No. RFA-HL-26-020 · National Institutes of Health
Catalyze: Product Definition Medical Device Prototype Optimization (R33 - Clinical Trial Not Allowed)
- Award range
- Not specified
- Expected awards
- Not specified
- Application deadline
- Dec 23, 2027
- Posted
- Nov 22, 2024
- Last verified
- 8 days ago
At a glance
AI summaryThis program funds early-stage product development for medical devices, diagnostics, and research tools related to HLBS diseases and disorders, including prototype testing or design changes, assay development, and product improvement. Only applications that do not propose clinical trials are allowed. Eligible applicants include many U.S. organizations such as nonprofits, universities, governments, for-profits, small businesses, and tribal entities, but foreign organizations are not eligible; foreign components of U.S. organizations are allowed. Awards are limited to direct costs of up to $300,000 per year, for a maximum project period of two years, and NHLBI expects up to 24 new awards across FY 2026 through FY 2028 under this notice and three companion announcements. Cost matching is expected, with at least a 0.25:1 non-federal cash match of the federal direct costs requested, and at least one Accelerator Partner with a support letter is required.
AI-generated summary — verify against the announcement
What it funds
Official description from grants.gov
The goal of the NHLBI Catalyze Program is to provide a comprehensive suite of support and services to facilitate the transition of basic science discoveries into viable diagnostic and therapeutic candidates that have been cleared for human testing, and to develop translational researchers fluent in product development and entrepreneurship. This specific Catalyze Product Definition initiative will provide the early stage translational support needed for prototype testing/design modification, assay development for diagnostic disease targets, and development of research tools for use in the treatment of HLBS diseases and disorders. Following successful completion of the program, it is expected that the potential products will be poised to move forward for in vivo testing (optimization, safety, efficacy) with additional support from NIH and/or other federal and private programs. This initiative has a companion initiative that supports development of therapeutics and combination products and is also part of a suite of innovation grants to advance projects to the point where they can meet the entry criteria for the NHLBI Catalyze Preclinical Program.
Who can apply
- City or township governments
- County governments
- For-profit organizations other than small businesses
- Independent school districts
- Native American tribal governments (Federally recognized)
- Native American tribal organizations (other than Federally recognized)
- Nonprofits with 501(c)(3) status (other than higher education)
- Nonprofits without 501(c)(3) status (other than higher education)
- Others
- Private institutions of higher education
- Public and State controlled institutions of higher education
- Public housing authorities / Indian housing authorities
- Small businesses
- Special district governments
- State governments
Program history
USASpending.govAssistance listing 93.233 · National Center on Sleep Disorders Research
Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.233), not just this notice.
No grants-family awards recorded for this program since FY 2021 — it may be new, renamed, or not yet reported to USASpending.
Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 22, 2026
Assistance listing 93.837 · Cardiovascular Diseases Research
Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.837), not just this notice.
| Fiscal year | Awards | Median award | Middle half |
|---|---|---|---|
| FY 2026 (so far) | 910 | $406,108 | $121,423 – $769,962 |
| FY 2025 | 1,358 | $638,002 | $257,444 – $1,262,955 |
| FY 2024 | 1,513 | — | — |
| FY 2023 | 1,478 | — | — |
| FY 2022 | 1,536 | — | — |
| FY 2021 | 1,389 | — | — |
Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 8,184 — award counts are complete.
- CHILDRENS HOSPITAL MEDICAL CENTER $6,452,040 · FY 2026
- KAISER FOUNDATION HOSPITALS $3,918,561 · FY 2025
- ICAHN SCHOOL OF MEDICINE AT MOUNT SINAI $3,605,083 · FY 2026
- UNIVERSITY OF PITTSBURGH - OF THE COMMONWEALTH SYSTEM OF HIGHER EDUCATION $3,229,552 · FY 2026
- NORTHERN CALIFORNIA INSTITUTE FOR RESEARCH AND EDUCATION, INC. $3,002,716 · FY 2026
Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 22, 2026
Assistance listing 93.838 · Lung Diseases Research
Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.838), not just this notice.
No grants-family awards recorded for this program since FY 2021 — it may be new, renamed, or not yet reported to USASpending.
Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 23, 2026
Assistance listing 93.839 · Blood Diseases and Resources Research
Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.839), not just this notice.
No grants-family awards recorded for this program since FY 2021 — it may be new, renamed, or not yet reported to USASpending.
Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 23, 2026