Skip to content
Simpler Grants

No. PAR-25-226 · National Institutes of Health

Open

Seamless Early-Stage Clinical Drug Development (Phase 1 to 2a) for Novel therapeutic Agents for the Spectrum of Alzheimer's Disease (AD) and AD-related Dementias (ADRD) (UG3/UH3 Clinical Trial Required)

Dealbreakers No cost share required Audit: not stated
Not reimbursement-only
“Cooperative Agreement: A financial assistance mechanism used when there will be substantial Federal scientific or programmatic involvement.” — From the announcement
Award range
Not specified
Expected awards
Not specified
Application deadline
Nov 19, 2026
Posted
Nov 22, 2024
Last verified
5 days ago

At a glance

AI summary

This program funds early-stage clinical trials of novel non-amyloid, non-tau drugs or biologics for Alzheimer’s disease and related dementias, including phase 1, phase 1b, food effect, and phase 2a studies. It is for applications that bundle phase 1 work with later phase 1b/2a work, and the award uses a UG3/UH3 phased cooperative agreement. Eligible applicants include nonprofits, universities, governments, for-profits, small businesses, faith-based and community groups, and foreign organizations; foreign components of U.S. organizations are also allowed. The number of awards is contingent on NIH appropriations and meritorious applications, budgets are not limited but must fit the project, and cost sharing is not required. The UG3 phase may not exceed 2 years, and the combined UG3/UH3 project period may not exceed 5 years.

AI-generated summary — verify against the announcement

What it funds

  • Health
  • Research & Discovery
  • Patients & People with Health Conditions
  • Researchers & Scholars
  • Aging, Dementia & Caregiving
  • Biomedical & Disease Research
Official description from grants.gov

The purpose of this Notice of Funding Opportunity (NOFO) is to invite applications that bundle independent protocols for phase 1 clinical trials with phase 1b/phase 2a clinical trials to streamline the early-stage evaluation of promising pharmacological interventions for Alzheimer's disease (AD) and Alzheimer's disease-related Dementias (ADRD). Candidate interventions evaluated through this program, which can include small molecules or biologics for example, must engage non-amyloid/non-tau mechanisms and aim to address cognitive and/or neuropsychiatric symptoms in individuals across the spectrum from pre-symptomatic to more severe stages of disease. This NOFO uses the UG3/UH3 phased award mechanism and proposals must include prespecified, go/no-go safety and tolerability milestones that gate the advance from phase 1 to latter stages of clinical development.

Who can apply

  • City or township governments
  • County governments
  • For-profit organizations other than small businesses
  • Independent school districts
  • Native American tribal governments (Federally recognized)
  • Native American tribal organizations (other than Federally recognized)
  • Nonprofits with 501(c)(3) status (other than higher education)
  • Nonprofits without 501(c)(3) status (other than higher education)
  • Others
  • Private institutions of higher education
  • Public and State controlled institutions of higher education
  • Public housing authorities / Indian housing authorities
  • Small businesses
  • Special district governments
  • State governments
Geographic restriction None found in the announcement — likely nationwide

Program history

USASpending.gov

Assistance listing 93.242 · Mental Health Research Grants

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.242), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 491 $451,000 $167,702 – $811,948
FY 2025 600 $731,738 $320,544 – $1,460,736
FY 2024 883
FY 2023 898
FY 2022 986
FY 2021 945

Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 4,803 — award counts are complete.

Who wins it Higher education (3,532), Nonprofit (816), Business (215) of 4,803 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states CA (166) · NY (127) · MA (104) · PA (79) · IL (22)
Largest recent awards
  1. MASSACHUSETTS INSTITUTE OF TECHNOLOGY $21,714,815 · FY 2025
  2. OHIO STATE UNIVERSITY, THE $19,515,757 · FY 2025
  3. ALBERT EINSTEIN COLLEGE OF MEDICINE $18,270,924 · FY 2025
  4. DUKE UNIVERSITY $15,039,330 · FY 2025
  5. ICAHN SCHOOL OF MEDICINE AT MOUNT SINAI $12,007,972 · FY 2026

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 6, 2026