Skip to content
Simpler Grants

No. RFA-MH-26-120 · National Institutes of Health

Open

BRAIN Initiative: Reagent Resources for Brain Cell Type-Specific Access to Broaden Distribution of Enabling Technologies for Neuroscience (U24 Clinical Trial Not Allowed)

Dealbreakers No cost share required
No audit required
“This NOFO does not require cost sharing as defined in the NIH Grants Policy Statement NIH Grants Policy Statement Section 1.2 Definition of Terms.” — From the announcement
Not reimbursement-only
“Cooperative Agreement: A financial assistance mechanism used when there will be substantial Federal scientific or programmatic involvement.” — From the announcement
Award range
Not specified
Expected awards
Not specified
Application deadline
Jun 15, 2027
Posted
Sep 25, 2024
Last verified
6 days ago

At a glance

AI summary

This program funds scaled-up production and distribution of brain cell type-specific access reagents for neuroscience, with required partnership to Armamentarium design and validation projects. Applicants must be nonprofit, university, government, for-profit, small business, tribal, faith-based, or other listed organizations, but foreign organizations and non-domestic components of U.S. organizations are not eligible; foreign components are allowed. The goal is to strengthen infrastructure at Resource-Limited Institutions and institutions in IDeA-eligible states, and applicants must include milestones, a timeline, and a website-based catalog for reagent dissemination. The NIH expects to fund 2 to 4 awards with about $2.4 million total cost per year, application budgets are not limited, the project period can be up to 5 years, and clinical trials are not allowed.

AI-generated summary — verify against the announcement

What it funds

  • Education
  • Health
  • Income Security and Social Services
  • Capacity Building & Technical Assistance
  • Infrastructure, Construction & Shared Facilities
  • Researchers & Scholars
  • Biomedical & Disease Research
  • Research Infrastructure, Instrumentation & Data
Official description from grants.gov

This Notice of Funding Opportunity Announcement (NOFO) from the NIH Brain Research through Advancing Innovative Neurotechnologies (BRAIN) Initiative is intended to support establishment of facilities at minority-serving institutions (MSIs) and Institutional Development Award (IDeA)-eligible institutions for scaled production and distribution of brain cell type-specific access and manipulation reagents. Reagents will be initially developed in pilot resource projects for brain cell type-specific access and manipulation across vertebrate species from the BRAIN Initiative Armamentarium project. Awardees under this NOFO will work with the other Armamentarium awardees to manufacture and distribute the resources for use throughout the neuroscience community. It is envisioned that the awardees will work both with the Armamentarium community as well as with the neuroscience research community to optimize the use of new reagents. The types of reagents to be produced and distributed could include but are not limited to viral vectors, nucleic acid constructs, and nanoparticles designed for selective access to and manipulation of brain cell types. Such reagents will enable neuroscientists to probe circuit function with high precision in experimental animals and ex vivo human tissue and cells. Facilities are needed to contribute to the production and distribution of BRAIN Initiative Armamentarium project reagents broadly to neuroscience users.

Who can apply

  • City or township governments
  • County governments
  • For-profit organizations other than small businesses
  • Independent school districts
  • Native American tribal governments (Federally recognized)
  • Native American tribal organizations (other than Federally recognized)
  • Nonprofits with 501(c)(3) status (other than higher education)
  • Nonprofits without 501(c)(3) status (other than higher education)
  • Others
  • Private institutions of higher education
  • Public and State controlled institutions of higher education
  • Public housing authorities / Indian housing authorities
  • Small businesses
  • Special district governments
  • State governments
Geographic restriction None found in the announcement — likely nationwide

Program history

USASpending.gov

Assistance listing 93.173 · Research Related to Deafness and Communication Disorders

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.173), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 170 $416,419 $134,042 – $648,731
FY 2025 238 $418,797 $187,647 – $1,008,401
FY 2024 283 $464,268 $152,978 – $1,268,772
FY 2023 260 $689,002 $272,758 – $1,868,608
FY 2022 286 $570,000 $145,264 – $2,113,099
FY 2021 246

Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 1,483 — award counts are complete.

Who wins it Higher education (1,127), Nonprofit (192), Business (83) of 1,483 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states MA (107) · CA (101) · NY (89) · PA (78) · MD (30)
Largest recent awards
  1. REGENTS OF THE UNIVERSITY OF MINNESOTA $4,621,171 · FY 2022
  2. UNIVERSITY OF ARKANSAS FOR MEDICAL SCIENCES $4,589,310 · FY 2023
  3. THE JOHNS HOPKINS UNIVERSITY $4,474,844 · FY 2022
  4. OREGON HEALTH & SCIENCE UNIVERSITY $3,863,432 · FY 2022
  5. THE LELAND STANFORD JUNIOR UNIVERSITY $3,579,023 · FY 2022

