Skip to content
Simpler Grants

No. PAR-25-195 · National Institutes of Health

Open

Limited Competition: Ruth L. Kirschstein National Research Service Award (NRSA) Postdoctoral Research Training Grant for the Clinical and Translational Science Awards (CTSA) Program (T32 Clinical Trial Not Allowed)

Dealbreakers No cost share required Audit: not stated
Not reimbursement-only
“The grant offsets the cost of stipends, tuition and fees, and training related expenses, including health insurance, for the appointed trainees in accordance with agency-approved support levels” — From the announcement
Award range
Not specified
Expected awards
Not specified
Application deadline
Sep 28, 2027
Posted
Dec 19, 2024
Last verified
6 days ago

At a glance

AI summary

This program funds postdoctoral research training in clinical and translational science through the NIH NRSA T32 mechanism. Only primary CTSA UM1 hub organizations may apply, and applications must be submitted with, under review with, being considered for funding with, or after an awarded UM1 from the same organization; foreign organizations and non-domestic components are not eligible. Awards are limited to no more than 2 trainee slots for Hub Tier G, 3 for Tier T, 4 for Tier C, and 5 for Tier A per budget period, with project periods up to 5 years. Clinical trials are not allowed, although trainees may get research experience in a trial led by a mentor or co-mentor, and indirect costs are reimbursed at 8% of modified total direct costs.

AI-generated summary — verify against the announcement

What it funds

  • Health
  • Training, Fellowship & Career Development
  • Researchers & Scholars
  • Biomedical & Disease Research
  • Health Care Delivery, Access & Workforce
  • STEM Education & Research Training
Official description from grants.gov

The National Center for Advancing Translational Sciences (NCATS) will award Ruth L. Kirschstein National Research Service Award (NRSA) Postdoctoral Institutional Research Training Grants for the Clinical and Translational Science Awards (CTSA) Program (T32) to eligible institutions to create, provide, and disseminate clinical and translational science training and career support programs that enhance postdoctoral research training of individuals with doctoral degrees (these include, but are not limited to, the following: D.M.D., DC, DO, DVM., OD, DPM, ScD, EngD, DrPH, DNSc, DPT, PharmD, ND [Doctor of Naturopathy], DSW, PsyD, as well as a doctoral degree in nursing research) and help ensure a heterogenous pool of clinical and translational scientists trainees who are equipped with the knowledge, skills and abilities to advance diagnostics, therapeutics, clinical interventions, and behavioral modifications that improve health and support meaningful translational science research projects that address demonstrable needs among stakeholder communities.

Who can apply

  • Public and State controlled institutions of higher education
Geographic restriction None found in the announcement — likely nationwide

Program history

USASpending.gov

Assistance listing 93.350 · National Center for Advancing Translational Sciences

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.350), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 106 $427,386 $166,500 – $755,137
FY 2025 110 $427,602 $178,000 – $1,833,042
FY 2024 137 $463,150 $176,720 – $2,139,478
FY 2023 131 $363,189 $155,500 – $3,024,000
FY 2022 106 $438,741 $156,117 – $1,906,971
FY 2021 76 $324,197 $28,713 – $1,276,814
Who wins it Higher education (344), Business (161), Nonprofit (137) of 666 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states CA (74) · NY (48) · NC (38) · MA (36) · PA (28)
Largest recent awards
  1. ICAHN SCHOOL OF MEDICINE AT MOUNT SINAI $46,369,962 · FY 2022
  2. TRUSTEES OF TUFTS COLLEGE $44,451,810 · FY 2023
  3. PRESIDENT AND FELLOWS OF HARVARD COLLEGE $43,319,327 · FY 2023
  4. REGENTS OF THE UNIVERSITY OF MICHIGAN $39,816,036 · FY 2023
  5. THE UNIVERSITY OF TEXAS SOUTHWESTERN MEDICAL CENTER $39,349,638 · FY 2021

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 30, 2026