Skip to content
Simpler Grants

No. PAR-24-214 · National Institutes of Health

Open

Academic Research Enhancement Award (AREA) for Undergraduate-Focused Institutions (R15 Clinical Trial Required)

Dealbreakers No cost share required
No audit required
“This NOFO does not require cost sharing as defined in the NIH Grants Policy Statement NIH Grants Policy Statement Section 1.2 Definition of Terms.” — From the announcement
Reimbursement-only: not stated
Award range
Up to $375,000
Expected awards
Not specified
Application deadline
Jan 7, 2027
Posted
May 8, 2024
Last verified
5 days ago

At a glance

AI summary

NIH is funding small biomedical research projects led by faculty at undergraduate-focused institutions, and the project must involve clinical trials that are low risk and not subject to FDA oversight. Eligible applicants are accredited public or nonprofit private baccalaureate-granting institutions that are not health professional schools, with undergraduate enrollment greater than graduate enrollment, and they must stay within NIH’s funding limit for non-health-professional components. The award allows up to $375,000 in direct costs, excluding consortium F&A, for up to 3 years, and the number of awards depends on NIH appropriations and meritorious applications. Foreign organizations and non-U.S. components of U.S. organizations are not eligible to apply, though foreign components are allowed.

AI-generated summary — verify against the announcement

What it funds

  • Education
  • Health
  • Income Security and Social Services
  • Research & Discovery
  • Researchers & Scholars
  • Students & Learners (K-12 and Postsecondary)
  • Biomedical & Disease Research
  • Higher Education Access, Institutions & Humanities
Official description from grants.gov

The purpose of this Academic Research Enhancement Award (AREA) for Undergraduate-Focused Institutions is to support small scale research grants at institutions that do not receive substantial funding from the NIH, with an emphasis on providing biomedical research experiences primarily for undergraduate students and enhancing the research environment at applicant institutions.Eligible institutions must award baccalaureate science degrees and have received no more than $6 million dollars per year of NIH support (in both direct and F and A/indirect costs) in 4 of the last 7 fiscal years. For institutions composed of multiple schools and colleges, the $6 million funding limit is based on the amount of NIH funding received by all the non-health professional schools and colleges within the institution as a whole.This Notice of Funding Opportunity (NOFO) supports investigator-initiated mechanistic and/or minimal risk clinical trials addressing the mission and research interests of the participating NIH institutes. For the purpose of this NOFO, minimal risk clinical trials are defined as those that do not require FDA oversight, do not intend to formally establish efficacy, and have low risks to potentially cause physical or psychological harm.

Who can apply

  • Others
  • Private institutions of higher education
  • Public and State controlled institutions of higher education
Geographic restriction None found in the announcement — likely nationwide
Set-aside Set aside or prioritized for: HBCU; HSI; Tribal college (TCU)
“The following types of Higher Education Institutions are always encouraged to apply for NIH support as Public or Private Institutions of Higher Education: Hispanic-serving Institutions Historically Black Colleges and Universities (HBCUs) Tribally Controlled Colleges and Universities (TCCUs)” — From the announcement

Program history

USASpending.gov

Assistance listing 93.173 · Research Related to Deafness and Communication Disorders

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.173), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 170 $416,419 $134,042 – $648,731
FY 2025 238 $418,797 $187,647 – $1,008,401
FY 2024 283 $464,268 $152,978 – $1,268,772
FY 2023 260 $689,002 $272,758 – $1,868,608
FY 2022 286 $570,000 $145,264 – $2,113,099
FY 2021 246

For comparison, this notice advertises Up to $375,000.

Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 1,483 — award counts are complete.

Who wins it Higher education (1,127), Nonprofit (192), Business (83) of 1,483 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states MA (107) · CA (101) · NY (89) · PA (78) · MD (30)
Largest recent awards
  1. REGENTS OF THE UNIVERSITY OF MINNESOTA $4,621,171 · FY 2022
  2. UNIVERSITY OF ARKANSAS FOR MEDICAL SCIENCES $4,589,310 · FY 2023
  3. THE JOHNS HOPKINS UNIVERSITY $4,474,844 · FY 2022
  4. OREGON HEALTH & SCIENCE UNIVERSITY $3,863,432 · FY 2022
  5. THE LELAND STANFORD JUNIOR UNIVERSITY $3,579,023 · FY 2022

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 16, 2026

Assistance listing 93.233 · National Center on Sleep Disorders Research

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.233), not just this notice.