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 16, 2026

Assistance listing 93.213 · Research and Training in Complementary and Integrative Health

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.213), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 58 $441,813 $190,230 – $676,906
FY 2025 51 $472,500 $321,065 – $1,329,943
FY 2024 100 $562,397 $286,558 – $1,285,052
FY 2023 92 $695,557 $380,313 – $1,709,004
FY 2022 94 $715,153 $419,983 – $1,985,928
FY 2021 92 $1,686,420 $625,217 – $3,082,386
Who wins it Higher education (342), Nonprofit (97), Business (33) of 487 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states CA (77) · MA (59) · NY (29) · NC (12) · IL (11)
Largest recent awards
  1. REGENTS OF THE UNIVERSITY OF MINNESOTA $21,646,919 · FY 2022
  2. UNIVERSITY OF FLORIDA $11,192,369 · FY 2022
  3. DUKE UNIVERSITY $7,025,837 · FY 2022
  4. THE RAND CORPORATION $6,237,409 · FY 2023
  5. THE SPAULDING REHABILITATION HOSPITAL CORPORATION $5,991,655 · FY 2023

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 21, 2026

Assistance listing 93.242 · Mental Health Research Grants

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.242), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 491 $451,000 $167,702 – $811,948
FY 2025 600 $731,738 $320,544 – $1,460,736
FY 2024 883
FY 2023 898
FY 2022 986
FY 2021 945

Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 4,803 — award counts are complete.

Who wins it Higher education (3,532), Nonprofit (816), Business (215) of 4,803 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states CA (166) · NY (127) · MA (104) · PA (79) · IL (22)
Largest recent awards
  1. MASSACHUSETTS INSTITUTE OF TECHNOLOGY $21,714,815 · FY 2025
  2. OHIO STATE UNIVERSITY, THE $19,515,757 · FY 2025
  3. ALBERT EINSTEIN COLLEGE OF MEDICINE $18,270,924 · FY 2025
  4. DUKE UNIVERSITY $15,039,330 · FY 2025
  5. ICAHN SCHOOL OF MEDICINE AT MOUNT SINAI $12,007,972 · FY 2026

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 6, 2026

Assistance listing 93.273 · Alcohol Research Programs

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.273), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 100 $308,491 $157,932 – $601,291
FY 2025 175 $440,566 $194,934 – $1,114,948
FY 2024 237 $420,927 $153,632 – $1,110,810
FY 2023 327 $619,032 $350,328 – $1,806,361
FY 2022 314 $897,120 $369,477 – $2,547,224
FY 2021 274

Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 1,427 — award counts are complete.

Who wins it Higher education (1,103), Nonprofit (187), Business (75) of 1,427 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states CA (118) · NC (58) · NY (57) · PA (41) · TX (40)
Largest recent awards
  1. THE JOHNS HOPKINS UNIVERSITY $36,249,682 · FY 2022
  2. THE TRUSTEES OF COLUMBIA UNIVERSITY IN THE CITY OF NEW YORK $9,079,530 · FY 2022
  3. BOARD OF REGENTS OF THE UNIVERSITY OF NEBRASKA $6,335,676 · FY 2023
  4. VANDERBILT UNIVERSITY $5,361,769 · FY 2024
  5. LOHOCLA RESEARCH CORP $5,128,513 · FY 2022

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 6, 2026

Assistance listing 93.279 · Drug Use and Addiction Research Programs

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.279), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 428 $422,523 $183,034 – $700,682
FY 2025 588 $709,054 $348,214 – $1,489,059
FY 2024 714
FY 2023 724
FY 2022 740
FY 2021 606

Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 3,800 — award counts are complete.

Who wins it Higher education (2,743), Nonprofit (534), Business (366) of 3,800 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states CA (130) · MA (90) · NY (86) · PA (72) · MD (56)
Largest recent awards
  1. FLORIDA INTERNATIONAL UNIVERSITY $7,372,834 · FY 2025
  2. BETH ISRAEL DEACONESS MEDICAL CENTER, INC. $7,081,684 · FY 2025
  3. UNIVERSITY OF WASHINGTON $7,003,822 · FY 2025
  4. REACX PHARMACEUTICALS, INC. $6,900,000 · FY 2025
  5. WORCESTER POLYTECHNIC INSTITUTE $6,889,914 · FY 2025

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 18, 2026

Assistance listing 93.286 · Discovery and Applied Research for Technological Innovations to Improve Human Health

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.286), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 127 $276,000 $117,190 – $583,962
FY 2025 240 $555,997 $296,281 – $1,161,259
FY 2024 231 $589,216 $349,987 – $1,434,349
FY 2023 252 $652,889 $409,140 – $1,745,975
FY 2022 303 $691,306 $420,665 – $2,168,108
FY 2021 285

Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 1,438 — award counts are complete.

