No. PAR-24-273 · National Institutes of Health
Advancing Healthcare for Older Adults from Populations that Experience Health Disparities (R01 - Clinical Trial Optional)
- Award range
- Not specified
- Expected awards
- Not specified
- Application deadline
- Jan 7, 2028
- Posted
- Aug 27, 2024
- Last verified
- 8 days ago
At a glance
AI summaryThis program funds research to improve prevention, diagnosis, treatment, care coordination, and shared decision-making for older adults age 65 and older from NIH-designated health disparity populations. It supports studies in outpatient, inpatient, long-term care, home-based, transitional, palliative, end-of-life, and emergency care settings, and can include clinical trials, interventions, quasi-experimental studies, natural experiments, mixed methods, and simulation modeling. Projects may involve populations in the 50 states, the District of Columbia, Tribal Nations, and U.S. territories, and research with partners such as aging agencies, senior services, and advocacy organizations is welcome. The notice does not state award size, number of awards, or any cost-share requirement in the text provided.
AI-generated summary — verify against the announcement
What it funds
Official description from grants.gov
The purpose of this initiative is to advance the science and implementation of innovative multi-level health care research for older adults from populations that experience health disparities. The initiative will support research designed to (1) gain a better understanding of appropriate screening, diagnostic, and clinical care guidelines in a primary care setting, (2) explore shared decision-making that is needed to enhance care planning and patient agency between clinicians and care teams with the older adult and their caregiver(s), and (3) identify effective strategies for care coordination.
Who can apply
- City or township governments
- County governments
- For-profit organizations other than small businesses
- Independent school districts
- Native American tribal governments (Federally recognized)
- Native American tribal organizations (other than Federally recognized)
- Nonprofits with 501(c)(3) status (other than higher education)
- Nonprofits without 501(c)(3) status (other than higher education)
- Others
- Private institutions of higher education
- Public and State controlled institutions of higher education
- Public housing authorities / Indian housing authorities
- Small businesses
- Special district governments
- State governments
Program history
USASpending.govAssistance listing 93.307 · Minority Health and Health Disparities Research
Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.307), not just this notice.
| Fiscal year | Awards | Median award | Middle half |
|---|---|---|---|
| FY 2026 (so far) | 40 | $768,076 | $248,928 – $851,492 |
| FY 2025 | 57 | $604,863 | $333,504 – $1,512,644 |
| FY 2024 | 182 | $465,783 | $308,121 – $1,983,267 |
| FY 2023 | 212 | $1,299,549 | $438,782 – $2,594,510 |
| FY 2022 | 249 | $1,408,033 | $444,695 – $2,988,012 |
| FY 2021 | 168 | $2,071,562 | $431,619 – $3,273,896 |
- UNIVERSITY OF CALIFORNIA, SAN DIEGO $40,426,614 · FY 2021
- UNIVERSITY OF NORTH CAROLINA AT CHAPEL HILL $30,744,792 · FY 2021
- CHILDREN'S HOSPITAL LOS ANGELES $27,816,472 · FY 2021
- UNIVERSITY OF ALABAMA AT BIRMINGHAM $27,671,310 · FY 2021
- REGENTS OF THE UNIVERSITY OF MINNESOTA $24,809,662 · FY 2021
Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 18, 2026
Assistance listing 93.361 · Nursing Research
Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.361), not just this notice.
| Fiscal year | Awards | Median award | Middle half |
|---|---|---|---|
| FY 2026 (so far) | 53 | $732,795 | $180,941 – $1,130,466 |
| FY 2025 | 62 | $675,031 | $385,758 – $1,535,483 |
| FY 2024 | 98 | $473,202 | $285,582 – $1,868,705 |
| FY 2023 | 102 | $758,157 | $158,307 – $2,468,665 |
| FY 2022 | 118 | $493,973 | $295,328 – $2,431,395 |
| FY 2021 | 108 | $478,145 | $361,349 – $2,696,899 |
- UNIVERSITY OF CALIFORNIA, LOS ANGELES $13,344,757 · FY 2022
- THE REGENTS OF THE UNIVERSITY OF COLORADO $10,385,570 · FY 2025
- BAYLOR COLLEGE OF MEDICINE $8,282,292 · FY 2021
- THE LELAND STANFORD JUNIOR UNIVERSITY $6,476,031 · FY 2025
- UNIVERSITY OF MIAMI $4,547,851 · FY 2023
Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 30, 2026
Assistance listing 93.393 · Cancer Cause and Prevention Research
Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.393), not just this notice.
| Fiscal year | Awards | Median award | Middle half |
|---|---|---|---|
| FY 2026 (so far) | 167 | $596,996 | $422,899 – $685,984 |
| FY 2025 | 233 | $743,438 | $397,772 – $1,287,560 |
| FY 2024 | 331 | $1,232,605 | $403,858 – $1,928,145 |
| FY 2023 | 333 | $1,580,141 | $399,888 – $2,324,497 |
| FY 2022 | 371 | — | — |
| FY 2021 | 317 | — | — |
Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 1,752 — award counts are complete.
- HEALTH RESEARCH, INC. $8,975,418 · FY 2023
- REGENTS OF THE UNIVERSITY OF CALIFORNIA, SAN FRANCISCO, THE $7,529,016 · FY 2024
- WAKE FOREST UNIVERSITY HEALTH SCIENCES $7,411,948 · FY 2023
- VANDERBILT UNIVERSITY MEDICAL CENTER $7,120,874 · FY 2023
- REGENTS OF THE UNIVERSITY OF MINNESOTA $6,827,635 · FY 2023
Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 14, 2026
Assistance listing 93.866 · Aging Research
Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.866), not just this notice.
| Fiscal year | Awards | Median award | Middle half |
|---|---|---|---|
| FY 2026 (so far) | 795 | $493,972 | $248,999 – $713,195 |
| FY 2025 | 1,033 | $643,089 | $467,538 – $1,733,010 |
| FY 2024 | 1,560 | — | — |
| FY 2023 | 1,539 | — | — |
| FY 2022 | 1,715 | — | — |
| FY 2021 | 1,595 | — | — |
Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 8,237 — award counts are complete.
- REGENTS OF THE UNIVERSITY OF MICHIGAN $15,345,206 · FY 2026
- UNIVERSITY OF UTAH $10,793,501 · FY 2025
- THE TRUSTEES OF COLUMBIA UNIVERSITY IN THE CITY OF NEW YORK $10,223,348 · FY 2026
- SUTTER BAY HOSPITALS $9,466,491 · FY 2025
- TUFTS MEDICAL CENTER PARENT, INC. $8,296,115 · FY 2026
Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 23, 2026