Skip to content
Simpler Grants

No. PAR-25-446 · National Institutes of Health

Open

Development of Interventions to Prevent and Treat Substance Use Disorders and Overdose (UG3/UH3 - Clinical Trial Optional)

Dealbreakers No cost share required Audit: not stated
Not reimbursement-only
“Cooperative Agreement: A financial assistance mechanism used when there will be substantial Federal scientific or programmatic involvement.” — From the announcement
Award range
Up to $3,000,000
Expected awards
Not specified
Application deadline
Aug 21, 2028
Posted
Sep 10, 2025
Last verified
7 days ago

At a glance

AI summary

This program supports preclinical and clinical research to develop interventions to prevent or treat substance use disorders and overdose, including medications, devices, digital therapeutics, and behavioral or integrative treatments. It is open to a wide range of applicants, including nonprofits, universities, for-profit organizations, governments, tribal organizations, faith-based or community-based organizations, and foreign organizations, and foreign components are allowed. Application budgets are limited to $3 million per year in direct costs, and the maximum project period is 5 years, with up to 2 years for UG3 and 3 years for UH3. No cost sharing is required. Applications involving foreign subawards or subcontracts are not allowed, and behavioral intervention studies are limited to NIH Stages I through III, while alcohol-only and effectiveness-only studies are not responsive.

AI-generated summary — verify against the announcement

What it funds

  • Education
  • Health
  • Research & Discovery
  • Technology & Product Development
  • Patients & People with Health Conditions
  • Biomedical & Disease Research
  • Substance Use & Addiction
Official description from grants.gov

The purpose of this Funding Opportunity (NOFO) is to solicit grant applications to support research on the discovery and development of interventions to prevent and/or treat substance use disorders (SUDs) and overdose, including medications and medical devices to treat co-morbid SUDs. This includes preclinical and clinical research studies that will have high impact and quickly yield the necessary results to advance candidate interventions closer to regulatory approval or clinical adoption. This NOFO will utilize the UG3/UH3 activity code.

Who can apply

  • City or township governments
  • County governments
  • For-profit organizations other than small businesses
  • Independent school districts
  • Native American tribal governments (Federally recognized)
  • Native American tribal organizations (other than Federally recognized)
  • Nonprofits with 501(c)(3) status (other than higher education)
  • Nonprofits without 501(c)(3) status (other than higher education)
  • Others
  • Private institutions of higher education
  • Public and State controlled institutions of higher education
  • Public housing authorities / Indian housing authorities
  • Small businesses
  • Special district governments
  • State governments
Geographic restriction None found in the announcement — likely nationwide

Program history

USASpending.gov

Assistance listing 93.279 · Drug Use and Addiction Research Programs

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.279), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 428 $422,523 $183,034 – $700,682
FY 2025 588 $709,054 $348,214 – $1,489,059
FY 2024 714
FY 2023 724
FY 2022 740
FY 2021 606

For comparison, this notice advertises Up to $3,000,000.

Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 3,800 — award counts are complete.

Who wins it Higher education (2,743), Nonprofit (534), Business (366) of 3,800 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states CA (130) · MA (90) · NY (86) · PA (72) · MD (56)
Largest recent awards
  1. FLORIDA INTERNATIONAL UNIVERSITY $7,372,834 · FY 2025
  2. BETH ISRAEL DEACONESS MEDICAL CENTER, INC. $7,081,684 · FY 2025
  3. UNIVERSITY OF WASHINGTON $7,003,822 · FY 2025
  4. REACX PHARMACEUTICALS, INC. $6,900,000 · FY 2025
  5. WORCESTER POLYTECHNIC INSTITUTE $6,889,914 · FY 2025

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 18, 2026