Skip to content
Simpler Grants

No. RFA-AG-26-010 · National Institutes of Health

Open

NIA Expanding Research in AD/ADRD (ERA) Postbaccalaureate Research Education Program (R25 Independent Clinical Trial Not Allowed)

Dealbreakers No cost share required Audit: not stated
Not reimbursement-only
“Indirect Costs (also known as Facilities & Administrative [F&A] Costs) are reimbursed at 8% of modified total direct costs” — From the announcement
Award range
Up to $400,000
Expected awards
Not specified
Application deadline
May 26, 2027
Posted
Sep 2, 2025
Last verified
8 days ago

At a glance

AI summary

This program funds research education experiences focused on Alzheimer’s disease and related dementias, with independent research projects and mentoring for recent baccalaureates. Eligible applicants include many U.S. organizations such as higher education institutions, nonprofits, governments, and small businesses, but foreign organizations and foreign components are not allowed. NIA intends to fund up to 5 new awards each year in FY 2027 and FY 2028, with direct costs up to $400,000 per year and a maximum project period of five years. No cost sharing is required, and applications are intended primarily for U.S. citizens and permanent residents with a baccalaureate degree.

AI-generated summary — verify against the announcement

What it funds

  • Health
  • Training, Fellowship & Career Development
  • Researchers & Scholars
  • Students & Learners (K-12 and Postsecondary)
  • Aging, Dementia & Caregiving
  • Biomedical & Disease Research
  • STEM Education & Research Training
Official description from grants.gov

This Notice of Funding Opportunity Announcement (NOFO) invites R25 applications to support the development and implementation of research education programs for recent baccalaureates from all backgrounds, including those from groups underrepresented in the biomedical and behavioral sciences. It is essential to expand and broaden the skilled Alzheimers Disease (AD) and Alzheimers Disease and Related Dementias (ADRD) research workforce and provide exposure to AD/ADRD research to individuals early in their careers. The proposed research education programs will support intensive research experiences in the AD/ADRD field with the goal of preparing recent baccalaureates to transition into strong, research-focused advanced degree programs or competitive private sector research careers in AD-related disciplines.

Who can apply

  • City or township governments
  • County governments
  • For-profit organizations other than small businesses
  • Independent school districts
  • Native American tribal governments (Federally recognized)
  • Native American tribal organizations (other than Federally recognized)
  • Nonprofits with 501(c)(3) status (other than higher education)
  • Nonprofits without 501(c)(3) status (other than higher education)
  • Others
  • Private institutions of higher education
  • Public and State controlled institutions of higher education
  • Public housing authorities / Indian housing authorities
  • Small businesses
  • Special district governments
  • State governments
Geographic restriction None found in the announcement — likely nationwide

Program history

USASpending.gov

Assistance listing 93.866 · Aging Research

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.866), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 795 $493,972 $248,999 – $713,195
FY 2025 1,033 $643,089 $467,538 – $1,733,010
FY 2024 1,560
FY 2023 1,539
FY 2022 1,715
FY 2021 1,595

For comparison, this notice advertises Up to $400,000.

Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 8,237 — award counts are complete.

Who wins it Higher education (6,015), Nonprofit (1,370), Business (538) of 8,237 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states CA (153) · NY (110) · MA (100) · TX (57) · PA (41)
Largest recent awards
  1. REGENTS OF THE UNIVERSITY OF MICHIGAN $15,345,206 · FY 2026
  2. UNIVERSITY OF UTAH $10,793,501 · FY 2025
  3. THE TRUSTEES OF COLUMBIA UNIVERSITY IN THE CITY OF NEW YORK $10,223,348 · FY 2026
  4. SUTTER BAY HOSPITALS $9,466,491 · FY 2025
  5. TUFTS MEDICAL CENTER PARENT, INC. $8,296,115 · FY 2026

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 23, 2026