Skip to content
Simpler Grants

No. PAR-26-042 · National Institutes of Health

Open

Research Grants in Clinical Informatics (R01 Clinical Trial Optional)

Dealbreakers No cost share required Audit: not stated Reimbursement-only: not stated
Award range
$0 – $250,000
Expected awards
~10
Application deadline
Mar 5, 2029
Posted
Feb 11, 2026
Last verified
4 days ago

At a glance

No plain-language summary yet for this grant — the official description below is the best source.

What it funds

  • Health
  • Research & Discovery
  • Researchers & Scholars
  • AI, Computing & Cybersecurity
  • Biomedical & Disease Research
  • Health Care Delivery, Access & Workforce
Official description from grants.gov

The National Library of Medicine (NLM) seeks applications for innovative research in clinical informatics. The overarching goal of this forthcoming program is to catalyze the development and advancement of novel informatics methodologies that empower clinicians, patients, and the broader public to better understand, manage, and improve health and health care delivery. This NOFO will support research focused on the design, implementation, and evaluation of clinical informatics tools and methods that enable data-driven discovery, promote evidence-based decision-making, and support personalized and precision health care. Emphasis will be placed on domain-independent, scalable, and reusable/reproducible approaches for the discovery, analysis, organization, and management of health-related digital objects—including electronic health records (EHRs), clinical notes, imaging data, and patient-generated data. The aim is to transform raw and heterogeneous health data into actionable knowledge, to develop innovative tools, and to implement practical applications that can be generalized across multiple clinical settings and populations. Projects should demonstrate the potential to accelerate scientific insights, improve clinical workflows, and ultimately lead to improved health outcomes.

Who can apply

  • City or township governments
  • County governments
  • For-profit organizations other than small businesses
  • Independent school districts
  • Native American tribal governments (Federally recognized)
  • Native American tribal organizations (other than Federally recognized)
  • Nonprofits with 501(c)(3) status (other than higher education)
  • Nonprofits without 501(c)(3) status (other than higher education)
  • Others
  • Private institutions of higher education
  • Public and State controlled institutions of higher education
  • Public housing authorities / Indian housing authorities
  • Small businesses
  • Special district governments
  • State governments
Geographic restriction None found in the announcement — likely nationwide

Program history

USASpending.gov

Assistance listing 93.879 · Medical Library Assistance

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.879), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 31 $349,875 $149,897 – $642,658
FY 2025 34 $614,550 $462,000 – $823,053
FY 2024 56 $485,250 $224,711 – $995,406
FY 2023 53 $727,873 $286,324 – $1,435,500
FY 2022 61 $812,919 $413,880 – $1,390,150
FY 2021 63 $1,329,473 $351,797 – $1,651,842

For comparison, this notice advertises $0 – $250,000.

Who wins it Higher education (223), Nonprofit (41), Business (17) of 298 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states CA (43) · PA (32) · MA (23) · NY (22) · IL (9)
Largest recent awards
  1. UNIVERSITY OF UTAH $11,107,283 · FY 2021
  2. UNIVERSITY OF MARYLAND, BALTIMORE $10,600,468 · FY 2021
  3. UNIVERSITY OF WASHINGTON $6,868,908 · FY 2021
  4. THE MEDICAL UNIVERSITY OF SOUTH CAROLINA $6,810,297 · FY 2021
  5. THE UNIVERSITY OF IOWA $6,236,524 · FY 2021

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 24, 2026