Skip to content
Simpler Grants

No. AAHC-FY27 · Institute of Museum and Library Services

Open

Museum Grants for African American History and Culture (2027)

Dealbreakers Cost share: not stated Audit: not stated Reimbursement-only: not stated
Award range
$5,000 – $500,000
Expected awards
Not specified
Application deadline
Nov 13, 2026
Posted
Sep 1, 2026
Last verified
Today

At a glance

No plain-language summary yet for this grant — the official description below is the best source.

What it funds

  • Arts
  • Humanities
Official description from grants.gov

The Museum Grants for African American History and Culture (AAHC) program builds the capacity of African American museums and supports the growth and development of museum professionals at African American museums. The program supports projects that nurture museum professionals, build institutional capacity, and increase access to museum and archival collections at African American museums and Historically Black Colleges and Universities (HBCUs).

Who can apply

  • Others
Geographic restriction None found in the announcement — likely nationwide

Program history

USASpending.gov

Assistance listing 45.309 · Museum Grants for African American History and Culture

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (45.309), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 34 $100,000 $99,815 – $245,300
FY 2025 31 $100,000 $99,039 – $271,250
FY 2024 31 $100,000 $99,774 – $311,772
FY 2023 35 $100,000 $97,498 – $213,152
FY 2022 34 $86,570 $50,000 – $241,511
FY 2021 24 $75,193 $49,880 – $242,599

For comparison, this notice advertises $5,000 – $500,000.

Who wins it State government (189) of 189 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states NY (16) · TX (13) · AL (12) · NC (12) · FL (11)
Largest recent awards
  1. FERRIS STATE UNIVERSITY $500,000 · FY 2023
  2. FLORIDA A & M UNIVERSITY $500,000 · FY 2025
  3. GREAT PLAINS BLACK HISTORY MUSEUM ARCHIVES AND INTERPRETATIVE CENTER INC. $500,000 · FY 2025
  4. NATIONAL UNDERGROUND RAILROAD FREEDOM CENTER, INC. $500,000 · FY 2024
  5. SAN ANTONIO AFRICAN AMERICAN COMMUNITY ARCHIVE AND MUSEUM $500,000 · FY 2026

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Sep 2, 2026