Skip to content
Simpler Grants

No. O-BJA-2026-172702 · Bureau of Justice Assistance

Open

BJA FY 2026 Comprehensive Opioid, Stimulant, and Substance Use Site-Based Program

Dealbreakers Cost share: not stated Audit: not stated Reimbursement-only: not stated
Award range
$0 – $7,000,000
Expected awards
Not specified
Application deadline
Sep 24, 2026 22 days left
Posted
Aug 17, 2026
Last verified
6 days ago

At a glance

No plain-language summary yet for this grant — the official description below is the best source.

What it funds

  • Law, Justice and Legal Services
Official description from grants.gov

This is a notice of funding opportunity (NOFO) for the BJA FY 2026 Comprehensive Opioid, Stimulant, and Substance Use Site-Based Program (COSSUP). This opportunity supports the development, implementation, or expansion of comprehensive programs in response to overdose deaths, illicit opioids, stimulants, and other substances. Through this program, state, territorial, local, and tribal governments can support law enforcement-related activities, including efforts to locate and investigate illicit activities related to the unlawful distribution of opioids; increase access to prevention programs and overdose reversal medications; and expand treatment and recovery support services in the community, within correctional facilities, and upon reentry.

Who can apply

  • City or township governments
  • County governments
  • Native American tribal governments (Federally recognized)
  • Others
  • Special district governments
  • State governments
Geographic restriction None found in the announcement — likely nationwide

Program history

USASpending.gov

Assistance listing 16.838 · Comprehensive Opioid, Stimulant, and other Substances Use Program

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (16.838), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 0
FY 2025 75 $1,300,000 $1,000,000 – $1,600,000
FY 2024 11 $750,000 $719,572 – $1,643,186
FY 2023 98 $1,290,176 $999,972 – $1,600,000
FY 2022 221 $996,944 $760,454 – $1,300,000
FY 2021 119 $886,738 $549,989 – $1,177,297

For comparison, this notice advertises $0 – $7,000,000.

Who wins it Local government (365), State government (78), Tribal government (43) of 524 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states NC (36) · OH (35) · NY (34) · WI (26) · MA (19)
Largest recent awards
  1. THE INSTITUTE FOR INTERGOVERNMENTAL RESEARCH, INC. $18,533,000 · FY 2022
  2. JBS INTERNATIONAL, INC. $9,600,000 · FY 2022
  3. CRIMINAL JUSTICE COORDINATING COUNCIL $7,000,000 · FY 2023
  4. DEPARTMENT OF JUSTICE WISCONSIN $7,000,000 · FY 2025
  5. DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY $7,000,000 · FY 2023

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 15, 2026