Skip to content
Simpler Grants

No. PAR-25-193 · National Institutes of Health

Open

Alcohol Treatment, Pharmacotherapy, and Recovery Research (R34 Clinical Trial required)

Dealbreakers No cost share required Audit: not stated
Not reimbursement-only
“Grant: A financial assistance mechanism providing money, property, or both to an eligible entity to carry out an approved project or activity.” — From the announcement
Award range
Not specified
Expected awards
Not specified
Application deadline
Sep 7, 2026 5 days left
Posted
Nov 27, 2024
Last verified
5 days ago

At a glance

AI summary

This program funds human clinical trials related to alcohol use disorder treatment and recovery, including medications, behavioral therapies, translational research, digital tools, and studies focused on special-emphasis populations. It uses the R34 grant mechanism for planning and pilot work, such as building research teams, finalizing protocols, and collecting feasibility data for later studies. Applications may come from a wide range of U.S. and non-U.S. organizations, and foreign organizations and foreign components of U.S. organizations are allowed. Direct costs are limited to $450,000 over up to 3 years, with no more than $225,000 in direct costs in any single year, and the number of awards depends on appropriations and meritorious applications.

AI-generated summary — verify against the announcement

What it funds

  • Health
  • Research & Discovery
  • Low-Income & Underserved Communities
  • Patients & People with Health Conditions
  • Health Care Delivery, Access & Workforce
  • Public Health, Prevention & Nutrition
  • Substance Use & Addiction
Official description from grants.gov

The National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism solicits applications for an R34 Clinical Trial Optional mechanism focusing on alcohol health services. This NOFO will broadly focus on closing the treatment gap for individuals with alcohol use disorder (AUD); within this focus, there are five major areas of emphasis: (1) increasing access to treatment for AUD, (2) making treatment for AUD more appealing, (3) examining cost structures and insurance systems, (4) conducting studies on dissemination and implementation of existing evidence-based approaches to treating AUD, and (5) reducing health disparities as a means of addressing the treatment gap in AUD for health disparity populations.

Who can apply

  • City or township governments
  • County governments
  • For-profit organizations other than small businesses
  • Independent school districts
  • Native American tribal governments (Federally recognized)
  • Native American tribal organizations (other than Federally recognized)
  • Nonprofits with 501(c)(3) status (other than higher education)
  • Nonprofits without 501(c)(3) status (other than higher education)
  • Others
  • Private institutions of higher education
  • Public and State controlled institutions of higher education
  • Public housing authorities / Indian housing authorities
  • Small businesses
  • Special district governments
  • State governments
Geographic restriction None found in the announcement — likely nationwide

Program history

USASpending.gov

Assistance listing 93.273 · Alcohol Research Programs

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.273), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 100 $308,491 $157,932 – $601,291
FY 2025 175 $440,566 $194,934 – $1,114,948
FY 2024 237 $420,927 $153,632 – $1,110,810
FY 2023 327 $619,032 $350,328 – $1,806,361
FY 2022 314 $897,120 $369,477 – $2,547,224
FY 2021 274

Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 1,427 — award counts are complete.

Who wins it Higher education (1,103), Nonprofit (187), Business (75) of 1,427 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states CA (118) · NC (58) · NY (57) · PA (41) · TX (40)
Largest recent awards
  1. THE JOHNS HOPKINS UNIVERSITY $36,249,682 · FY 2022
  2. THE TRUSTEES OF COLUMBIA UNIVERSITY IN THE CITY OF NEW YORK $9,079,530 · FY 2022
  3. BOARD OF REGENTS OF THE UNIVERSITY OF NEBRASKA $6,335,676 · FY 2023
  4. VANDERBILT UNIVERSITY $5,361,769 · FY 2024
  5. LOHOCLA RESEARCH CORP $5,128,513 · FY 2022

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 6, 2026