No. PD-20-144Y · U.S. National Science Foundation
Foundational Research in Robotics
- Award range
- Not specified
- Expected awards
- Not specified
- Application deadline
- No deadline listed
- Posted
- Feb 12, 2020
- Last verified
- 2 days ago
At a glance
AI summaryThe Foundational Research in Robotics program supports basic research on robotic systems with significant computational capability and physical complexity. It funds projects on robots or classes of robots that aim to give them new or improved capabilities and address fundamental gaps in robotics. The program is led by NSF’s CISE and ENG Directorates, and full proposals are accepted anytime. The announcement does not state award amounts, the number of awards, cost-share requirements, or any geographic restrictions.
AI-generated summary — verify against the announcement
What it funds
Official description from grants.gov
The Foundational Research in Robotics (FRR) program, jointly led by the CISE and ENG Directorates, supports research on robotic systems that exhibit significant levels of both computational capability and physical complexity. For the purposes of this program, a robot is defined as intelligence embodied in an engineered construct, with the ability to process information, sense, plan, and move within or substantially alter its working environment. Here intelligence includes a broad class of methods that enable a robot to solve problems or to make contextually appropriate decisions and act upon them. The program welcomes research that considers inextricably interwoven questions of intelligence, computation, and embodiment. Projects may also focus on a distinct aspect of intelligence, computation, or embodiment, as long as the proposed research is clearly justified in the context of a class of robots. The focus of the FRR program is on foundational advances in robotics. Robotics is a deeply interdisciplinary field, and proposals are encouraged across the full range of fundamental engineering and computer science research challenges arising in robotics. To be responsive to the FRR program, each proposal should clearly articulate the following three points: The focus of the research project should be a robot or a class of robots, as defined above. [Is there a robot?] The goal of the project should be to endow a robot or a class of robots with new and useful capabilities or to significantly enhance existing capabilities. [Will a robot gain a new or significantly improved capability?] The intellectual contribution of the proposed work should address fundamental gaps in robotics. [Is robotics essential to the intellectual merit of the proposal?] Meaningful experimental validation on a physical platform is encouraged. Projects that do not represent a direct fundamental contribution to the science of robotics or are better aligned with other existing programs at NSF should not be submitted to the FRR program. Potential investigators are strongly encouraged to discuss their projects with an FRR Program Officer before submission. Non-compliant proposals may be returned without review.
Who can apply
- Unrestricted
Program history
USASpending.govAssistance listing 47.041 · Engineering
Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (47.041), not just this notice.
| Fiscal year | Awards | Median award | Middle half |
|---|---|---|---|
| FY 2026 (so far) | 604 | $407,608 | $200,000 – $550,000 |
| FY 2025 | 1,537 | $389,666 | $282,237 – $549,621 |
| FY 2024 | 1,761 | — | — |
| FY 2023 | 1,862 | — | — |
| FY 2022 | 2,238 | — | — |
| FY 2021 | 2,436 | — | — |
Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 10,438 — award counts are complete.
- NORTH CAROLINA STATE UNIVERSITY $7,674,141 · FY 2026
- VANDERBILT UNIVERSITY $4,000,000 · FY 2025
- NORTH DAKOTA STATE UNIVERSITY $3,848,048 · FY 2025
- CALIFORNIA INSTITUTE OF TECHNOLOGY $3,000,000 · FY 2025
- NORTHWESTERN UNIVERSITY $3,000,000 · FY 2025
Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 19, 2026
Assistance listing 47.070 · Computer and Information Science and Engineering
Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (47.070), not just this notice.
| Fiscal year | Awards | Median award | Middle half |
|---|---|---|---|
| FY 2026 (so far) | 647 | $358,200 | $187,638 – $481,247 |
| FY 2025 | 1,559 | $320,881 | $200,061 – $597,771 |
| FY 2024 | 1,919 | — | — |
| FY 2023 | 2,177 | — | — |
| FY 2022 | 2,045 | — | — |
| FY 2021 | 1,910 | — | — |
Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 10,257 — award counts are complete.
- THE ALLEN INSTITUTE FOR ARTIFICIAL INTELLIGENCE $18,113,645 · FY 2025
- UNIVERSITY OF CALIFORNIA, SAN DIEGO $11,000,000 · FY 2026
- CARNEGIE-MELLON UNIVERSITY $10,000,000 · FY 2026
- THE MORGRIDGE INSTITUTE FOR RESEARCH, INC. $9,000,000 · FY 2026
- UNIVERSITY OF CALIFORNIA, LOS ANGELES $9,000,000 · FY 2026
Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 5, 2026
Change history
Since we first indexed it- Aug 1, 2026 Grant announcement document replaced
- Jul 25, 2026 Grant announcement document replaced
- Jul 21, 2026 Grant announcement document replaced
- Jul 18, 2026 Grant announcement document replaced