Skip to content
Simpler Grants

No. PAR-24-071 · National Institutes of Health

Open

Alcohol Research-Related Resource Award (R24 Clinical Trial Not Allowed)

Dealbreakers No cost share required Audit: not stated Reimbursement-only: not stated
Award range
Not specified
Expected awards
Not specified
Application deadline
Sep 25, 2026 23 days left
Posted
Nov 30, 2023
Last verified
7 days ago

At a glance

AI summary

This program funds investigator-initiated resource projects that provide data, materials, tools, or services to support alcohol-related biomedical, behavioral, and social health research. It is for applicants in the United States and includes higher education institutions, nonprofits, for-profits, governments, tribal organizations, faith-based or community-based organizations, regional organizations, and federal entities; foreign organizations and foreign components are not allowed. Applications may be new, renewal, or resubmission, but clinical trials are not allowed and applications focused on HIV/AIDS resources, mechanistic or hypothesis-driven aims, or duplicating existing NIAAA resources are not responsive. Award budgets are not limited, the project period is 5 years, the number of awards depends on available funds and strong applications, and no cost sharing is required. NIAAA expects funded resources to serve at least 5 outside institutions or organizations, including at least 2 outside the awardee’s state.

AI-generated summary — verify against the announcement

What it funds

  • Health
  • Capacity Building & Technical Assistance
  • Researchers & Scholars
  • Biomedical & Disease Research
Official description from grants.gov

The purpose of the Resource-Related Research Projects (R24) grant is to support investigator-initiated resources designed to provide materials and services to support and advance biomedical research on a national basis. An R24 resource grant mechanism is a non-hypothesis-driven activity to provide data, materials, tools, or services that are essential to making timely, high quality, and cost-efficient progress in a field. Hypothesis-driven research applications should not be submitted in response to this program announcement but to another mechanism that encourages this type of research. The resource should be available to any qualified investigator, and should be highly quality controlled, and not duplicate resources available commercially or through other sources. Resources should be designed to provide services to the broad alcohol research community and should not be limited by any specific regional focus.

Who can apply

  • City or township governments
  • County governments
  • For-profit organizations other than small businesses
  • Independent school districts
  • Native American tribal governments (Federally recognized)
  • Native American tribal organizations (other than Federally recognized)
  • Nonprofits with 501(c)(3) status (other than higher education)
  • Nonprofits without 501(c)(3) status (other than higher education)
  • Others
  • Private institutions of higher education
  • Public and State controlled institutions of higher education
  • Public housing authorities / Indian housing authorities
  • Small businesses
  • Special district governments
  • State governments
Geographic restriction None found in the announcement — likely nationwide

Program history

USASpending.gov

Assistance listing 93.273 · Alcohol Research Programs

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.273), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 100 $308,491 $157,932 – $601,291
FY 2025 175 $440,566 $194,934 – $1,114,948
FY 2024 237 $420,927 $153,632 – $1,110,810
FY 2023 327 $619,032 $350,328 – $1,806,361
FY 2022 314 $897,120 $369,477 – $2,547,224
FY 2021 274

Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 1,427 — award counts are complete.

Who wins it Higher education (1,103), Nonprofit (187), Business (75) of 1,427 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states CA (118) · NC (58) · NY (57) · PA (41) · TX (40)
Largest recent awards
  1. THE JOHNS HOPKINS UNIVERSITY $36,249,682 · FY 2022
  2. THE TRUSTEES OF COLUMBIA UNIVERSITY IN THE CITY OF NEW YORK $9,079,530 · FY 2022
  3. BOARD OF REGENTS OF THE UNIVERSITY OF NEBRASKA $6,335,676 · FY 2023
  4. VANDERBILT UNIVERSITY $5,361,769 · FY 2024
  5. LOHOCLA RESEARCH CORP $5,128,513 · FY 2022

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 6, 2026