No grants-family awards recorded for this program since FY 2021 — it may be new, renamed, or not yet reported to USASpending.

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 22, 2026

Assistance listing 93.242 · Mental Health Research Grants

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.242), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 491 $451,000 $167,702 – $811,948
FY 2025 600 $731,738 $320,544 – $1,460,736
FY 2024 883
FY 2023 898
FY 2022 986
FY 2021 945

For comparison, this notice advertises Up to $375,000.

Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 4,803 — award counts are complete.

Who wins it Higher education (3,532), Nonprofit (816), Business (215) of 4,803 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states CA (166) · NY (127) · MA (104) · PA (79) · IL (22)
Largest recent awards
  1. MASSACHUSETTS INSTITUTE OF TECHNOLOGY $21,714,815 · FY 2025
  2. OHIO STATE UNIVERSITY, THE $19,515,757 · FY 2025
  3. ALBERT EINSTEIN COLLEGE OF MEDICINE $18,270,924 · FY 2025
  4. DUKE UNIVERSITY $15,039,330 · FY 2025
  5. ICAHN SCHOOL OF MEDICINE AT MOUNT SINAI $12,007,972 · FY 2026

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 6, 2026

Assistance listing 93.273 · Alcohol Research Programs

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.273), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 100 $308,491 $157,932 – $601,291
FY 2025 175 $440,566 $194,934 – $1,114,948
FY 2024 237 $420,927 $153,632 – $1,110,810
FY 2023 327 $619,032 $350,328 – $1,806,361
FY 2022 314 $897,120 $369,477 – $2,547,224
FY 2021 274

For comparison, this notice advertises Up to $375,000.

Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 1,427 — award counts are complete.

Who wins it Higher education (1,103), Nonprofit (187), Business (75) of 1,427 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states CA (118) · NC (58) · NY (57) · PA (41) · TX (40)
Largest recent awards
  1. THE JOHNS HOPKINS UNIVERSITY $36,249,682 · FY 2022
  2. THE TRUSTEES OF COLUMBIA UNIVERSITY IN THE CITY OF NEW YORK $9,079,530 · FY 2022
  3. BOARD OF REGENTS OF THE UNIVERSITY OF NEBRASKA $6,335,676 · FY 2023
  4. VANDERBILT UNIVERSITY $5,361,769 · FY 2024
  5. LOHOCLA RESEARCH CORP $5,128,513 · FY 2022

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 6, 2026

Assistance listing 93.279 · Drug Use and Addiction Research Programs

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.279), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 428 $422,523 $183,034 – $700,682
FY 2025 588 $709,054 $348,214 – $1,489,059
FY 2024 714
FY 2023 724
FY 2022 740
FY 2021 606

For comparison, this notice advertises Up to $375,000.

Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 3,800 — award counts are complete.

Who wins it Higher education (2,743), Nonprofit (534), Business (366) of 3,800 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states CA (130) · MA (90) · NY (86) · PA (72) · MD (56)
Largest recent awards
  1. FLORIDA INTERNATIONAL UNIVERSITY $7,372,834 · FY 2025
  2. BETH ISRAEL DEACONESS MEDICAL CENTER, INC. $7,081,684 · FY 2025
  3. UNIVERSITY OF WASHINGTON $7,003,822 · FY 2025
  4. REACX PHARMACEUTICALS, INC. $6,900,000 · FY 2025
  5. WORCESTER POLYTECHNIC INSTITUTE $6,889,914 · FY 2025

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 18, 2026

Assistance listing 93.361 · Nursing Research

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.361), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 53 $732,795 $180,941 – $1,130,466
FY 2025 62 $675,031 $385,758 – $1,535,483
FY 2024 98 $473,202 $285,582 – $1,868,705
FY 2023 102 $758,157 $158,307 – $2,468,665
FY 2022 118 $493,973 $295,328 – $2,431,395
FY 2021 108 $478,145 $361,349 – $2,696,899

For comparison, this notice advertises Up to $375,000.

