Skip to content
Simpler Grants

No. O-BJA-2026-172705 · Bureau of Justice Assistance

Open

BJA FY 2026 Edward Byrne Memorial Justice Assistance Grant (JAG) Program—Local Formula

Dealbreakers Cost share: not stated Audit: not stated Reimbursement-only: not stated
Award range
$0 – $4,964,030
Expected awards
Not specified
Application deadline
Oct 9, 2026
Posted
Aug 25, 2026
Last verified
7 days ago

At a glance

No plain-language summary yet for this grant — the official description below is the best source.

What it funds

  • Law, Justice and Legal Services
Official description from grants.gov

The Office of Justice Programs (OJP) is committed to advancing work that furthers the U.S. Department of Justice’s (DOJ) mission to keep our country safe and secure and uphold the rule of law and protect the rights of American citizens. OJP provides federal leadership, funding, and other critical resources to directly support law enforcement, combat violent crime, protect American children, provide services to American crime victims, and address public safety challenges, including human trafficking and the opioid crisis. This is a notice of funding opportunity (NOFO) for the BJA FY 2026 Edward Byrne Memorial Justice Assistance Grant (JAG) Program—Local Formula. This opportunity will provide formula funding to eligible units of local government to, in general, support hiring additional personnel and/or purchase equipment, supplies, contractual support, training, technical assistance, and information systems for criminal justice or civil proceedings, including for any one or more of the eleven program areas. Applicants should check the FY26 JAG allocations to determine if they are eligible to receive direct JAG funding from BJA prior to starting an application: https://bja.ojp.gov/program/jag/allocations.

Who can apply

  • City or township governments
  • County governments
  • Native American tribal governments (Federally recognized)
  • Others
  • Special district governments
Geographic restriction None found in the announcement — likely nationwide

Program history

USASpending.gov

Assistance listing 16.738 · Edward Byrne Memorial Justice Assistance Grant Program

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (16.738), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 4 $0 $0 – $772,120
FY 2025 996 $36,467 $17,504 – $104,693
FY 2024 201
FY 2023 1,088
FY 2022 1,961
FY 2021 129

For comparison, this notice advertises $0 – $4,964,030.

Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 4,379 — award counts are complete.

Who wins it Local government (3,750), State government (453), Nonprofit (72) of 4,379 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states CA (115) · FL (84) · TX (47) · VA (38) · GA (36)
Largest recent awards
  1. CALIFORNIA BOARD OF STATE AND COMMUNITY CORRECTIONS $18,234,257 · FY 2025
  2. GOVERNOR, TEXAS OFFICE OF THE $14,487,592 · FY 2025
  3. FLORIDA DEPARTMENT OF LAW ENFORCEMENT $10,717,097 · FY 2025
  4. NEW YORK STATE DIVISION OF CRIMINAL JUSTICE SERVICES $8,487,623 · FY 2025
  5. ILLINOIS CRIMINAL JUSTICE INFORMATION AUTHORITY $6,394,906 · FY 2025

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 18, 2026