Skip to content
Simpler Grants

No. PAR-23-235 · National Institutes of Health

Open

National Centers for Biomedical Imaging and Bioengineering (NCBIB) (P41 Clinical Trials Optional)

Dealbreakers No cost share required
No audit required
“This NOFO does not require cost sharing as defined in the NIH Grants Policy Statement .” — From the announcement
Not reimbursement-only
“Grant: A support mechanism providing money, property, or both to an eligible entity to carry out an approved project or activity.” — From the announcement
Award range
Not specified
Expected awards
Not specified
Application deadline
Sep 7, 2026 5 days left
Posted
Jul 28, 2023
Last verified
Yesterday

At a glance

AI summary

This program funds National Centers for Biomedical Imaging and Bioengineering to develop and share new biomedical technology for research and clinical use. It supports centers that include technology research and development projects, collaborative projects, service projects, training, and dissemination, and any clinical trials must be early-stage only, through Phase I and not later-phase efficacy trials. Eligible applicants include a wide range of U.S. organizations such as nonprofits, universities, governments, for-profits, small businesses, and tribal organizations; foreign institutions and non-U.S. components of U.S. organizations are not eligible. Typical direct costs are about $600,000 to $750,000 a year, with up to $500,000 for special-purpose equipment over five years, and no cost sharing is required. Awards are for up to five years, with total NCBIB support limited to 15 years, and the collaborative and service projects are expected to have national geographic distribution unless technology limits that.

AI-generated summary — verify against the announcement

What it funds

  • Health
  • Infrastructure, Construction & Shared Facilities
  • Training, Fellowship & Career Development
  • Researchers & Scholars
  • Biomedical & Disease Research
  • Research Infrastructure, Instrumentation & Data
Official description from grants.gov

This Funding Opportunity Announcement (FOA) encourages grant applications for Biomedical Technology Resource Centers (BTRCs). BTRCs are national resource centers for conducting research and development on new technologies that are driven by the needs of basic, translational, and/or clinical researchers. BTRCs also make their technologies available to other investigators, train members of the research community in the use of the technologies, and disseminate the technologies broadly.

Who can apply

  • City or township governments
  • County governments
  • For-profit organizations other than small businesses
  • Independent school districts
  • Native American tribal governments (Federally recognized)
  • Native American tribal organizations (other than Federally recognized)
  • Nonprofits with 501(c)(3) status (other than higher education)
  • Nonprofits without 501(c)(3) status (other than higher education)
  • Others
  • Private institutions of higher education
  • Public and State controlled institutions of higher education
  • Public housing authorities / Indian housing authorities
  • Small businesses
  • Special district governments
  • State governments
Geographic restriction None found in the announcement — likely nationwide

Program history

USASpending.gov

Assistance listing 93.286 · Discovery and Applied Research for Technological Innovations to Improve Human Health

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.286), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 127 $276,000 $117,190 – $583,962
FY 2025 240 $555,997 $296,281 – $1,161,259
FY 2024 231 $589,216 $349,987 – $1,434,349
FY 2023 252 $652,889 $409,140 – $1,745,975
FY 2022 303 $691,306 $420,665 – $2,168,108
FY 2021 285

Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 1,438 — award counts are complete.

Who wins it Higher education (1,055), Nonprofit (237), Business (99) of 1,438 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states CA (133) · MA (128) · NY (69) · PA (27) · NC (26)
Largest recent awards
  1. UNIVERSITY OF ILLINOIS $6,543,053 · FY 2022
  2. ALLEN INSTITUTE $6,281,935 · FY 2023
  3. REGENTS OF THE UNIVERSITY OF CALIFORNIA, SAN FRANCISCO, THE $5,888,124 · FY 2024
  4. WASHINGTON UNIVERSITY, THE $4,858,373 · FY 2024
  5. REGENTS OF THE UNIVERSITY OF CALIFORNIA, THE $4,329,771 · FY 2023

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 18, 2026