Skip to content
Simpler Grants

No. 26-506 · U.S. National Science Foundation

Open

Pathways to Enable Secure Open-Source Ecosystems (PESOSE)

Dealbreakers No cost share required Audit: not stated Reimbursement-only: not stated
Award range
Not specified
Expected awards
~60
Application deadline
Mar 2, 2027
Posted
Feb 19, 2026
Last verified
7 days ago

At a glance

AI summary

The program funds projects that build strong, sustainable, and secure open-source ecosystems, including planning and community-building, expanding governance and operations, and improving safety, security, and privacy. Eligible applicants include U.S.-based institutions of higher education, nonprofit and for-profit organizations, state and local governments, Tribal Nations, and certain federal agencies and FFRDCs. It expects 40 to 60 awards, with up to $300,000 for Track 1 and up to $1,500,000 for Tracks 2 and 3. There is no stated cost-share requirement. For nonprofit and for-profit applicants, the organization must be U.S.-based and U.S.-owned and controlled.

AI-generated summary — verify against the announcement

What it funds

  • Science and Technology and other Research and Development
  • Capacity Building & Technical Assistance
  • Technology & Product Development
  • Educators & Health/Public-Service Workforce
  • Researchers & Scholars
  • Workers, Entrepreneurs & Producers
  • AI, Computing & Cybersecurity
  • Defense, National Security & Aerospace
  • Research Infrastructure, Instrumentation & Data
Official description from grants.gov

The Pathways to Enable Secure Open-Source Ecosystems (PESOSE) program supports the translation of open-source science and engineering-focused research products into safe and sustainable ecosystems that address national and societal challenges. Open-source tools such as software, hardware, machine learning models, languages, and data platforms are designed to be shared as they are publicly-accessible and modifiable. These tools spark innovation in critical fields as varied as artificial intelligence (AI) and cloud computing, banking, healthcare, research, education, next-gen manufacturing, mobility, and National security (including cybersecurity). PESOSE supports the creation of managing organizations for these ecosystems, ensuring strong governance, distributed development, and broad user communities across academia, industry, and government. PESOSE also supports enhancements to the safety, security, and privacy of Open-Source Ecosystems (OSE) by addressing significant vulnerabilities, both technical and socio-technical, to improve the resistance of the ecosystem against threats. This solicitation seeks three types of proposals, allowing teams to propose specific activities to:1) scope and planthe establishment of an OSE, 2)establishand expand a sustainable OSE based on a robust, promising open-source product that meets an emergent societal or national need, and 3) improve the safety, security, and privacy of an existing OSE and its products.

Who can apply

  • Others
Geographic restriction None found in the announcement — likely nationwide

Program history

USASpending.gov

Assistance listing 47.041 · Engineering

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (47.041), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 604 $407,608 $200,000 – $550,000
FY 2025 1,537 $389,666 $282,237 – $549,621
FY 2024 1,761
FY 2023 1,862
FY 2022 2,238
FY 2021 2,436

Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 10,438 — award counts are complete.

Who wins it Higher education (9,406), Business (952), Individuals (3) of 10,438 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states TX (94) · CA (88) · MI (57) · NY (56) · PA (39)
Largest recent awards
  1. NORTH CAROLINA STATE UNIVERSITY $7,674,141 · FY 2026
  2. VANDERBILT UNIVERSITY $4,000,000 · FY 2025
  3. NORTH DAKOTA STATE UNIVERSITY $3,848,048 · FY 2025
  4. CALIFORNIA INSTITUTE OF TECHNOLOGY $3,000,000 · FY 2025
  5. NORTHWESTERN UNIVERSITY $3,000,000 · FY 2025

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 19, 2026

Assistance listing 47.049 · Mathematical and Physical Sciences

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (47.049), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 762 $299,931 $121,337 – $500,000
FY 2025 2,247 $482,485 $249,935 – $627,333
FY 2024 2,571
FY 2023 2,745
FY 2022 2,640
FY 2021 2,567

Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 13,532 — award counts are complete.

Who wins it Higher education (12,621), Individuals (465), Business (248) of 13,532 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states CA (138) · NY (88) · MA (64) · TX (52) · PA (44)
Largest recent awards
  1. ASSOCIATION OF UNIVERSITIES FOR RESEARCH IN ASTRONOMY, INC. $19,041,217 · FY 2025
  2. UNIVERSITY OF CALIFORNIA, LOS ANGELES $7,039,283 · FY 2026
  3. WEST VIRGINIA UNIVERSITY RESEARCH CORPORATION $5,950,041 · FY 2026
  4. MASSACHUSETTS INSTITUTE OF TECHNOLOGY $4,980,000 · FY 2026
  5. UNIVERSITY OF WISCONSIN SYSTEM $4,950,000 · FY 2026

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 21, 2026

Assistance listing 47.050 · Geosciences

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (47.050), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 286 $384,889 $140,548 – $582,302
FY 2025 920 $382,104 $189,831 – $608,490
FY 2024 1,251
FY 2023 1,285
FY 2022 1,314
FY 2021 1,504

Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 6,560 — award counts are complete.

Who wins it Higher education (5,801), Business (430), Individuals (137) of 6,560 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states CA (124) · MA (88) · NY (70) · TX (62) · CO (36)
Largest recent awards
  1. EARTHSCOPE CONSORTIUM INC. $55,190,331 · FY 2025
  2. TEXAS A & M RESEARCH FOUNDATION $17,635,793 · FY 2025
  3. REGENTS OF THE UNIVERSITY OF MICHIGAN $6,000,000 · FY 2025
  4. THE TRUSTEES OF COLUMBIA UNIVERSITY IN THE CITY OF NEW YORK $5,406,902 · FY 2025
  5. PRESIDENT AND FELLOWS OF HARVARD COLLEGE $4,893,936 · FY 2025

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 5, 2026

Assistance listing 47.070 · Computer and Information Science and Engineering

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (47.070), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 647 $358,200 $187,638 – $481,247
FY 2025 1,559 $320,881 $200,061 – $597,771
FY 2024 1,919
FY 2023 2,177
FY 2022 2,045
FY 2021 1,910

Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 10,257 — award counts are complete.

