Skip to content
Simpler Grants

No. O-BJS-2026-172689 · Bureau of Justice Statistics

Open

BJS FY 2026 National Criminal History Improvement Program (NCHIP) Training and Technical Assistance

Dealbreakers Cost share: not stated Audit: not stated Reimbursement-only: not stated
Award range
$0 – $1,500,000
Expected awards
Not specified
Application deadline
Sep 28, 2026 26 days left
Posted
Aug 18, 2026
Last verified
6 days ago

At a glance

No plain-language summary yet for this grant — the official description below is the best source.

What it funds

  • Information and Statistics
Official description from grants.gov

This program will continue to support activities under the National Criminal History Improvement Program (NCHIP), the National Instant Criminal Background Check System (NICS) Act Record Improvement Program (NARIP), and portions of the Bipartisan Safer Communities Act (Pub. L. 117-159) in fiscal year (FY) 2024. Direct technical assistance is provided to states, territories, and tribal jurisdictions to ensure that records systems are developed and managed to conform to FBI standards, ensure jurisdictions are using the most appropriate technologies, and adhere to the highest standards of practice with respect to privacy and confidentiality. This program also routinely collects and evaluates performance measures to assess the level of improvement of state and national records holdings, as well as information sharing and exchanges. BJS has supported the NCHIP TTA program since 1995. This program furthers the DOJ’s mission to reduce violent crime and address gun violence by improving the accuracy, utility, and interstate accessibility of criminal-history and related records in support of national record systems and their use for name- and fingerprint-based criminal history background checks.

Who can apply

  • For-profit organizations other than small businesses
  • Nonprofits with 501(c)(3) status (other than higher education)
  • Nonprofits without 501(c)(3) status (other than higher education)
  • Private institutions of higher education
  • Public and State controlled institutions of higher education
Geographic restriction None found in the announcement — likely nationwide

Program history

USASpending.gov

Assistance listing 16.554 · National Criminal History Improvement Program (NCHIP)

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (16.554), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 46 $1,811,854 $943,205 – $2,407,020
FY 2025 0
FY 2024 61 $1,222,927 $667,596 – $1,887,123
FY 2023 68 $1,625,153 $710,781 – $2,694,717
FY 2022 64 $1,099,470 $640,433 – $1,992,595
FY 2021 47 $864,529 $478,830 – $1,754,139

For comparison, this notice advertises $0 – $1,500,000.

Who wins it State government (275), Nonprofit (1) of 286 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states CT (9) · AZ (8) · AL (6) · CO (6) · AK (4)
Largest recent awards
  1. JUDICIARY COURTS OF STATE OF MICHIGA $10,000,000 · FY 2023
  2. TEXAS DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY $7,500,000 · FY 2023
  3. VIRGINIA STATE POLICE $6,728,300 · FY 2023
  4. STATE PATROL NEBRASKA $6,012,113 · FY 2023
  5. DEPARTMENT OF JUSTICE CALIFORNIA $5,865,176 · FY 2026

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 19, 2026