Skip to content
Simpler Grants

No. O-BJA-2026-172697 · Bureau of Justice Assistance

Open

BJA FY 2026 The Kevin and Avonte Program: Reducing Injury and Death of Missing Individuals with Dementia and Developmental Disabilities

Dealbreakers Cost share: not stated Audit: not stated Reimbursement-only: not stated
Award range
$0 – $150,000
Expected awards
Not specified
Application deadline
Oct 6, 2026
Posted
Aug 17, 2026
Last verified
7 days ago

At a glance

No plain-language summary yet for this grant — the official description below is the best source.

What it funds

  • Law, Justice and Legal Services
Official description from grants.gov

This is a notice of funding opportunity (NOFO) for the BJA FY 2026 Kevin and Avonte Program: Reducing Injury and Death of Missing Individuals with Dementia and Developmental Disabilities. This opportunity supports public safety efforts to reduce deaths and injuries of individuals with forms of dementia, such as Alzheimer’s disease, or developmental disabilities, such as autism, who, due to their condition, wander from safe environments. This program provides funding to law enforcement, other public safety agencies, and health care agencies to implement locative technologies that track missing individuals. It also provides funding to such agencies and partnering nonprofit organizations to develop or operate programs to prevent wandering, increase safety for vulnerable individuals, and facilitate rescues.

Who can apply

  • City or township governments
  • County governments
  • Independent school districts
  • Native American tribal governments (Federally recognized)
  • Nonprofits with 501(c)(3) status (other than higher education)
  • Nonprofits without 501(c)(3) status (other than higher education)
  • Others
  • Private institutions of higher education
  • Public and State controlled institutions of higher education
  • Special district governments
  • State governments
Geographic restriction None found in the announcement — likely nationwide

Program history

USASpending.gov

Assistance listing 16.015 · Missing Alzheimer's Disease Patient Assistance Program

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (16.015), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 0
FY 2025 0
FY 2024 15 $150,000 $149,995 – $150,000
FY 2023 20 $149,415 $127,122 – $149,955
FY 2022 32 $139,562 $104,467 – $149,216
FY 2021 0

For comparison, this notice advertises $0 – $150,000.

Who wins it Local government (38), Nonprofit (21), State government (5) of 67 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states FL (12) · MD (7) · CA (5) · MA (5) · NJ (5)
Largest recent awards
  1. AUTISM SOCIETY OF AMERICA INC $1,134,202 · FY 2022
  2. ALZHEIMER'S PROJECT, INC. $150,000 · FY 2022
  3. AREA AGENCY ON AGING OF CENTRAL FLORIDA, INC $150,000 · FY 2023
  4. AUTISM SOCIETY CENTRAL VIRGINIA CHAPTER, INC. $150,000 · FY 2023
  5. AUTISM SOCIETY OF MARYLAND, INC. $150,000 · FY 2024

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 18, 2026