Skip to content
Simpler Grants

No. 24-503 · U.S. National Science Foundation

Open

Research Experiences for Teachers (RET) in Engineering and Computer Science

Dealbreakers No cost share required Audit: not stated Reimbursement-only: not stated
Award range
From $600,000
Expected awards
Not specified
Application deadline
Oct 14, 2026
Posted
Oct 31, 2023
Last verified
5 days ago

At a glance

No plain-language summary yet for this grant — the official description below is the best source.

What it funds

  • Science and Technology and other Research and Development
  • Training, Fellowship & Career Development
  • Educators & Health/Public-Service Workforce
  • STEM Education & Research Training
Official description from grants.gov

The Research Experiences for Teachers (RET) in Engineering and Computer Science program supports authentic summer research experiences for K-14 educators to foster long-term collaborations between universities, community colleges, school districts, and industry partners. With this solicitation, the Directorates for Engineering (ENG) and Computer and Information Science and Engineering (CISE) focus on a reciprocal exchange of expertise between K-14 educators and research faculty and (when applicable) industry mentors. K-14 educators will enhance their scientific disciplinary knowledge in engineering or computer science and translate their research experiences into classroom activities and curricula to broaden their students’ awareness of and participation in computing and engineering pathways. At the same time, the hosting research faculty will deepen their understanding of classroom practices, current curricula, pedagogy, and K-14 educational environments.

Who can apply

  • Others
Geographic restriction None found in the announcement — likely nationwide

Program history

USASpending.gov

Assistance listing 47.041 · Engineering

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (47.041), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 604 $407,608 $200,000 – $550,000
FY 2025 1,537 $389,666 $282,237 – $549,621
FY 2024 1,761
FY 2023 1,862
FY 2022 2,238
FY 2021 2,436

For comparison, this notice advertises From $600,000.

Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 10,438 — award counts are complete.

Who wins it Higher education (9,406), Business (952), Individuals (3) of 10,438 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states TX (94) · CA (88) · MI (57) · NY (56) · PA (39)
Largest recent awards
  1. NORTH CAROLINA STATE UNIVERSITY $7,674,141 · FY 2026
  2. VANDERBILT UNIVERSITY $4,000,000 · FY 2025
  3. NORTH DAKOTA STATE UNIVERSITY $3,848,048 · FY 2025
  4. CALIFORNIA INSTITUTE OF TECHNOLOGY $3,000,000 · FY 2025
  5. NORTHWESTERN UNIVERSITY $3,000,000 · FY 2025

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 19, 2026

Assistance listing 47.070 · Computer and Information Science and Engineering

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (47.070), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 647 $358,200 $187,638 – $481,247
FY 2025 1,559 $320,881 $200,061 – $597,771
FY 2024 1,919
FY 2023 2,177
FY 2022 2,045
FY 2021 1,910

For comparison, this notice advertises From $600,000.

Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 10,257 — award counts are complete.

Who wins it Higher education (9,892), Business (180), State government (6) of 10,257 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states CA (109) · NY (68) · MA (58) · FL (41) · PA (36)
Largest recent awards
  1. THE ALLEN INSTITUTE FOR ARTIFICIAL INTELLIGENCE $18,113,645 · FY 2025
  2. UNIVERSITY OF CALIFORNIA, SAN DIEGO $11,000,000 · FY 2026
  3. CARNEGIE-MELLON UNIVERSITY $10,000,000 · FY 2026
  4. THE MORGRIDGE INSTITUTE FOR RESEARCH, INC. $9,000,000 · FY 2026
  5. UNIVERSITY OF CALIFORNIA, LOS ANGELES $9,000,000 · FY 2026

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 5, 2026

Change history

Since we first indexed it
  1. Aug 10, 2026 Eligibility text updated
  2. Aug 6, 2026 Grant announcement document replaced
  3. Jul 30, 2026 Grant announcement document replaced
  4. Jul 25, 2026 Grant announcement document replaced
  5. Jul 23, 2026 Eligibility text updated