Skip to content
Simpler Grants

No. RFA-DA-26-056 · National Institutes of Health

Open

Accelerating the Pace of Substance Use Research Using Existing Data (R21 Clinical Trial Not Allowed)

Dealbreakers No cost share required Audit: not stated
Not reimbursement-only
“Grant: A financial assistance mechanism providing money, property, or both to an eligible entity to carry out an approved project or activity.” — From the announcement
Award range
Not specified
Expected awards
~3
Application deadline
Dec 3, 2027
Posted
Dec 5, 2024
Last verified
7 days ago

At a glance

AI summary

This program funds research that reuses existing data to study substance use, substance use disorder, and related HIV outcomes, including analyses of behavioral, health services, neuroimaging, social science, and other public or restricted datasets. Eligible applicants include a wide range of U.S. and non-U.S. organizations, including nonprofits, universities, governments, for-profits, small businesses, and foreign organizations. NIDA plans to commit $2 million in FY 2026 for two to four awards, plus an additional $2 million for two to four awards focused on HIV research under this announcement and a companion RFA. The combined direct cost budget for the two-year project period may not exceed $275,000, with no more than $200,000 requested in any single year, and no cost sharing is required. Clinical trials and applications involving new primary data collection are not allowed, and foreign components are permitted.

AI-generated summary — verify against the announcement

What it funds

  • Education
  • Health
  • Research & Discovery
  • Researchers & Scholars
  • Biomedical & Disease Research
  • Health Care Delivery, Access & Workforce
  • Substance Use & Addiction
Official description from grants.gov

The purpose of this notice of funding opportunity (NOFO) is to invite applications proposing the innovative analysis of existing social science, behavioral, administrative, and neuroimaging data to study the etiology and epidemiology of drug using behaviors (defined as alcohol, tobacco, prescription and other drug) and related disorders, prevention of drug use and HIV, and health service utilization. This FOA encourages the analyses of public use and other extant community-based or clinical datasets to their full potential in order to increase our knowledge of etiology, trajectories of drug using behaviors and their consequences including morbidity and mortality, risk and resilience in the development of psychopathology, strategies to guide the development, testing, implementation, and delivery of high quality, effective and efficient services for the prevention and treatment of drug abuse and HIV.

Who can apply

  • City or township governments
  • County governments
  • For-profit organizations other than small businesses
  • Independent school districts
  • Native American tribal governments (Federally recognized)
  • Native American tribal organizations (other than Federally recognized)
  • Nonprofits with 501(c)(3) status (other than higher education)
  • Nonprofits without 501(c)(3) status (other than higher education)
  • Others
  • Private institutions of higher education
  • Public and State controlled institutions of higher education
  • Public housing authorities / Indian housing authorities
  • Small businesses
  • Special district governments
  • State governments
Geographic restriction None found in the announcement — likely nationwide

Program history

USASpending.gov

Assistance listing 93.273 · Alcohol Research Programs

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.273), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 100 $308,491 $157,932 – $601,291
FY 2025 175 $440,566 $194,934 – $1,114,948
FY 2024 237 $420,927 $153,632 – $1,110,810
FY 2023 327 $619,032 $350,328 – $1,806,361
FY 2022 314 $897,120 $369,477 – $2,547,224
FY 2021 274

Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 1,427 — award counts are complete.

Who wins it Higher education (1,103), Nonprofit (187), Business (75) of 1,427 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states CA (118) · NC (58) · NY (57) · PA (41) · TX (40)
Largest recent awards
  1. THE JOHNS HOPKINS UNIVERSITY $36,249,682 · FY 2022
  2. THE TRUSTEES OF COLUMBIA UNIVERSITY IN THE CITY OF NEW YORK $9,079,530 · FY 2022
  3. BOARD OF REGENTS OF THE UNIVERSITY OF NEBRASKA $6,335,676 · FY 2023
  4. VANDERBILT UNIVERSITY $5,361,769 · FY 2024
  5. LOHOCLA RESEARCH CORP $5,128,513 · FY 2022

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 6, 2026

Assistance listing 93.279 · Drug Use and Addiction Research Programs

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.279), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 428 $422,523 $183,034 – $700,682
FY 2025 588 $709,054 $348,214 – $1,489,059
FY 2024 714
FY 2023 724
FY 2022 740
FY 2021 606

Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 3,800 — award counts are complete.

Who wins it Higher education (2,743), Nonprofit (534), Business (366) of 3,800 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states CA (130) · MA (90) · NY (86) · PA (72) · MD (56)
Largest recent awards
  1. FLORIDA INTERNATIONAL UNIVERSITY $7,372,834 · FY 2025
  2. BETH ISRAEL DEACONESS MEDICAL CENTER, INC. $7,081,684 · FY 2025
  3. UNIVERSITY OF WASHINGTON $7,003,822 · FY 2025
  4. REACX PHARMACEUTICALS, INC. $6,900,000 · FY 2025
  5. WORCESTER POLYTECHNIC INSTITUTE $6,889,914 · FY 2025

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 18, 2026