Skip to content
Simpler Grants

No. 25-515 · U.S. National Science Foundation

Open

Security, Privacy, and Trust in Cyberspace

Dealbreakers No cost share required Audit: not stated Reimbursement-only: not stated
Award range
$50,000 – $1,200,000
Expected awards
Not specified
Application deadline
Sep 28, 2026 26 days left
Posted
Dec 6, 2024
Last verified
3 days ago

At a glance

No plain-language summary yet for this grant — the official description below is the best source.

What it funds

  • Science and Technology and other Research and Development
  • Research & Discovery
  • Training, Fellowship & Career Development
  • Researchers & Scholars
  • AI, Computing & Cybersecurity
  • Engineering, Physical & Mathematical Sciences
  • STEM Education & Research Training
Official description from grants.gov

Our world is at a pivotal moment where the boundaries dividing the physical and social worlds from the cyber world have become blurred. Cyberspace has evolved from an interconnected digital environment into a complex and interdependent cyber ecosystem that involves hardware, software, networks, data, people, organizations, countries, and the physical world. Critical functions of everyday life are deeply intertwined with computing, including health, government, commerce, the public sphere, education, critical infrastructure, interpersonal communication, and transportation. The complexity and inter-dependencies in cyberspace can be misused and exploited by malicious actors. These in turn can trigger adverse outcomes such as disruption of critical infrastructure and systems; theft of intellectual property and sensitive data; amplification of inequalities; disclosure of private information of individuals, organizations, and governments; and threats to lives, livelihoods, and reputations. Furthermore, constant attacks on the data and assets of corporations, governments, and individuals undermine people’s trust in decision-making and processes that depend critically on these cyber systems. The Security, Privacy, and Trust in Cyberspace (SaTC 2.0) program aims to build trust in global cyber ecosystems. Trust is the core tenet of this program and, for the purposes of this solicitation, is broadly defined to include our confidence in the security, privacy, and resilience of cyberspace, particularly in the face of malicious intent. Achieving this level of confidence in cyberspace requires not only understanding the vulnerabilities in a system that could be exploited and how they can be addressed, but also understanding the social and technical dimensions of trust in cyber systems, along with the educational efforts needed to increase public awareness of risks in cyberspace, and building a well-trained corps of privacy and security professionals. SaTC 2.0 spans the interests of NSF's Directorates for Computer and Information Science and Engineering (CISE), Mathematical and Physical Sciences (MPS), Social, Behavioral and Economic Sciences (SBE), and STEM Education (EDU). Proposals must be submitted pursuant to one of the following designations, each of which may have additional requirements: RES: The Research (RES) designation is the focus of the multidisciplinary SaTC 2.0 research program. RES projects are limited to $1,200,000 in total budget, with durations of up to four years. Proposals with a total budget of more than $600,000 have additional requirements including Broadening Participation in Computing and collaboration plans. RES proposals may include an optional Transition to Education (TTE) plan with a budget up to $50,000 (within the RES total budget request) to co-evolve novel educational initiatives in the context of the proposed research. EDU: The Education (EDU) designation is used to identify proposals focusing on education and workforce training in building trust in security, privacy, and resilience of cyberspace. EDU proposals are limited to $500,000 in total budget, with durations of up to three years. EDU proposals that primarily focus on education research with demonstrated collaboration, as reflected in the PI team between cybersecurity subject matter experts and education researcher(s), may request an additional $100,000 beyond the $500,000 limit. SEED: The Seedling (SEED) category is intended for special topics defined by accompanying Dear Colleague Letters. SEED projects are limited to $300,000 in total budget, with durations of up to two years.

Who can apply

  • Others
Geographic restriction None found in the announcement — likely nationwide

Program history

USASpending.gov

Assistance listing 47.049 · Mathematical and Physical Sciences

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (47.049), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 762 $299,931 $121,337 – $500,000
FY 2025 2,247 $482,485 $249,935 – $627,333
FY 2024 2,571
FY 2023 2,745
FY 2022 2,640
FY 2021 2,567

For comparison, this notice advertises $50,000 – $1,200,000.

Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 13,532 — award counts are complete.

