No. 25-545 · U.S. National Science Foundation
NSF STEM K-12
- Award range
- Not specified
- Expected awards
- Not specified
- Application deadline
- No deadline listed
- Posted
- Aug 22, 2025
- Last verified
- 7 days ago
At a glance
AI summaryNSF STEM K-12 funds research and development on STEM teaching and learning, including computer science, AI pathways, STEM workforce skills, and related methods, tools, curricula, and learning environments. It is open to U.S. two- and four-year higher education institutions, U.S.-based nonprofit non-academic organizations, U.S. for-profit organizations, state and local governments, and federally recognized Tribal Nations. The program expects about 40 awards and lists $30,000,000 in anticipated funding, with most awards ranging from $25,000 to $750,000 and lasting one to three years; research and development proposals are suggested at $350,000 to $750,000 for two to three years, and conference proposals at $25,000 to $99,000 for up to two years. There are no stated cost-share requirements, and no general limits on who may serve as PI or on the number of proposals per organization or per PI/co-PI.
AI-generated summary — verify against the announcement
What it funds
Official description from grants.gov
The NSF STEM K-12 program in the Division of Research on Learning in Formal and Informal Settings (DRL) in the Directorate for STEM Education (EDU) supports fundamental, applied, and translational research that advances STEM teaching and learning and improves understanding of education across the human lifespan and a range of formal and informal settings.
Who can apply
- Others
Program history
USASpending.govAssistance listing 47.076 · STEM Education (formerly Education and Human Resources)
Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (47.076), not just this notice.
| Fiscal year | Awards | Median award | Middle half |
|---|---|---|---|
| FY 2026 (so far) | 93 | $743,868 | $218,502 – $1,887,597 |
| FY 2025 | 803 | $475,000 | $242,507 – $1,000,000 |
| FY 2024 | 1,421 | $398,874 | $200,164 – $909,820 |
| FY 2023 | 1,303 | — | — |
| FY 2022 | 1,344 | — | — |
| FY 2021 | 1,191 | — | — |
Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 6,155 — award counts are complete.
- GEORGIA TECH RESEARCH CORP $8,990,942 · FY 2025
- THE REGENTS OF THE UNIVERSITY OF COLORADO $8,000,000 · FY 2025
- CAL POLY POMONA FOUNDATION INC $7,500,000 · FY 2025
- FLORIDA A & M UNIVERSITY $7,500,000 · FY 2025
- MONTANA TECHNOLOGICAL UNIVERSITY $7,500,000 · FY 2025
Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 5, 2026
Change history
Since we first indexed it- Jul 25, 2026 Grant announcement document replaced