Who wins it Higher education (429), Nonprofit (54), Business (33) of 541 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states NY (48) · CA (35) · MD (32) · PA (31) · OH (25)
Largest recent awards
  1. UNIVERSITY OF CALIFORNIA, LOS ANGELES $13,344,757 · FY 2022
  2. THE REGENTS OF THE UNIVERSITY OF COLORADO $10,385,570 · FY 2025
  3. BAYLOR COLLEGE OF MEDICINE $8,282,292 · FY 2021
  4. THE LELAND STANFORD JUNIOR UNIVERSITY $6,476,031 · FY 2025
  5. UNIVERSITY OF MIAMI $4,547,851 · FY 2023

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 30, 2026

Assistance listing 93.393 · Cancer Cause and Prevention Research

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.393), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 167 $596,996 $422,899 – $685,984
FY 2025 233 $743,438 $397,772 – $1,287,560
FY 2024 331 $1,232,605 $403,858 – $1,928,145
FY 2023 333 $1,580,141 $399,888 – $2,324,497
FY 2022 371
FY 2021 317

For comparison, this notice advertises Up to $375,000.

Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 1,752 — award counts are complete.

Who wins it Higher education (1,176), Nonprofit (458), Business (49) of 1,752 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states NY (124) · CA (100) · MA (89) · TX (82) · NC (34)
Largest recent awards
  1. HEALTH RESEARCH, INC. $8,975,418 · FY 2023
  2. REGENTS OF THE UNIVERSITY OF CALIFORNIA, SAN FRANCISCO, THE $7,529,016 · FY 2024
  3. WAKE FOREST UNIVERSITY HEALTH SCIENCES $7,411,948 · FY 2023
  4. VANDERBILT UNIVERSITY MEDICAL CENTER $7,120,874 · FY 2023
  5. REGENTS OF THE UNIVERSITY OF MINNESOTA $6,827,635 · FY 2023

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 14, 2026

Assistance listing 93.394 · Cancer Detection and Diagnosis Research

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.394), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 137 $595,012 $414,585 – $662,610
FY 2025 184 $726,875 $399,923 – $1,297,708
FY 2024 215 $1,129,641 $414,953 – $1,862,878
FY 2023 268 $1,754,736 $438,924 – $2,398,100
FY 2022 277 $2,036,627 $596,368 – $3,077,027
FY 2021 269

For comparison, this notice advertises Up to $375,000.

Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 1,350 — award counts are complete.

Who wins it Higher education (836), Nonprofit (284), Business (196) of 1,350 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states CA (184) · NY (79) · MA (78) · TX (66) · PA (26)
Largest recent awards
  1. TRUSTEES OF THE UNIVERSITY OF PENNSYLVANIA, THE $8,347,015 · FY 2022
  2. BATTELLE MEMORIAL INSTITUTE $6,630,183 · FY 2022
  3. THE JOHNS HOPKINS UNIVERSITY $6,618,085 · FY 2022
  4. SLOAN-KETTERING INSTITUTE FOR CANCER RESEARCH $6,181,895 · FY 2022
  5. OREGON HEALTH & SCIENCE UNIVERSITY $5,771,926 · FY 2022

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 14, 2026

Assistance listing 93.395 · Cancer Treatment Research

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.395), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 316 $565,152 $413,691 – $664,926
FY 2025 435 $677,787 $402,400 – $1,233,798
FY 2024 488 $1,140,586 $408,966 – $1,897,871
FY 2023 522
FY 2022 519
FY 2021 517

For comparison, this notice advertises Up to $375,000.

Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 2,797 — award counts are complete.

Who wins it Higher education (1,714), Nonprofit (603), Business (391) of 2,797 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states CA (132) · NY (107) · TX (87) · MA (66) · PA (59)
Largest recent awards
  1. THE UNIVERSITY OF TEXAS SOUTHWESTERN MEDICAL CENTER $6,902,371 · FY 2024
  2. VIRGINIA COMMONWEALTH UNIVERSITY $5,325,147 · FY 2024
  3. MASSACHUSETTS INSTITUTE OF TECHNOLOGY $4,597,865 · FY 2024
  4. PRIVO TECHNOLOGIES, INC. $4,499,992 · FY 2024
  5. FRED HUTCHINSON CANCER CENTER $4,234,248 · FY 2025

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 18, 2026

Assistance listing 93.396 · Cancer Biology Research

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.396), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 289 $565,909 $400,614 – $660,808
FY 2025 261 $975,084 $432,098 – $1,309,674
FY 2024 333 $1,287,771 $456,103 – $1,958,901
FY 2023 383 $1,541,433 $747,000 – $2,025,032
FY 2022 401
FY 2021 396

For comparison, this notice advertises Up to $375,000.

Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 2,063 — award counts are complete.

