No. PAR-24-065 · National Institutes of Health
NHLBI Program Project Applications (P01 Clinical Trials Optional)
Not reimbursement-only
“Grant: A financial assistance mechanism providing money, property, or both to an eligible entity to carry out an approved project or activity.” — From the announcement
- Award range
- Not specified
- Expected awards
- Not specified
- Application deadline
- Sep 25, 2026 23 days left
- Posted
- Nov 20, 2023
- Last verified
- Yesterday
At a glance
AI summaryThe NHLBI Program Project Grant supports collaborative research on the heart, blood and lymphatic vessels, lungs, blood, sleep disorders, and related NHLBI mission areas, including implementation science, health disparities, and translation research. Applications must include at least three interrelated research projects around one central theme, and may also include an administrative core and shared scientific cores if justified. Eligible applicants include a wide range of U.S. and foreign-linked organizations, but non-domestic foreign organizations are not eligible to apply; foreign components of U.S. organizations are allowed. New and renewal applications may request up to $1,515,000 in direct costs per year, or up to $1,765,000 per year if the application includes at least four projects with an Early Stage Investigator-led project, and there is no cost sharing required. The maximum project period is 5 years, and Phase III and Phase IV clinical trials are not responsive to this notice.
AI-generated summary — verify against the announcement
What it funds
Official description from grants.gov
The National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute (NHLBI) Program Project Grant (P01) supports research related to fundamental processes and diseases of the heart, blood and lymphatic vessels, lungs, and blood, including transfusion medicine, blood resources, and sleep disorders other programs including implementation science, health disparities, and translation research that address the mission of the Institute. This FOA requires a minimum of three interrelated research projects that investigate a complex biomedical theme or research question. The projects may be supported by core units, if justified, to facilitate economy of effort, space, and equipment. The NHLBI provides support for Program Project Grants (PPGs) in the belief that collaborative research efforts can accelerate the acquisition of knowledge more effectively than a simple aggregate of research projects that have no interaction or thematic integration. NHLBI is particularly interested in encouraging new scientific directions in PPGs. Use of the P01 activity code is viewed as an opportunity to attract scientists who have not traditionally been supported by the NHLBI. Further, the PPG environment presents an opportunity for emerging scientific leaders to gain insight into how to lead a successful scientific Program, and applicants will have the opportunity to include a project led by an Early Stage Investigator (ESI). All projects in the Program must be interrelated and have objectives that address a central theme within the scientific mandate of the NHLBI.
Who can apply
- City or township governments
- County governments
- For-profit organizations other than small businesses
- Independent school districts
- Native American tribal governments (Federally recognized)
- Native American tribal organizations (other than Federally recognized)
- Nonprofits with 501(c)(3) status (other than higher education)
- Nonprofits without 501(c)(3) status (other than higher education)
- Others
- Private institutions of higher education
- Public and State controlled institutions of higher education
- Public housing authorities / Indian housing authorities
- Small businesses
- Special district governments
- State governments
Program history
USASpending.govAssistance listing 93.233 · National Center on Sleep Disorders Research
Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.233), not just this notice.
No grants-family awards recorded for this program since FY 2021 — it may be new, renamed, or not yet reported to USASpending.
Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 22, 2026
Assistance listing 93.837 · Cardiovascular Diseases Research
Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.837), not just this notice.
| Fiscal year | Awards | Median award | Middle half |
|---|---|---|---|
| FY 2026 (so far) | 910 | $406,108 | $121,423 – $769,962 |
| FY 2025 | 1,358 | $638,002 | $257,444 – $1,262,955 |
| FY 2024 | 1,513 | — | — |
| FY 2023 | 1,478 | — | — |
| FY 2022 | 1,536 | — | — |
| FY 2021 | 1,389 | — | — |
Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 8,184 — award counts are complete.
- CHILDRENS HOSPITAL MEDICAL CENTER $6,452,040 · FY 2026
- KAISER FOUNDATION HOSPITALS $3,918,561 · FY 2025
- ICAHN SCHOOL OF MEDICINE AT MOUNT SINAI $3,605,083 · FY 2026
- UNIVERSITY OF PITTSBURGH - OF THE COMMONWEALTH SYSTEM OF HIGHER EDUCATION $3,229,552 · FY 2026
- NORTHERN CALIFORNIA INSTITUTE FOR RESEARCH AND EDUCATION, INC. $3,002,716 · FY 2026
Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 22, 2026
Assistance listing 93.838 · Lung Diseases Research
Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.838), not just this notice.
No grants-family awards recorded for this program since FY 2021 — it may be new, renamed, or not yet reported to USASpending.
Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 23, 2026
Assistance listing 93.839 · Blood Diseases and Resources Research
Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.839), not just this notice.
No grants-family awards recorded for this program since FY 2021 — it may be new, renamed, or not yet reported to USASpending.
Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 23, 2026
Assistance listing 93.840 · Translation and Implementation Science Research for Heart, Lung, Blood Diseases, and Sleep Disorders
Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.840), not just this notice.
| Fiscal year | Awards | Median award | Middle half |
|---|---|---|---|
| FY 2026 (so far) | 0 | — | — |
| FY 2025 | 0 | — | — |
| FY 2024 | 1 | $1,998,060 | $1,998,060 – $1,998,060 |
| FY 2023 | 8 | $718,015 | $520,326 – $1,181,909 |
| FY 2022 | 0 | — | — |
| FY 2021 | 0 | — | — |
- MICHIGAN PUBLIC HEALTH INSTITUTE $1,332,220 · FY 2023
- INDIANA DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH $1,304,518 · FY 2023
- MINNESOTA DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH $1,141,039 · FY 2023
- SOUTHERN NEVADA HEALTH DIST $762,811 · FY 2023
- COUNTY OF CHARLESTON $673,219 · FY 2023
Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 23, 2026