Skip to content
Simpler Grants

No. PAR-23-202 · Food and Drug Administration

Open

Vet-LIRN Capacity-Building Project and Equipment Grants (U18)

Dealbreakers Cost share: not stated Audit: not stated Reimbursement-only: not stated
Award range
$225,000 – $2,500,000
Expected awards
Not specified
Application deadline
Sep 4, 2028
Posted
May 18, 2023
Last verified
Yesterday

At a glance

No plain-language summary yet for this grant — the official description below is the best source.

What it funds

  • Agriculture
  • Consumer Protection
  • Food and Nutrition
  • Capacity Building & Technical Assistance
  • Infrastructure, Construction & Shared Facilities
  • Agriculture, Food Systems & Food Safety
  • Biomedical & Disease Research
  • Research Infrastructure, Instrumentation & Data
Official description from grants.gov

The goal of this NOFO is to fund veterinary diagnostic laboratories in the Vet-LIRN network for grants associated with projects and equipment. Specific objectives include: 1. Supporting the development, adaptation, or verification/validation of new methods associated with animal food issues or antimicrobial resistance. 2. Short-term surveillance or monitoring efforts aligned with the CVM mission. 3. Supporting equipment for testing or developing tests associated with animal food-related issues or antimicrobial resistance, including those for emerging technologies. 4. Developing projects related to antimicrobial stewardship, in alignment with CVM's key initiatives in this area. 5. Contributing as part of Vet-LIRN's AMR monitoring program, including sequencing isolates. 6. Supporting work associated with One Health, including emerging diseases such as COVID-19, when funding is available.

Who can apply

  • City or township governments
  • County governments
  • For-profit organizations other than small businesses
  • Independent school districts
  • Native American tribal governments (Federally recognized)
  • Native American tribal organizations (other than Federally recognized)
  • Nonprofits with 501(c)(3) status (other than higher education)
  • Nonprofits without 501(c)(3) status (other than higher education)
  • Private institutions of higher education
  • Public and State controlled institutions of higher education
  • Public housing authorities / Indian housing authorities
  • Small businesses
  • Special district governments
  • State governments
Geographic restriction None found in the announcement — likely nationwide

Program history

USASpending.gov

Assistance listing 93.103 · Food and Drug Administration Research

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.103), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 2 $674,557 $362,279 – $986,836
FY 2025 128 $449,605 $217,500 – $750,000
FY 2024 95 $350,000 $101,736 – $1,005,321
FY 2023 176 $570,625 $154,967 – $997,677
FY 2022 136 $292,635 $128,510 – $1,080,535
FY 2021 131 $1,247,596 $218,607 – $2,622,614

For comparison, this notice advertises $225,000 – $2,500,000.

Who wins it Higher education (212), State government (196), Nonprofit (141) of 668 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states PA (45) · CA (43) · NY (28) · MD (25) · MA (20)
Largest recent awards
  1. NATIONAL ENVIRONMENTAL HEALTH ASSOCIATION $36,000,000 · FY 2021
  2. FOOD & AGRICULTURE, CALIFORNIA DEPARTMENT OF $24,423,552 · FY 2021
  3. ASSOCIATION OF FOOD & DRUG OFFICIALS $13,305,546 · FY 2022
  4. UNIVERSITY OF NORTH CAROLINA AT CHAPEL HILL $12,840,004 · FY 2023
  5. REGENTS OF THE UNIVERSITY OF MINNESOTA $7,424,773 · FY 2022

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 16, 2026