Who wins it Higher education (1,417), Nonprofit (511), Business (47) of 2,063 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states NY (147) · CA (122) · TX (95) · MA (74) · PA (42)
Largest recent awards
  1. RUTGERS, THE STATE UNIVERSITY $11,640,000 · FY 2024
  2. TRUSTEES OF THE UNIVERSITY OF PENNSYLVANIA, THE $7,902,036 · FY 2023
  3. SANFORD BURNHAM PREBYS MEDICAL DISCOVERY INSTITUTE $6,972,263 · FY 2024
  4. THE TRUSTEES OF COLUMBIA UNIVERSITY IN THE CITY OF NEW YORK $5,522,226 · FY 2024
  5. WEILL MEDICAL COLLEGE OF CORNELL UNIVERSITY $5,035,979 · FY 2024

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 22, 2026

Assistance listing 93.399 · Cancer Control

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.399), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 0
FY 2025 1 $2,490,206 $2,490,206 – $2,490,206
FY 2024 13 $3,165,783 $804,361 – $3,227,950
FY 2023 7 $1,121,797 $947,583 – $1,353,065
FY 2022 14 $4,573,965 $2,523,875 – $6,154,995
FY 2021 5 $3,186,801 $2,957,140 – $3,199,301

For comparison, this notice advertises Up to $375,000.

Who wins it Higher education (28), Nonprofit (8) of 40 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states CA (5) · WA (5) · MI (3) · NY (3) · GA (2)
Largest recent awards
  1. UNIVERSITY OF DELAWARE $16,730,455 · FY 2021
  2. VIRGINIA POLYTECHNIC INSTITUTE & STATE UNIVERSITY $8,183,001 · FY 2022
  3. FRED HUTCHINSON CANCER CENTER $7,696,898 · FY 2022
  4. THE INSTITUTE FOR CANCER RESEARCH $6,471,989 · FY 2022
  5. WEILL MEDICAL COLLEGE OF CORNELL UNIVERSITY $4,655,326 · FY 2022

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 22, 2026

Assistance listing 93.837 · Cardiovascular Diseases Research

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.837), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 910 $406,108 $121,423 – $769,962
FY 2025 1,358 $638,002 $257,444 – $1,262,955
FY 2024 1,513
FY 2023 1,478
FY 2022 1,536
FY 2021 1,389

For comparison, this notice advertises Up to $375,000.

Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 8,184 — award counts are complete.

Who wins it Higher education (5,706), Nonprofit (1,550), Business (596) of 8,184 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states CA (135) · MA (108) · NY (78) · PA (65) · OH (43)
Largest recent awards
  1. CHILDRENS HOSPITAL MEDICAL CENTER $6,452,040 · FY 2026
  2. KAISER FOUNDATION HOSPITALS $3,918,561 · FY 2025
  3. ICAHN SCHOOL OF MEDICINE AT MOUNT SINAI $3,605,083 · FY 2026
  4. UNIVERSITY OF PITTSBURGH - OF THE COMMONWEALTH SYSTEM OF HIGHER EDUCATION $3,229,552 · FY 2026
  5. NORTHERN CALIFORNIA INSTITUTE FOR RESEARCH AND EDUCATION, INC. $3,002,716 · FY 2026

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 22, 2026

Assistance listing 93.838 · Lung Diseases Research

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.838), not just this notice.

No grants-family awards recorded for this program since FY 2021 — it may be new, renamed, or not yet reported to USASpending.

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 23, 2026

Assistance listing 93.839 · Blood Diseases and Resources Research

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.839), not just this notice.

No grants-family awards recorded for this program since FY 2021 — it may be new, renamed, or not yet reported to USASpending.

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 23, 2026

Assistance listing 93.840 · Translation and Implementation Science Research for Heart, Lung, Blood Diseases, and Sleep Disorders

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.840), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 0
FY 2025 0
FY 2024 1 $1,998,060 $1,998,060 – $1,998,060
FY 2023 8 $718,015 $520,326 – $1,181,909
FY 2022 0
FY 2021 0

For comparison, this notice advertises Up to $375,000.

Who wins it State government (4), Local government (3), Higher education (2) of 9 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states CA (1) · CO (1) · DE (1) · IN (1) · MI (1)
Largest recent awards
  1. MICHIGAN PUBLIC HEALTH INSTITUTE $1,332,220 · FY 2023
  2. INDIANA DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH $1,304,518 · FY 2023
  3. MINNESOTA DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH $1,141,039 · FY 2023
  4. SOUTHERN NEVADA HEALTH DIST $762,811 · FY 2023
  5. COUNTY OF CHARLESTON $673,219 · FY 2023

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 23, 2026

Assistance listing 93.853 · Extramural Research Programs in the Neurosciences and Neurological Disorders

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.853), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 654 $405,461 $120,825 – $587,738
FY 2025 923 $491,085 $157,949 – $1,077,840
FY 2024 1,031
FY 2023 1,194
FY 2022 1,228
FY 2021 1,132

For comparison, this notice advertises Up to $375,000.

Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 6,162 — award counts are complete.

Who wins it Higher education (4,669), Nonprofit (990), Business (259) of 6,162 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states CA (153) · NY (99) · MA (93) · PA (74) · TX (39)
Largest recent awards
  1. THE LELAND STANFORD JUNIOR UNIVERSITY $5,747,701 · FY 2025
  2. YALE UNIV $4,888,497 · FY 2025
  3. MAYO CLINIC $3,746,535 · FY 2026
  4. REGENTS OF THE UNIVERSITY OF CALIFORNIA, SAN FRANCISCO, THE $3,153,019 · FY 2025
  5. UNIVERSITY OF CALIFORNIA, LOS ANGELES $3,109,857 · FY 2025

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 23, 2026

Assistance listing 93.865 · Child Health and Human Development Extramural Research

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.865), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 386 $392,826 $79,188 – $593,582
FY 2025 665 $452,972 $178,000 – $1,225,547
FY 2024 785
FY 2023 835
FY 2022 799
FY 2021 764

For comparison, this notice advertises Up to $375,000.

Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 4,234 — award counts are complete.

Who wins it Higher education (3,137), Nonprofit (693), Business (224) of 4,234 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states CA (103) · MA (87) · PA (75) · NY (62) · MI (34)
Largest recent awards
  1. PRESIDENT AND FELLOWS OF HARVARD COLLEGE $16,115,056 · FY 2025
  2. UNIVERSITY OF MIAMI $15,385,183 · FY 2025
  3. UNIVERSITY OF WASHINGTON $6,635,347 · FY 2025
  4. GEORGE WASHINGTON UNIVERSITY (THE) $5,117,920 · FY 2025
  5. RESEARCH TRIANGLE INSTITUTE $4,847,747 · FY 2025

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 23, 2026

Assistance listing 93.866 · Aging Research

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.866), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 795 $493,972 $248,999 – $713,195
FY 2025 1,033 $643,089 $467,538 – $1,733,010
FY 2024 1,560
FY 2023 1,539
FY 2022 1,715
FY 2021 1,595

For comparison, this notice advertises Up to $375,000.

Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 8,237 — award counts are complete.

Who wins it Higher education (6,015), Nonprofit (1,370), Business (538) of 8,237 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states CA (153) · NY (110) · MA (100) · TX (57) · PA (41)
Largest recent awards
  1. REGENTS OF THE UNIVERSITY OF MICHIGAN $15,345,206 · FY 2026
  2. UNIVERSITY OF UTAH $10,793,501 · FY 2025
  3. THE TRUSTEES OF COLUMBIA UNIVERSITY IN THE CITY OF NEW YORK $10,223,348 · FY 2026
  4. SUTTER BAY HOSPITALS $9,466,491 · FY 2025
  5. TUFTS MEDICAL CENTER PARENT, INC. $8,296,115 · FY 2026

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 23, 2026

Assistance listing 93.867 · Vision Research

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.867), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 189 $440,263 $132,837 – $633,742
FY 2025 309 $464,903 $260,661 – $1,026,742
FY 2024 408 $630,967 $342,920 – $1,431,708
FY 2023 401 $771,099 $422,359 – $1,867,311
FY 2022 391
FY 2021 394

For comparison, this notice advertises Up to $375,000.

Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 2,092 — award counts are complete.

Who wins it Higher education (1,564), Nonprofit (300), Business (168) of 2,092 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states CA (182) · NY (96) · MA (90) · MD (48) · TX (48)
Largest recent awards
  1. UNIVERSITY OF CALIFORNIA, SAN DIEGO $8,283,963 · FY 2024
  2. REGENTS OF THE UNIVERSITY OF CALIFORNIA, SAN FRANCISCO, THE $5,256,090 · FY 2023
  3. OHIO STATE UNIVERSITY, THE $4,539,043 · FY 2025
  4. ALLEN INSTITUTE $4,260,011 · FY 2025
  5. THE GENERAL HOSPITAL CORPORATION $4,026,010 · FY 2024

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 23, 2026