Who wins it Higher education (9,892), Business (180), State government (6) of 10,257 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states CA (109) · NY (68) · MA (58) · FL (41) · PA (36)
Largest recent awards
  1. THE ALLEN INSTITUTE FOR ARTIFICIAL INTELLIGENCE $18,113,645 · FY 2025
  2. UNIVERSITY OF CALIFORNIA, SAN DIEGO $11,000,000 · FY 2026
  3. CARNEGIE-MELLON UNIVERSITY $10,000,000 · FY 2026
  4. THE MORGRIDGE INSTITUTE FOR RESEARCH, INC. $9,000,000 · FY 2026
  5. UNIVERSITY OF CALIFORNIA, LOS ANGELES $9,000,000 · FY 2026

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 5, 2026

Assistance listing 47.074 · Biological Sciences

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (47.074), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 458 $570,595 $339,784 – $897,764
FY 2025 826 $501,517 $345,101 – $859,237
FY 2024 1,075
FY 2023 1,137
FY 2022 1,240
FY 2021 1,243

Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 5,979 — award counts are complete.

Who wins it Higher education (4,952), Business (476), Individuals (460) of 5,979 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states CA (111) · NY (70) · TX (46) · PA (31) · MA (25)
Largest recent awards
  1. RESEARCH FOUNDATION FOR THE STATE UNIVERSITY OF NEW YORK, THE $2,999,999 · FY 2025
  2. UNIVERSITY OF GEORGIA RESEARCH FOUNDATION, INC. $2,514,000 · FY 2025
  3. UNIVERSITY OF MARYLAND, COLLEGE PARK $2,432,713 · FY 2025
  4. CLEMSON UNIVERSITY $2,400,000 · FY 2025
  5. THE PENNSYLVANIA STATE UNIVERSITY $2,200,000 · FY 2025

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 5, 2026

Assistance listing 47.075 · Social, Behavioral, and Economic Sciences

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (47.075), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 89 $574,558 $210,470 – $772,299
FY 2025 559 $208,544 $38,032 – $400,000
FY 2024 838 $193,570 $86,318 – $399,791
FY 2023 869
FY 2022 895
FY 2021 958

Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 4,208 — award counts are complete.

Who wins it Higher education (3,813), Business (195), Individuals (130) of 4,208 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states CA (104) · NY (88) · MA (74) · TX (73) · IL (32)
Largest recent awards
  1. REGENTS OF THE UNIVERSITY OF MICHIGAN $10,999,998 · FY 2024
  2. NATIONAL OPINION RESEARCH CENTER $7,998,747 · FY 2025
  3. UNIVERSITY OF KENTUCKY RESEARCH FOUNDATION, THE $5,599,998 · FY 2024
  4. REGENTS OF THE UNIVERSITY OF MINNESOTA $5,200,000 · FY 2024
  5. NATIONAL BUREAU OF ECONOMIC RESEARCH INC $3,065,935 · FY 2024

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 5, 2026

Assistance listing 47.076 · STEM Education (formerly Education and Human Resources)

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (47.076), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 93 $743,868 $218,502 – $1,887,597
FY 2025 803 $475,000 $242,507 – $1,000,000
FY 2024 1,421 $398,874 $200,164 – $909,820
FY 2023 1,303
FY 2022 1,344
FY 2021 1,191

Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 6,155 — award counts are complete.

Who wins it Higher education (5,466), Business (351), Tribal government (18) of 6,155 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states CA (93) · TX (67) · NY (65) · NC (49) · IL (37)
Largest recent awards
  1. GEORGIA TECH RESEARCH CORP $8,990,942 · FY 2025
  2. THE REGENTS OF THE UNIVERSITY OF COLORADO $8,000,000 · FY 2025
  3. CAL POLY POMONA FOUNDATION INC $7,500,000 · FY 2025
  4. FLORIDA A & M UNIVERSITY $7,500,000 · FY 2025
  5. MONTANA TECHNOLOGICAL UNIVERSITY $7,500,000 · FY 2025

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 5, 2026

Assistance listing 47.084 · NSF Technology, Innovation, and Partnerships

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (47.084), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 199 $304,926 $50,000 – $1,149,405
FY 2025 908 $305,000 $50,000 – $997,540
FY 2024 1,040
FY 2023 1,102
FY 2022 623
FY 2021 268

Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 4,140 — award counts are complete.

Who wins it Higher education (2,266), Business (1,777), Individuals (2) of 4,140 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states CA (138) · NY (79) · TX (68) · MA (66) · CO (31)
Largest recent awards
  1. ACTIVATE GLOBAL INC $14,978,985 · FY 2025
  2. OREGON STATE UNIVERSITY $7,500,000 · FY 2026
  3. TRUSTEES OF INDIANA UNIVERSITY $7,500,000 · FY 2026
  4. UNIVERSITY OF ALASKA FAIRBANKS $7,500,000 · FY 2026
  5. UNIVERSITY OF CONNECTICUT $7,500,000 · FY 2026

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 5, 2026

Change history

Since we first indexed it
  1. Sep 1, 2026 Title updated
  2. Sep 1, 2026 Deadline moved: Sep 1, 2026 → Mar 2, 2027
  3. Jul 25, 2026 Grant announcement document replaced