Who wins it Higher education (1,055), Nonprofit (237), Business (99) of 1,438 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states CA (133) · MA (128) · NY (69) · PA (27) · NC (26)
Largest recent awards
  1. UNIVERSITY OF ILLINOIS $6,543,053 · FY 2022
  2. ALLEN INSTITUTE $6,281,935 · FY 2023
  3. REGENTS OF THE UNIVERSITY OF CALIFORNIA, SAN FRANCISCO, THE $5,888,124 · FY 2024
  4. WASHINGTON UNIVERSITY, THE $4,858,373 · FY 2024
  5. REGENTS OF THE UNIVERSITY OF CALIFORNIA, THE $4,329,771 · FY 2023

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 18, 2026

Assistance listing 93.853 · Extramural Research Programs in the Neurosciences and Neurological Disorders

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.853), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 654 $405,461 $120,825 – $587,738
FY 2025 923 $491,085 $157,949 – $1,077,840
FY 2024 1,031
FY 2023 1,194
FY 2022 1,228
FY 2021 1,132

Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 6,162 — award counts are complete.

Who wins it Higher education (4,669), Nonprofit (990), Business (259) of 6,162 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states CA (153) · NY (99) · MA (93) · PA (74) · TX (39)
Largest recent awards
  1. THE LELAND STANFORD JUNIOR UNIVERSITY $5,747,701 · FY 2025
  2. YALE UNIV $4,888,497 · FY 2025
  3. MAYO CLINIC $3,746,535 · FY 2026
  4. REGENTS OF THE UNIVERSITY OF CALIFORNIA, SAN FRANCISCO, THE $3,153,019 · FY 2025
  5. UNIVERSITY OF CALIFORNIA, LOS ANGELES $3,109,857 · FY 2025

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 23, 2026

Assistance listing 93.865 · Child Health and Human Development Extramural Research

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.865), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 386 $392,826 $79,188 – $593,582
FY 2025 665 $452,972 $178,000 – $1,225,547
FY 2024 785
FY 2023 835
FY 2022 799
FY 2021 764

Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 4,234 — award counts are complete.

Who wins it Higher education (3,137), Nonprofit (693), Business (224) of 4,234 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states CA (103) · MA (87) · PA (75) · NY (62) · MI (34)
Largest recent awards
  1. PRESIDENT AND FELLOWS OF HARVARD COLLEGE $16,115,056 · FY 2025
  2. UNIVERSITY OF MIAMI $15,385,183 · FY 2025
  3. UNIVERSITY OF WASHINGTON $6,635,347 · FY 2025
  4. GEORGE WASHINGTON UNIVERSITY (THE) $5,117,920 · FY 2025
  5. RESEARCH TRIANGLE INSTITUTE $4,847,747 · FY 2025

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 23, 2026

Assistance listing 93.866 · Aging Research

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.866), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 795 $493,972 $248,999 – $713,195
FY 2025 1,033 $643,089 $467,538 – $1,733,010
FY 2024 1,560
FY 2023 1,539
FY 2022 1,715
FY 2021 1,595

Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 8,237 — award counts are complete.

Who wins it Higher education (6,015), Nonprofit (1,370), Business (538) of 8,237 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states CA (153) · NY (110) · MA (100) · TX (57) · PA (41)
Largest recent awards
  1. REGENTS OF THE UNIVERSITY OF MICHIGAN $15,345,206 · FY 2026
  2. UNIVERSITY OF UTAH $10,793,501 · FY 2025
  3. THE TRUSTEES OF COLUMBIA UNIVERSITY IN THE CITY OF NEW YORK $10,223,348 · FY 2026
  4. SUTTER BAY HOSPITALS $9,466,491 · FY 2025
  5. TUFTS MEDICAL CENTER PARENT, INC. $8,296,115 · FY 2026

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 23, 2026

Assistance listing 93.867 · Vision Research

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.867), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 189 $440,263 $132,837 – $633,742
FY 2025 309 $464,903 $260,661 – $1,026,742
FY 2024 408 $630,967 $342,920 – $1,431,708
FY 2023 401 $771,099 $422,359 – $1,867,311
FY 2022 391
FY 2021 394

Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 2,092 — award counts are complete.

Who wins it Higher education (1,564), Nonprofit (300), Business (168) of 2,092 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states CA (182) · NY (96) · MA (90) · MD (48) · TX (48)
Largest recent awards
  1. UNIVERSITY OF CALIFORNIA, SAN DIEGO $8,283,963 · FY 2024
  2. REGENTS OF THE UNIVERSITY OF CALIFORNIA, SAN FRANCISCO, THE $5,256,090 · FY 2023
  3. OHIO STATE UNIVERSITY, THE $4,539,043 · FY 2025
  4. ALLEN INSTITUTE $4,260,011 · FY 2025
  5. THE GENERAL HOSPITAL CORPORATION $4,026,010 · FY 2024

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 23, 2026