Who wins it Higher education (12,621), Individuals (465), Business (248) of 13,532 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states CA (138) · NY (88) · MA (64) · TX (52) · PA (44)
Largest recent awards
  1. ASSOCIATION OF UNIVERSITIES FOR RESEARCH IN ASTRONOMY, INC. $19,041,217 · FY 2025
  2. UNIVERSITY OF CALIFORNIA, LOS ANGELES $7,039,283 · FY 2026
  3. WEST VIRGINIA UNIVERSITY RESEARCH CORPORATION $5,950,041 · FY 2026
  4. MASSACHUSETTS INSTITUTE OF TECHNOLOGY $4,980,000 · FY 2026
  5. UNIVERSITY OF WISCONSIN SYSTEM $4,950,000 · FY 2026

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 21, 2026

Assistance listing 47.070 · Computer and Information Science and Engineering

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (47.070), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 647 $358,200 $187,638 – $481,247
FY 2025 1,559 $320,881 $200,061 – $597,771
FY 2024 1,919
FY 2023 2,177
FY 2022 2,045
FY 2021 1,910

For comparison, this notice advertises $50,000 – $1,200,000.

Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 10,257 — award counts are complete.

Who wins it Higher education (9,892), Business (180), State government (6) of 10,257 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states CA (109) · NY (68) · MA (58) · FL (41) · PA (36)
Largest recent awards
  1. THE ALLEN INSTITUTE FOR ARTIFICIAL INTELLIGENCE $18,113,645 · FY 2025
  2. UNIVERSITY OF CALIFORNIA, SAN DIEGO $11,000,000 · FY 2026
  3. CARNEGIE-MELLON UNIVERSITY $10,000,000 · FY 2026
  4. THE MORGRIDGE INSTITUTE FOR RESEARCH, INC. $9,000,000 · FY 2026
  5. UNIVERSITY OF CALIFORNIA, LOS ANGELES $9,000,000 · FY 2026

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 5, 2026

Assistance listing 47.075 · Social, Behavioral, and Economic Sciences

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (47.075), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 89 $574,558 $210,470 – $772,299
FY 2025 559 $208,544 $38,032 – $400,000
FY 2024 838 $193,570 $86,318 – $399,791
FY 2023 869
FY 2022 895
FY 2021 958

For comparison, this notice advertises $50,000 – $1,200,000.

Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 4,208 — award counts are complete.

Who wins it Higher education (3,813), Business (195), Individuals (130) of 4,208 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states CA (104) · NY (88) · MA (74) · TX (73) · IL (32)
Largest recent awards
  1. REGENTS OF THE UNIVERSITY OF MICHIGAN $10,999,998 · FY 2024
  2. NATIONAL OPINION RESEARCH CENTER $7,998,747 · FY 2025
  3. UNIVERSITY OF KENTUCKY RESEARCH FOUNDATION, THE $5,599,998 · FY 2024
  4. REGENTS OF THE UNIVERSITY OF MINNESOTA $5,200,000 · FY 2024
  5. NATIONAL BUREAU OF ECONOMIC RESEARCH INC $3,065,935 · FY 2024

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 5, 2026

Assistance listing 47.076 · STEM Education (formerly Education and Human Resources)

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (47.076), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 93 $743,868 $218,502 – $1,887,597
FY 2025 803 $475,000 $242,507 – $1,000,000
FY 2024 1,421 $398,874 $200,164 – $909,820
FY 2023 1,303
FY 2022 1,344
FY 2021 1,191

For comparison, this notice advertises $50,000 – $1,200,000.

Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 6,155 — award counts are complete.

Who wins it Higher education (5,466), Business (351), Tribal government (18) of 6,155 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states CA (93) · TX (67) · NY (65) · NC (49) · IL (37)
Largest recent awards
  1. GEORGIA TECH RESEARCH CORP $8,990,942 · FY 2025
  2. THE REGENTS OF THE UNIVERSITY OF COLORADO $8,000,000 · FY 2025
  3. CAL POLY POMONA FOUNDATION INC $7,500,000 · FY 2025
  4. FLORIDA A & M UNIVERSITY $7,500,000 · FY 2025
  5. MONTANA TECHNOLOGICAL UNIVERSITY $7,500,000 · FY 2025

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 5, 2026

Change history

Since we first indexed it
  1. Jul 25, 2026 Grant announcement document replaced