No. PAR-25-441 · National Institutes of Health
Native American Research Centers for Health (NARCH) Planning Grants (R34 - Clinical Trial Not Allowed)
Not reimbursement-only
“Grant: A financial assistance mechanism providing money, property, or both to an eligible entity to carry out an approved project or activity.” — From the announcement
- Award range
- Not specified
- Expected awards
- Not specified
- Application deadline
- Jul 7, 2028
- Posted
- Aug 26, 2025
- Last verified
- 7 days ago
At a glance
AI summaryThis program funds planning and preparatory work to help eligible federally recognized Tribal entities develop a competitive future NARCH application. It is open only to federally recognized AI/AN Tribes, Tribal colleges or universities, Tribal health programs, Tribal organizations, or consortia of those entities, and applicants must not already have an active NARCH S06 award or an active NARCH Planning Grant. Awards are limited to 2 years, with annual direct costs up to $225,000; if non-Tribal partners are included, at least 75% of requested funds must go to eligible Tribal entities and subcontracts to non-eligible partners may be no more than 25% of the direct cost budget. Cost sharing is not required. Foreign organizations and non-U.S. entities are not eligible, and foreign subawards are not allowed; foreign components are only allowed when one or more federally recognized Tribes with ancestral catchment areas crossing the U.S. border participate.
AI-generated summary — verify against the announcement
What it funds
Official description from grants.gov
The purpose of the Native American Research Centers for Health (NARCH) Planning Grants program is to support federally recognized American Indian/Alaska Native (AI/AN) Tribes, Tribal colleges and universities, Tribal health programs, or Tribal organizations (collectively, eligible AI/AN Tribal entities) to plan and conduct preparatory work for developing competitive NARCH applications.
Who can apply
- Native American tribal governments (Federally recognized)
- Native American tribal organizations (other than Federally recognized)
Program history
USASpending.govAssistance listing 93.859 · Biomedical Research and Research Training
Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.859), not just this notice.
| Fiscal year | Awards | Median award | Middle half |
|---|---|---|---|
| FY 2026 (so far) | 1,048 | $420,000 | $325,870 – $487,506 |
| FY 2025 | 1,115 | — | — |
| FY 2024 | 1,171 | — | — |
| FY 2023 | 1,383 | — | — |
| FY 2022 | 1,574 | — | — |
| FY 2021 | 1,321 | — | — |
Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 7,612 — award counts are complete.
- UNIVERSITY OF MISSISSIPPI MEDICAL CENTER $5,185,402 · FY 2026
- UNIVERSITY OF WISCONSIN SYSTEM $3,654,310 · FY 2026
- THE TRUSTEES OF PRINCETON UNIVERSITY $2,993,000 · FY 2026
- BATTELLE MEMORIAL INSTITUTE $2,843,142 · FY 2026
- UNIVERSITY OF LOUISVILLE $2,652,150 · FY 2026
Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 23, 2026