Skip to content
Simpler Grants

No. PAR-27-112 · National Institutes of Health

Open

Paul B. Beeson Emerging Leaders Career Development Award in Aging (K76 Clinical Trial Not Allowed)

Dealbreakers No cost share required Audit: not stated Reimbursement-only: not stated
Award range
Not specified
Expected awards
Not specified
Application deadline
Jun 12, 2028
Posted
Sep 1, 2026
Last verified
8 days ago

At a glance

No plain-language summary yet for this grant — the official description below is the best source.

What it funds

  • Health
  • Training, Fellowship & Career Development
  • Educators & Health/Public-Service Workforce
  • Older Adults & Family Caregivers
  • Researchers & Scholars
  • Aging, Dementia & Caregiving
  • Biomedical & Disease Research
  • Health Care Delivery, Access & Workforce
Official description from grants.gov

The National Institute on Aging (NIA) intends to publish a Notice of Funding Opportunity (NOFO) that uses the NIH Emerging Leaders Career Development Award to administer the Paul B. Beeson Emerging Leaders Career Development Award in Aging program. This NOFO invites early-stage physicians and other health professional investigators with a commitment to aging and/or aging-related diseases to apply for this award with the goal of advancing their research and leadership skills in their specialty and in the broader field of aging and geriatrics research. NIA is pursuing this initiative to recruit early-stage investigators who have successfully competed for a research grant and begun to establish research programs and who, through this award, will be ready to assume leadership roles in their field of expertise and be poised to change theory, practice, and health outcomes related to the health of older individuals. Unlike other mentored K awards, candidates for this award must have received competitively awarded research support as a Program Director/Primary Investigator (PD/PI) at the faculty level or have otherwise leveraged faculty-level research support to develop an independent line of research. They must show evidence of leadership in the clinical or research domain. Applications are not being solicited at this time. Notice is being provided to allow potential applicants sufficient time to develop meaningful collaborations and responsive projects. This NOFO intends to utilize the K76 activity code. Investigators with expertise and insights into this area of aging research are encouraged to begin to consider applying for this new NOFO.

Who can apply

  • City or township governments
  • County governments
  • For-profit organizations other than small businesses
  • Independent school districts
  • Native American tribal governments (Federally recognized)
  • Native American tribal organizations (other than Federally recognized)
  • Nonprofits with 501(c)(3) status (other than higher education)
  • Nonprofits without 501(c)(3) status (other than higher education)
  • Others
  • Private institutions of higher education
  • Public and State controlled institutions of higher education
  • Public housing authorities / Indian housing authorities
  • Small businesses
  • Special district governments
  • State governments
Geographic restriction None found in the announcement — likely nationwide
Set-aside Set aside or prioritized for: Faith-based organization
“Faith-based or Community-based Organizations” — From the announcement

Program history

USASpending.gov

Assistance listing 93.866 · Aging Research

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.866), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 795 $493,972 $248,999 – $713,195
FY 2025 1,033 $643,089 $467,538 – $1,733,010
FY 2024 1,560
FY 2023 1,539
FY 2022 1,715
FY 2021 1,595

Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 8,237 — award counts are complete.

Who wins it Higher education (6,015), Nonprofit (1,370), Business (538) of 8,237 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states CA (153) · NY (110) · MA (100) · TX (57) · PA (41)
Largest recent awards
  1. REGENTS OF THE UNIVERSITY OF MICHIGAN $15,345,206 · FY 2026
  2. UNIVERSITY OF UTAH $10,793,501 · FY 2025
  3. THE TRUSTEES OF COLUMBIA UNIVERSITY IN THE CITY OF NEW YORK $10,223,348 · FY 2026
  4. SUTTER BAY HOSPITALS $9,466,491 · FY 2025
  5. TUFTS MEDICAL CENTER PARENT, INC. $8,296,115 · FY 2026

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 23, 2026

Change history

Since we first indexed it
  1. Sep 2, 2026 Status: forecasted → open
  2. Sep 2, 2026 Deadline set: Jun 12, 2028
  3. Sep 1, 2026 Title updated