Skip to content
Simpler Grants

No. NLG-M-FY27 · Institute of Museum and Library Services

Open

National Leadership Grants for Museums (2027)

Dealbreakers Cost share: not stated Audit: not stated Reimbursement-only: not stated
Award range
$50,000 – $750,000
Expected awards
Not specified
Application deadline
Nov 13, 2026
Posted
Sep 1, 2026
Last verified
Today

At a glance

No plain-language summary yet for this grant — the official description below is the best source.

What it funds

  • Arts
  • Humanities
Official description from grants.gov

The National Leadership Grants for Museums program (NLG-M) invests in projects that address critical needs of the museum field. NLG-M projects have the potential to advance practice in the profession to strengthen museum services for the public through the development and replication of model practices, tools, research findings, and collaborations, including through the creative and effective use of new and emerging technologies.

Who can apply

  • Others
Geographic restriction None found in the announcement — likely nationwide

Program history

USASpending.gov

Assistance listing 45.312 · National Leadership Grants

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (45.312), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 81 $232,583 $136,056 – $476,424
FY 2025 25 $100,000 $10,000 – $605,140
FY 2024 85 $249,500 $148,710 – $415,366
FY 2023 69 $249,800 $146,575 – $598,833
FY 2022 436 $47,778 $29,227 – $50,000
FY 2021 86 $233,354 $100,854 – $321,335

For comparison, this notice advertises $50,000 – $750,000.

Who wins it State government (782) of 782 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states NY (80) · CA (47) · IL (40) · PA (35) · WA (30)
Largest recent awards
  1. NATIONAL PARK FOUNDATION $10,142,920 · FY 2026
  2. ASSOCIATION OF TRIBAL ARCHIVES LIBRARIES & MUSEUMS $4,316,712 · FY 2021
  3. AMERICA250.ORG, INC. $3,868,200 · FY 2025
  4. TRUSTEES OF THE UNIVERSITY OF PENNSYLVANIA, THE $3,121,324 · FY 2024
  5. FOUNDATION FOR ADVANCEMENT IN CONSERVATION $2,728,016 · FY 2021

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Sep 2, 2026