No. USDA-NIFA-AFRI-011134 · National Institute of Food and Agriculture
Agriculture and Food Research Initiative Competitive Grants Program Foundational and Applied Science Program
Not reimbursement-only
“The Automated Standard Application for Payments, operated by the Department of Treasury, Bureau of Fiscal Service, is the designated payment system for awards resulting from this RFA.” — From the announcement
- Award range
- $10,000 – $10,000,000
- Expected awards
- Not specified
- Application deadline
- Dec 31, 2026
- Posted
- Aug 1, 2025
- Last verified
- Yesterday
At a glance
AI summaryThis program funds competitive research, education, extension, and integrated projects in food and agricultural sciences across six priority areas, including plant and animal health, food safety, bioenergy, agricultural technology, and rural economies. Eligible applicants and project types vary by program area, but the text includes research-only, integrated, education-only, extension-only, workshop, seed, equipment, and sabbatical grants in some areas. For the plant production and plant products area, awards range up to $650,000 for research projects, up to $750,000 for integrated projects, up to $300,000 for seed grants, and $50,000 for workshop and equipment grants; for plant pests and beneficial species, awards range up to $750,000 for standard grants, up to $900,000 with specific partnerships, up to $300,000 for seed grants, and $50,000 for workshop and equipment grants. The text does not state any cost-share requirement. Some topics are limited to specific program areas, such as plant-focused work in agriculture systems, and livestock is excluded from the foundational plant production area.
AI-generated summary — verify against the announcement
What it funds
Official description from grants.gov
The AFRI Foundational and Applied Science Program supports grants in six AFRI priority areas to advance knowledge in both fundamental and applied sciences important to agriculture. The six priority areas are: Plant Health and Production and Plant Products; Animal Health and Production and Animal Products; Food Safety, Nutrition, and Health; Bioenergy, Natural Resources, and Environment; Agriculture Systems and Technology; and Agriculture Economics and Rural Communities. Research-only, extension-only, and integrated research, education and/or extension projects are solicited in this Request for Applications (RFA). See Foundational and Applied Science RFA for specific detail.
Who can apply
- Others
“Eligible applicants for Integrated Projects include: a) colleges and universities; b) 1994 Land-Grant Institutions; and c) Hispanic-serving agricultural colleges and universities” — From the announcement
Program history
USASpending.govAssistance listing 10.310 · Agriculture and Food Research Initiative (AFRI)
Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (10.310), not just this notice.
| Fiscal year | Awards | Median award | Middle half |
|---|---|---|---|
| FY 2026 (so far) | 445 | $591,473 | $298,480 – $659,749 |
| FY 2025 | 273 | $300,000 | $225,000 – $649,999 |
| FY 2024 | 806 | $521,905 | $225,000 – $650,000 |
| FY 2023 | 1,026 | — | — |
| FY 2022 | 866 | — | — |
| FY 2021 | 1,135 | — | — |
For comparison, this notice advertises $10,000 – $10,000,000.
Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 4,551 — award counts are complete.
- KANSAS STATE UNIVERSITY $10,000,000 · FY 2025
- NEW MEXICO STATE UNIVERSITY $10,000,000 · FY 2025
- OHIO STATE UNIVERSITY, THE $10,000,000 · FY 2025
- TEXAS A&M AGRILIFE RESEARCH $10,000,000 · FY 2025
- UNIVERSITY OF FLORIDA $9,990,000 · FY 2025
Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 24, 2026