Skip to content
Simpler Grants

No. 23-580 · U.S. National Science Foundation

Open

Infrastructure Capacity for Biological Research

Dealbreakers No cost share required Audit: not stated Reimbursement-only: not stated
Award range
$25,000 – $1,200,000
Expected awards
~60
Application deadline
No deadline listed
Posted
Apr 21, 2023
Last verified
Today

At a glance

AI summary

This program funds tools, products, services, and major improvements that expand research infrastructure for biology, including cyberinfrastructure, biological collections, and biological field stations and marine laboratories. It also accepts planning proposals and workshops to help coordinate infrastructure needs, but it does not fund instrumentation or infrastructure for a single project, lab, or institution. Eligible applicants are U.S.-based two- and four-year colleges and universities, including community colleges, and certain U.S.-based nonprofit non-academic organizations such as museums, observatories, research labs, and professional societies. No cost-share requirement is stated, and there are no limits on who may serve as PI or on the number of proposals per organization or per PI/co-PI. Award counts, sizes, and durations are not specified and depend on available funds and proposal quality.

AI-generated summary — verify against the announcement

What it funds

  • Science and Technology and other Research and Development
  • Infrastructure, Construction & Shared Facilities
  • Planning & Coordination
  • Researchers & Scholars
  • Engineering, Physical & Mathematical Sciences
  • Research Infrastructure, Instrumentation & Data
Official description from grants.gov

The Infrastructure Capacity for Biological Research (Capacity) Program supports the implementation of, scaling of, or major improvements to research tools, products, and services that advance contemporary biology in any research area supported by the Directorate forBiological Sciences at NSF. The Capacity Program focuses on building capacity in research infrastructure that is broadly applicable to a wide range of researchers in three programmatic areas: Cyberinfrastructure, Biological Collections, and Biological Field Stations and Marine Laboratories. This program will also accept proposals for planning activities or workshops to facilitate coordination that may be necessary in building capacity in infrastructure that meets the needs of a research community. Areas not included in this program are instrumentation (PIs should submit to the MRI program) and, projects that develop infrastructure for a specific research project, laboratory, or institution (PIs should submitted to the relevant BIO programs that would normally support that research). Projects are expected to produce quality products, result in important science outcomes that will be achieved by the users of the resource, be openly accessible to a broad scientific and education community, and serve a community of researchers beyond a single research team.

Who can apply

  • Others
Geographic restriction None found in the announcement — likely nationwide

Program history

USASpending.gov

Assistance listing 47.074 · Biological Sciences

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (47.074), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 458 $570,595 $339,784 – $897,764
FY 2025 826 $501,517 $345,101 – $859,237
FY 2024 1,075
FY 2023 1,137
FY 2022 1,240
FY 2021 1,243

For comparison, this notice advertises $25,000 – $1,200,000.

Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 5,979 — award counts are complete.

Who wins it Higher education (4,952), Business (476), Individuals (460) of 5,979 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states CA (111) · NY (70) · TX (46) · PA (31) · MA (25)
Largest recent awards
  1. RESEARCH FOUNDATION FOR THE STATE UNIVERSITY OF NEW YORK, THE $2,999,999 · FY 2025
  2. UNIVERSITY OF GEORGIA RESEARCH FOUNDATION, INC. $2,514,000 · FY 2025
  3. UNIVERSITY OF MARYLAND, COLLEGE PARK $2,432,713 · FY 2025
  4. CLEMSON UNIVERSITY $2,400,000 · FY 2025
  5. THE PENNSYLVANIA STATE UNIVERSITY $2,200,000 · FY 2025

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 5, 2026

Change history

Since we first indexed it
  1. Jul 25, 2026 Grant announcement document replaced