No. PAR-23-126 · National Institutes of Health
Limited Competition: National Primate Research Centers (P51) (Clinical Trials Not Allowed)
- Award range
- Not specified
- Expected awards
- Not specified
- Application deadline
- Sep 25, 2026 23 days left
- Posted
- May 26, 2023
- Last verified
- 6 days ago
At a glance
AI summaryThis program funds the National Primate Research Center base grant, which supports facilities, staff, animal colonies, core services, outreach, and pilot research related to nonhuman primate biomedical research. Only existing NPRCs previously funded under PAR-17-144 or PAR-20-181 may apply, and clinical trial applications are not allowed. The number of awards is not stated and depends on NIH appropriations and meritorious applications, and budgets are not limited except that renewal or resubmission applications may request no more than a 5 percent direct-cost increase from the last non-competing year. The maximum project period is 5 years. Foreign institutions, non-U.S. components of U.S. organizations, and foreign components are not allowed.
AI-generated summary — verify against the announcement
What it funds
Official description from grants.gov
This funding opportunity announcement (FOA) encourages grant applications that support the activities of the National Primate Research Centers (NPRCs). Nonhuman primates (NHPs) are most closely related to humans, both physiologically and genetically. Therefore, NHPs are critical animal models for basic and translational research aimed at understanding human biology, both in normal and diseased states. Proper husbandry and management of NHPs require specialized physical and intellectual resources, which are most effectively and economically provided in centralized primate centers, the resources of which are made available to investigators on a national basis. The NPRCs provide these resources to investigators/grantees who utilize NHPs in biomedical research and thereby complement and help enable the missions of the NIH Institutes and Centers.
Who can apply
- Small businesses
Program history
USASpending.govAssistance listing 93.351 · Research Infrastructure Programs
Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.351), not just this notice.
| Fiscal year | Awards | Median award | Middle half |
|---|---|---|---|
| FY 2026 (so far) | 139 | $607,409 | $418,448 – $813,252 |
| FY 2025 | 168 | $596,737 | $349,073 – $1,388,571 |
| FY 2024 | 188 | $571,633 | $349,563 – $966,019 |
| FY 2023 | 197 | $590,126 | $340,122 – $1,345,699 |
| FY 2022 | 223 | $571,482 | $334,100 – $755,338 |
| FY 2021 | 163 | $589,686 | $399,709 – $999,500 |
Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 1,078 — award counts are complete.
- OREGON HEALTH & SCIENCE UNIVERSITY $16,992,533 · FY 2022
- UNIVERSITY OF MISSOURI SYSTEM $6,307,489 · FY 2023
- BAYLOR COLLEGE OF MEDICINE $5,213,369 · FY 2021
- UNIVERSITY OF CALIFORNIA, DAVIS $4,023,900 · FY 2023
- UNIVERSITY OF CALIFORNIA IRVINE $3,694,446 · FY 2025
Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 30, 2026
Assistance listing 93.866 · Aging Research
Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.866), not just this notice.
| Fiscal year | Awards | Median award | Middle half |
|---|---|---|---|
| FY 2026 (so far) | 795 | $493,972 | $248,999 – $713,195 |
| FY 2025 | 1,033 | $643,089 | $467,538 – $1,733,010 |
| FY 2024 | 1,560 | — | — |
| FY 2023 | 1,539 | — | — |
| FY 2022 | 1,715 | — | — |
| FY 2021 | 1,595 | — | — |
Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 8,237 — award counts are complete.
- REGENTS OF THE UNIVERSITY OF MICHIGAN $15,345,206 · FY 2026
- UNIVERSITY OF UTAH $10,793,501 · FY 2025
- THE TRUSTEES OF COLUMBIA UNIVERSITY IN THE CITY OF NEW YORK $10,223,348 · FY 2026
- SUTTER BAY HOSPITALS $9,466,491 · FY 2025
- TUFTS MEDICAL CENTER PARENT, INC. $8,296,115 · FY 2026
Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 23, 2026