Skip to content
Simpler Grants

No. RFA-NS-27-011 · National Institutes of Health

Open

Single Source: Post-Stroke Vascular Contributions to Cognitive Impairment and Dementia (VCID) in the United States (U19 - Clinical Trial Not Allowed)

Dealbreakers No cost share required Audit: not stated Reimbursement-only: not stated
Invitation only
“This is a limited competition. Only those who received a grant award under RFA-NS-19-012 are eligible to apply.” — From the announcement
Award range
Not specified
Expected awards
~1
Application deadline
Sep 28, 2026 26 days left
Posted
Jun 30, 2026
Last verified
2 days ago

At a glance

No plain-language summary yet for this grant — the official description below is the best source.

What it funds

  • Health
  • Research & Discovery
  • Patients & People with Health Conditions
  • Aging, Dementia & Caregiving
  • Biomedical & Disease Research
Official description from grants.gov

This is a non-competitive funding opportunity intended to fund a single award. The National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke is announcing its intent to issue a single source cooperative agreement award to Massachusetts General Hospital to support the renewal of the Post-Stroke Vascular Cognitive Impairment & Dementia (VCID) program, an ongoing, multi-site clinical research initiative designed to elucidate mechanisms linking stroke to subsequent cognitive impairment and dementia. The award will enable completion of the scientific aims initiated under the original U19 cooperative agreement (RFA-NS-19-012) and advance national priorities described in the National Plan to Address Alzheimer"s Disease.This is a Notice of Funding Opportunity (NOFO) for a Single Source that will invite an application from Massachusetts General Hospital. Please see Section III. Eligibility for additional information. In accordance with NIH standard peer-review processes, the application will be peer-reviewed, and only meritorious application(s) will be considered for funding.

Who can apply

  • City or township governments
  • County governments
  • For-profit organizations other than small businesses
  • Independent school districts
  • Native American tribal governments (Federally recognized)
  • Native American tribal organizations (other than Federally recognized)
  • Nonprofits with 501(c)(3) status (other than higher education)
  • Nonprofits without 501(c)(3) status (other than higher education)
  • Others
  • Private institutions of higher education
  • Public and State controlled institutions of higher education
  • Public housing authorities / Indian housing authorities
  • Small businesses
  • Special district governments
  • State governments
Geographic restriction None found in the announcement — likely nationwide

Program history

USASpending.gov

Assistance listing 93.853 · Extramural Research Programs in the Neurosciences and Neurological Disorders

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.853), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 654 $405,461 $120,825 – $587,738
FY 2025 923 $491,085 $157,949 – $1,077,840
FY 2024 1,031
FY 2023 1,194
FY 2022 1,228
FY 2021 1,132

Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 6,162 — award counts are complete.

Who wins it Higher education (4,669), Nonprofit (990), Business (259) of 6,162 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states CA (153) · NY (99) · MA (93) · PA (74) · TX (39)
Largest recent awards
  1. THE LELAND STANFORD JUNIOR UNIVERSITY $5,747,701 · FY 2025
  2. YALE UNIV $4,888,497 · FY 2025
  3. MAYO CLINIC $3,746,535 · FY 2026
  4. REGENTS OF THE UNIVERSITY OF CALIFORNIA, SAN FRANCISCO, THE $3,153,019 · FY 2025
  5. UNIVERSITY OF CALIFORNIA, LOS ANGELES $3,109,857 · FY 2025

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 23, 2026

Assistance listing 93.866 · Aging Research

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.866), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 795 $493,972 $248,999 – $713,195
FY 2025 1,033 $643,089 $467,538 – $1,733,010
FY 2024 1,560
FY 2023 1,539
FY 2022 1,715
FY 2021 1,595

Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 8,237 — award counts are complete.

Who wins it Higher education (6,015), Nonprofit (1,370), Business (538) of 8,237 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states CA (153) · NY (110) · MA (100) · TX (57) · PA (41)
Largest recent awards
  1. REGENTS OF THE UNIVERSITY OF MICHIGAN $15,345,206 · FY 2026
  2. UNIVERSITY OF UTAH $10,793,501 · FY 2025
  3. THE TRUSTEES OF COLUMBIA UNIVERSITY IN THE CITY OF NEW YORK $10,223,348 · FY 2026
  4. SUTTER BAY HOSPITALS $9,466,491 · FY 2025
  5. TUFTS MEDICAL CENTER PARENT, INC. $8,296,115 · FY 2026

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 23, 2026

Change history

Since we first indexed it
  1. Jul 18, 2026 Eligibility text updated
  2. Jul 11, 2026 Title updated
  3. Jul 11, 2026 Status: forecasted → open
  4. Jul 11, 2026 Deadline set: Sep 28, 2026