collaborations and responsive projects. This NOFO will utilize the RM1 activity code. Investigators with expertise and insights into this area of integrative systems neuroscience are encouraged to begin to consider applying for this new NOFO. In addition, collaborative investigations from newly formed or established teams, combining expertise in molecular, cellular, systems, behavioral, computational, and theoretical neuroscience, as well as in engineering, data science, mathematics, physics, and statistics, as appropriate, will be encouraged and these investigators should also begin considering applying for this application.

Who can apply

  • City or township governments
  • County governments
  • For-profit organizations other than small businesses
  • Independent school districts
  • Native American tribal governments (Federally recognized)
  • Native American tribal organizations (other than Federally recognized)
  • Nonprofits with 501(c)(3) status (other than higher education)
  • Nonprofits without 501(c)(3) status (other than higher education)
  • Others
  • Private institutions of higher education
  • Public and State controlled institutions of higher education
  • Public housing authorities / Indian housing authorities
  • Small businesses
  • Special district governments
  • State governments
Geographic restriction None found in the announcement — likely nationwide
Set-aside Set aside or prioritized for: Faith-based organization
“Faith-based or Community-based Organizations” — From the announcement

Program history

USASpending.gov

Assistance listing 93.372 · 21st Century Cures Act - Brain Research through Advancing Innovative Neurotechnologies

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.372), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 15 $616,000 $560,712 – $727,254
FY 2025 50 $577,633 $276,956 – $1,343,284
FY 2024 44 $675,351 $250,312 – $1,703,077
FY 2023 101 $2,119,145 $696,394 – $3,708,508
FY 2022 58 $2,015,724 $818,440 – $2,963,723
FY 2021 60 $2,656,107 $757,035 – $4,107,143
Who wins it Higher education (259), Nonprofit (37), Business (19) of 328 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states CA (78) · NY (43) · MA (27) · TX (17) · WA (12)
Largest recent awards
  1. PRESIDENT AND FELLOWS OF HARVARD COLLEGE $21,489,807 · FY 2023
  2. ALLEN INSTITUTE $18,975,021 · FY 2022
  3. THE TRUSTEES OF COLUMBIA UNIVERSITY IN THE CITY OF NEW YORK $18,155,129 · FY 2021
  4. THE LELAND STANFORD JUNIOR UNIVERSITY $18,097,780 · FY 2021
  5. THE GENERAL HOSPITAL CORPORATION $17,455,711 · FY 2023

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 14, 2026

Assistance listing 93.853 · Extramural Research Programs in the Neurosciences and Neurological Disorders

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.853), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 654 $405,461 $120,825 – $587,738
FY 2025 923 $491,085 $157,949 – $1,077,840
FY 2024 1,031
FY 2023 1,194
FY 2022 1,228
FY 2021 1,132

Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 6,162 — award counts are complete.

Who wins it Higher education (4,669), Nonprofit (990), Business (259) of 6,162 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states CA (153) · NY (99) · MA (93) · PA (74) · TX (39)
Largest recent awards
  1. THE LELAND STANFORD JUNIOR UNIVERSITY $5,747,701 · FY 2025
  2. YALE UNIV $4,888,497 · FY 2025
  3. MAYO CLINIC $3,746,535 · FY 2026
  4. REGENTS OF THE UNIVERSITY OF CALIFORNIA, SAN FRANCISCO, THE $3,153,019 · FY 2025
  5. UNIVERSITY OF CALIFORNIA, LOS ANGELES $3,109,857 · FY 2025

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 23, 2026

Change history

Since we first indexed it
  1. Sep 1, 2026 Title updated
  2. Sep 1, 2026 Status: forecasted → open
  3. Sep 1, 2026 Deadline set: Jun 23, 2028