Skip to content
Simpler Grants

No. NNH19ZHA001C · National Aeronautics and Space Administration

Open

National Space Grant College and Fellowship Program - Opportunities in NASA STEM FY 2020 – 2024

Dealbreakers Cost share required Audit: not stated Reimbursement-only: not stated
Award range
$0 – $700,000
Expected awards
~52
Application deadline
No deadline listed
Posted
Jul 29, 2019
Last verified
Yesterday

At a glance

No plain-language summary yet for this grant — the official description below is the best source.

What it funds

  • Education
  • Capacity Building & Technical Assistance
  • Training, Fellowship & Career Development
  • Researchers & Scholars
  • Students & Learners (K-12 and Postsecondary)
  • Higher Education Access, Institutions & Humanities
  • Public Diplomacy & International Exchange
  • STEM Education & Research Training
Official description from grants.gov

This Cooperative Agreement Notice is a multi-year award thataims to contribute to NASA’s mission, Office of STEM Education priorities,Co-STEM goals, Mission Directorate collaborations, and state based needs. The multi-year award will be available to allSpace Grant Consortia who will work with the Office of STEM Engagement tofulfill these objectives. Through thecombined efforts of the Space Grant Consortia, this program will 1) enablecontributions to NASA’s work, 2) build a diverse, skilled future workforce, and3) strengthen understanding of STEM through powerful connections to NASA. The program will focus on providingopportunities for students to engage with NASA’s aeronautics, space, andscience people, content, and facilities in support of a diverse future NASA andaerospace industry workforce, as well as, providingopportunities for students to contribute to NASA’s aeronautics, space, andscience missions and work in exploration and discovery through MissionDirectorate collaborations. Everyinstitution that intends to submit a proposal to this NRA, including theproposed prime award or any partner whether an education institution, and otherorganizations that will serve as sub-awardees or contractors, must be registered in NSPIRES . Electronicsubmission of proposals is required by the due date and must be submitted byan authorized official of the proposing organization . Such registrationmust identify the authorized organizational representative(s) who will submitthe electronic proposal. All principal investigators and other participants(e.g. co-investigators) must be registered in NSPIRES regardless of submissionsystem . Potential proposers and proposing organizations are urged to accessthe system(s) well in advance of the proposal due date(s) of interest tofamiliarize themselves with its structure and enter the requested information.Electronic proposals may be submitted via the NASA proposal data systemNSPIRES. Additional programmatic information for this NRAmay develop before the proposal due date. If so, such information will be addedas a Frequently Asked Question (FAQ) or formal amendment to this NRA and postedon http://nspires.nasaprs.com . It is the proposer’s responsibility to regularly check NSPIRESfor updates to this NRA. P oint of Contact Name: Erica J. Alston Title: Deputy Space GrantProgram Manager Phone: 757-864-7247 E-mail: SGCFP@nasaprs.com

Who can apply

  • Others
Geographic restriction None found in the announcement — likely nationwide

Program history

USASpending.gov

Assistance listing 43.008 · Education

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (43.008), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 13 $249,994 $129,915 – $999,852
FY 2025 125 $1,499,046 $250,000 – $1,815,000
FY 2024 104 $100,000 $60,000 – $108,532
FY 2023 138 $100,000 $95,203 – $750,000
FY 2022 161 $100,000 $67,563 – $750,000
FY 2021 126 $100,000 $97,913 – $518,152

For comparison, this notice advertises $0 – $700,000.

Who wins it State government (217), Nonprofit (215), Higher education (104) of 667 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states TX (33) · FL (21) · CA (18) · AL (15) · MD (8)
Largest recent awards
  1. NATIONAL COUNCIL ON RADIATION PROTECTION & MEASUREMENTS $4,467,000 · FY 2023
  2. AMERICAN INDIAN HIGHER EDUCATION CONSORTIUM $4,220,904 · FY 2024
  3. SOUTH DAKOTA STATE UNIVERSITY $2,615,000 · FY 2025
  4. UNIVERSITY OF HOUSTON SYSTEM $2,289,849 · FY 2024
  5. RESEARCH FOUNDATION OF THE CITY UNIVERSITY OF NEW YORK $2,154,086 · FY 2024

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 28, 2026