Skip to content
Simpler Grants

No. PAR-25-235 · National Institutes of Health

Open

Personal Health Informatics for Delivering Actionable Insights to Individuals (R01 Clinical Trial Optional)

Dealbreakers No cost share required Audit: not stated
Not reimbursement-only
“Grant: A financial assistance mechanism providing money, property, or both to an eligible entity to carry out an approved project or activity.” — From the announcement
Award range
Up to $250,000
Expected awards
Not specified
Application deadline
Jan 7, 2027
Posted
Nov 21, 2024
Last verified
6 days ago

At a glance

AI summary

This program funds research to develop personal health informatics tools, systems, and data science approaches that give individuals understandable, actionable health insights from their personal health data. It supports new and resubmission grant applications, with clinical trials optional, and allows small, early-stage to Phase I clinical trials as part of the project. Eligible applicants include U.S. and foreign organizations, including nonprofits, colleges, governments, small businesses, and faith-based or community-based organizations; foreign components and non-U.S. entities are allowed. Applications may request up to $250,000 per year in direct costs for up to 4 years, and the notice does not require cost sharing. The number of awards depends on NIH appropriations and the quality of applications.

AI-generated summary — verify against the announcement

What it funds

  • Education
  • Health
  • Research & Discovery
  • Other / needs-review
  • AI, Computing & Cybersecurity
  • Biomedical & Disease Research
Official description from grants.gov

The purpose of this Notice of Funding Opportunity (NOFO) is to advance the development of novel informatics and data science approaches that can help individuals understand and improve their health through actionable insights. NLM seeks applications that further the science of personal health informatics by providing meaningful and actionable insights to individuals through innovative personal health data collection, integration, analysis, and personalized risk assessments and interpretation. Applications seeking to advance the understanding of how informatics tools, systems, and platforms can best present the results, interpretation, and limitations of personalized assessments for the benefit of individuals are encouraged. Applications should include end user engaged approaches and real-world evaluation to inform the design of generalizable, reusable, and scalable personal health informatics tools, systems, and platforms for the benefit of individuals in understanding and improving their health.

Who can apply

  • City or township governments
  • County governments
  • For-profit organizations other than small businesses
  • Independent school districts
  • Native American tribal governments (Federally recognized)
  • Native American tribal organizations (other than Federally recognized)
  • Nonprofits with 501(c)(3) status (other than higher education)
  • Nonprofits without 501(c)(3) status (other than higher education)
  • Others
  • Private institutions of higher education
  • Public and State controlled institutions of higher education
  • Public housing authorities / Indian housing authorities
  • Small businesses
  • Special district governments
  • State governments
Geographic restriction None found in the announcement — likely nationwide

Program history

USASpending.gov

Assistance listing 93.242 · Mental Health Research Grants

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.242), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 491 $451,000 $167,702 – $811,948
FY 2025 600 $731,738 $320,544 – $1,460,736
FY 2024 883
FY 2023 898
FY 2022 986
FY 2021 945

For comparison, this notice advertises Up to $250,000.

Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 4,803 — award counts are complete.

Who wins it Higher education (3,532), Nonprofit (816), Business (215) of 4,803 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states CA (166) · NY (127) · MA (104) · PA (79) · IL (22)
Largest recent awards
  1. MASSACHUSETTS INSTITUTE OF TECHNOLOGY $21,714,815 · FY 2025
  2. OHIO STATE UNIVERSITY, THE $19,515,757 · FY 2025
  3. ALBERT EINSTEIN COLLEGE OF MEDICINE $18,270,924 · FY 2025
  4. DUKE UNIVERSITY $15,039,330 · FY 2025
  5. ICAHN SCHOOL OF MEDICINE AT MOUNT SINAI $12,007,972 · FY 2026

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 6, 2026

Assistance listing 93.879 · Medical Library Assistance

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.879), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 31 $349,875 $149,897 – $642,658
FY 2025 34 $614,550 $462,000 – $823,053
FY 2024 56 $485,250 $224,711 – $995,406
FY 2023 53 $727,873 $286,324 – $1,435,500
FY 2022 61 $812,919 $413,880 – $1,390,150
FY 2021 63 $1,329,473 $351,797 – $1,651,842

For comparison, this notice advertises Up to $250,000.

Who wins it Higher education (223), Nonprofit (41), Business (17) of 298 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states CA (43) · PA (32) · MA (23) · NY (22) · IL (9)
Largest recent awards
  1. UNIVERSITY OF UTAH $11,107,283 · FY 2021
  2. UNIVERSITY OF MARYLAND, BALTIMORE $10,600,468 · FY 2021
  3. UNIVERSITY OF WASHINGTON $6,868,908 · FY 2021
  4. THE MEDICAL UNIVERSITY OF SOUTH CAROLINA $6,810,297 · FY 2021
  5. THE UNIVERSITY OF IOWA $6,236,524 · FY 2021

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 24, 2026