Skip to content
Simpler Grants

No. DFOP0019410 · Bureau of African Affairs

Open

U.S.-Africa Strategic Investment Program

Dealbreakers Cost share: not stated Audit: not stated Reimbursement-only: not stated
Award range
$5,000,000 – $50,000,000
Expected awards
Not specified
Application deadline
May 31, 2027
Posted
Aug 19, 2026
Last verified
5 days ago

At a glance

No plain-language summary yet for this grant — the official description below is the best source.

What it funds

  • Business and Commerce
Official description from grants.gov

The U.S.-Africa Strategic Investment Program advances America's national interests by harnessing market-based, private sector-led growth across two strategic focus areas: Critical Minerals Investment and Commercial Diplomacy Acceleration. This program seeks market-based solutions that strengthen the environment for foreign investment in sub-Saharan Africa through transparent and competitive processes, creating sustainable economic growth in two strategic focus areas. Projects must demonstrate clear, measurable benefits to one or more sub-Saharan countries, such as increased investment from high-quality U.S. and U.S.-aligned companies. Applicants are also encouraged to identify how their projects create conditions that enable U.S. commercial participation.

Who can apply

  • For-profit organizations other than small businesses
  • Nonprofits with 501(c)(3) status (other than higher education)
  • Nonprofits without 501(c)(3) status (other than higher education)
  • Others
  • Private institutions of higher education
  • Public and State controlled institutions of higher education
  • Small businesses
Geographic restriction None found in the announcement — likely nationwide

Program history

USASpending.gov

Assistance listing 19.989 · State/African Regional - Other Economic Support Funds (ESF) Projects/Programs

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (19.989), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 0
FY 2025 1 $1,249,997 $1,249,997 – $1,249,997
FY 2024 26 $100,000 $50,000 – $330,882
FY 2023 3 $246,657 $145,829 – $2,591,960
FY 2022 4 $566,326 $283,719 – $864,004
FY 2021 0

For comparison, this notice advertises $5,000,000 – $50,000,000.

Who wins it Nonprofit (10), Higher education (3), Individuals (3) of 34 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states MA (4) · DC (3) · NY (3) · CA (1) · LA (1)
Largest recent awards
  1. AFRICAN LEGAL SUPPORT FACILITY $4,937,262 · FY 2023
  2. UNITED NATIONS EDUCATIONAL, SCIENTIFIC AND CULTURAL ORGANISATION $2,170,300 · FY 2024
  3. THE MITRE CORPORATION $1,249,997 · FY 2025
  4. CENTER FOR ADVANCED DEFENSE STUDIES, INC. (THE) $1,183,800 · FY 2024
  5. INTERNATIONAL CENTER FOR JOURNALISTS INC $986,500 · FY 2024

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 13, 2026

Change history

Since we first indexed it
  1. Aug 29, 2026 Grant announcement document replaced