Skip to content
Simpler Grants

No. MFA-FY27 · Institute of Museum and Library Services

Open

Museums for America (2027)

Dealbreakers Cost share: not stated Audit: not stated Reimbursement-only: not stated
Award range
$5,000 – $350,000
Expected awards
Not specified
Application deadline
Nov 13, 2026
Posted
Sep 1, 2026
Last verified
Today

At a glance

No plain-language summary yet for this grant — the official description below is the best source.

What it funds

  • Arts
  • Humanities
Official description from grants.gov

he Museums for America (MFA) program invests in museums of all sizes – from small to large – and disciplines in project-based efforts to serve the public through educational programs and exhibits, community partnerships, and collections stewardship activities.

Who can apply

  • Others
Geographic restriction None found in the announcement — likely nationwide

Program history

USASpending.gov

Assistance listing 45.301 · Museums for America

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (45.301), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 197 $83,664 $25,000 – $250,843
FY 2025 90 $142,546 $40,000 – $248,960
FY 2024 211 $138,868 $47,621 – $245,627
FY 2023 220 $150,713 $50,000 – $242,485
FY 2022 200 $153,429 $50,000 – $234,806
FY 2021 206 $177,814 $126,716 – $241,877

For comparison, this notice advertises $5,000 – $350,000.

Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 1,124 — award counts are complete.

Who wins it State government (1,124) of 1,124 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states NY (133) · CA (78) · PA (42) · IL (39) · MA (33)
Largest recent awards
  1. TOWN OF NORMAL CHILDREN'S DISCOVERY MUSEUM FOUNDATION $1,191,000 · FY 2026
  2. FRIENDS OF THE NORTH CAROLINA STATE MUSEUM OF NATURAL SCIENCES $795,382 · FY 2026
  3. FLORIDA HOLOCAUST MUSEUM, INC $750,000 · FY 2025
  4. HOLOCAUST MEMORIAL CENTER $749,981 · FY 2025
  5. CENTER FOR HOLOCAUST AND HUMANITY EDUCATION $747,881 · FY 2025

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Sep 2, 2026