Skip to content
Simpler Grants

No. PAR-24-167 · National Institutes of Health

Open

Utilizing Equipment to Study Environmental Extrinsic Factors and Enhance Rigor and Reproducibility of Animal Research (R24, Clinical Trials Not-Allowed)

Dealbreakers No cost share required
No audit required
“This NOFO does not require cost sharing as defined in the NIH Grants Policy Statement NIH Grants Policy Statement Section 1.2 Definition of Terms.” — From the announcement
Reimbursement-only: not stated
Award range
Not specified
Expected awards
Not specified
Application deadline
Sep 25, 2026 23 days left
Posted
Mar 13, 2024
Last verified
7 days ago

At a glance

AI summary

This program funds research and equipment to study how environmental and housing factors affect rigor and reproducibility in animal research. It is open to many U.S. organizations, including nonprofits, universities, governments, small businesses, and foreign organizations are not eligible to apply; foreign components of U.S. organizations are allowed. Awards are not limited by budget, but applicants may request up to $400,000 in direct costs for equipment and research in the first year and up to $400,000 in direct costs for research in each later year. The maximum project period is 4 years. No cost sharing is required.

AI-generated summary — verify against the announcement

What it funds

  • Health
  • Infrastructure, Construction & Shared Facilities
  • Research & Discovery
  • Researchers & Scholars
  • Biomedical & Disease Research
  • Research Infrastructure, Instrumentation & Data
Official description from grants.gov

The Office of Research Infrastructure Programs (ORIP) invites grant applications from core facilities, resource centers, animal vivaria, or individual investigators of other shared resources to systematically study the roles of critical environmental extrinsic factors in biological, behavioral, and treatment studies using animal model species, with the objective of enhancing the rigor and reproducibility of animal research. The research area must be broadly applicable to the scientific interests of two or more NIH Institutes or Centers (ICs) and must evaluate the biological processes that impact multiple organ systems in order to align with the ORIPs NIH-wide mission and programs. The program supports the acquisition or update of modern equipment for measuring, monitoring, recording, and reporting environmental, biological or biobehavioral variables. The equipment requested must be capable of recording and reporting multiple parameters simultaneously.

Who can apply

  • City or township governments
  • County governments
  • For-profit organizations other than small businesses
  • Independent school districts
  • Native American tribal governments (Federally recognized)
  • Native American tribal organizations (other than Federally recognized)
  • Nonprofits with 501(c)(3) status (other than higher education)
  • Nonprofits without 501(c)(3) status (other than higher education)
  • Others
  • Private institutions of higher education
  • Public and State controlled institutions of higher education
  • Public housing authorities / Indian housing authorities
  • Small businesses
  • Special district governments
  • State governments
Geographic restriction None found in the announcement — likely nationwide

Program history

USASpending.gov

Assistance listing 93.351 · Research Infrastructure Programs

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.351), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 139 $607,409 $418,448 – $813,252
FY 2025 168 $596,737 $349,073 – $1,388,571
FY 2024 188 $571,633 $349,563 – $966,019
FY 2023 197 $590,126 $340,122 – $1,345,699
FY 2022 223 $571,482 $334,100 – $755,338
FY 2021 163 $589,686 $399,709 – $999,500

Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 1,078 — award counts are complete.

Who wins it Higher education (818), Nonprofit (186), Business (39) of 1,078 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states CA (125) · NY (89) · MA (80) · TX (64) · PA (35)
Largest recent awards
  1. OREGON HEALTH & SCIENCE UNIVERSITY $16,992,533 · FY 2022
  2. UNIVERSITY OF MISSOURI SYSTEM $6,307,489 · FY 2023
  3. BAYLOR COLLEGE OF MEDICINE $5,213,369 · FY 2021
  4. UNIVERSITY OF CALIFORNIA, DAVIS $4,023,900 · FY 2023
  5. UNIVERSITY OF CALIFORNIA IRVINE $3,694,446 · FY 2025

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 30, 2026