Skip to content
Simpler Grants

No. O-BJA-2026-172701 · Bureau of Justice Assistance

Open

BJA FY 2026 Local Law Enforcement Crime Gun Intelligence Center Integration Initiative

Dealbreakers Cost share: not stated Audit: not stated Reimbursement-only: not stated
Award range
$0 – $700,000
Expected awards
Not specified
Application deadline
Sep 24, 2026 22 days left
Posted
Aug 17, 2026
Last verified
6 days ago

At a glance

No plain-language summary yet for this grant — the official description below is the best source.

What it funds

  • Law, Justice and Legal Services
Official description from grants.gov

This is a notice of funding opportunity (NOFO) for the FY 2026 Local Law Enforcement Crime Gun Intelligence Center (CGIC) Integration Initiative. In collaboration with DOJ’s Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms and Explosives (ATF), the Local Law Enforcement Crime Gun Intelligence Center Integration Initiative supports law enforcement agencies to establish and expand CGICs to address firearm-related crime. CGICs are an interagency collaboration focused on the timely collection, management, and analysis of crime gun evidence, such as cartridge casings and semiautomatic handguns, using ATF’s National Integrated Ballistic Information Network (NIBIN) and Electronic Tracing System (eTrace). This initiative assists local law enforcement in utilizing intelligence and technology, swiftly identifying crime guns and their sources, and effectively prosecuting perpetrators.

Who can apply

  • City or township governments
  • County governments
  • Native American tribal governments (Federally recognized)
  • Native American tribal organizations (other than Federally recognized)
  • Others
  • Special district governments
  • State governments
Geographic restriction None found in the announcement — likely nationwide

Program history

USASpending.gov

Assistance listing 16.738 · Edward Byrne Memorial Justice Assistance Grant Program

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (16.738), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 4 $0 $0 – $772,120
FY 2025 996 $36,467 $17,504 – $104,693
FY 2024 201
FY 2023 1,088
FY 2022 1,961
FY 2021 129

For comparison, this notice advertises $0 – $700,000.

Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 4,379 — award counts are complete.

Who wins it Local government (3,750), State government (453), Nonprofit (72) of 4,379 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states CA (115) · FL (84) · TX (47) · VA (38) · GA (36)
Largest recent awards
  1. CALIFORNIA BOARD OF STATE AND COMMUNITY CORRECTIONS $18,234,257 · FY 2025
  2. GOVERNOR, TEXAS OFFICE OF THE $14,487,592 · FY 2025
  3. FLORIDA DEPARTMENT OF LAW ENFORCEMENT $10,717,097 · FY 2025
  4. NEW YORK STATE DIVISION OF CRIMINAL JUSTICE SERVICES $8,487,623 · FY 2025
  5. ILLINOIS CRIMINAL JUSTICE INFORMATION AUTHORITY $6,394,906 · FY 2025

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 18, 2026