Skip to content
Simpler Grants

No. PAR-25-014 · Food and Drug Administration

Open

NARMS Cooperative Agreement Program to Strengthen Antibiotic Resistance Surveillance in Retail Food Specimens

Dealbreakers No cost share required Audit: not stated Reimbursement-only: not stated
Award range
$0 – $200,000
Expected awards
~35
Application deadline
Apr 1, 2027
Posted
Jul 11, 2025
Last verified
2 days ago

At a glance

No plain-language summary yet for this grant — the official description below is the best source.

What it funds

  • Agriculture
  • Consumer Protection
  • Food and Nutrition
  • Capacity Building & Technical Assistance
  • General Public / Community-wide
  • Agriculture, Food Systems & Food Safety
  • Public Health, Prevention & Nutrition
Official description from grants.gov

This Funding Opportunity Announcement (FOA) issued by the Food and Drug Administration (FDA), Center for Veterinary Medicine (CVM), builds upon the National Antimicrobial Resistance Monitoring System (NARMS) which was initiated in 1996 as one of the key activities in a national action plan to combat antibiotic resistance threats. The purpose of this FOA is to protect and promote public health by enhancing, strengthening, and sustaining antibiotic resistance surveillance in retail food specimens within the NARMS program. The NARMS cooperative agreement is intended to improve the detection of antibiotic resistance among bacteria in food commodities, as well as expand to new sites to expand the scope of sampling. Measurable outcomes of the program will be in alignment with the NARMS Objectives.

Who can apply

  • Others
Geographic restriction None found in the announcement — likely nationwide

Program history

USASpending.gov

Assistance listing 93.103 · Food and Drug Administration Research

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.103), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 2 $674,557 $362,279 – $986,836
FY 2025 128 $449,605 $217,500 – $750,000
FY 2024 95 $350,000 $101,736 – $1,005,321
FY 2023 176 $570,625 $154,967 – $997,677
FY 2022 136 $292,635 $128,510 – $1,080,535
FY 2021 131 $1,247,596 $218,607 – $2,622,614

For comparison, this notice advertises $0 – $200,000.

Who wins it Higher education (212), State government (196), Nonprofit (141) of 668 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states PA (45) · CA (43) · NY (28) · MD (25) · MA (20)
Largest recent awards
  1. NATIONAL ENVIRONMENTAL HEALTH ASSOCIATION $36,000,000 · FY 2021
  2. FOOD & AGRICULTURE, CALIFORNIA DEPARTMENT OF $24,423,552 · FY 2021
  3. ASSOCIATION OF FOOD & DRUG OFFICIALS $13,305,546 · FY 2022
  4. UNIVERSITY OF NORTH CAROLINA AT CHAPEL HILL $12,840,004 · FY 2023
  5. REGENTS OF THE UNIVERSITY OF MINNESOTA $7,424,773 · FY 2022

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 16, 2026