No. 26-514 · U.S. National Science Foundation
Engineering (ENG): Electrical, Communications, and Computing Systems (ECCS)
- Award range
- Not specified
- Expected awards
- Not specified
- Application deadline
- Aug 19, 2076
- Posted
- Aug 17, 2026
- Last verified
- Today
At a glance
No plain-language summary yet for this grant — the official description below is the best source.
What it funds
Official description from grants.gov
The U.S. National Science Foundation Directorate for Engineering (NSF ENG) supports foundational research for electrical, communications and computing systems through the following programs: The Electronic, Photonic, Magnetic, and Quantum Devices (EPMQD) program supports foundational engineering research on novel classical and quantum devices, exploring matter’s electronic, photonic, and magnetic properties to enable new applications. The Circuits and Systems for Communications and Sensing (CSCS) program supports foundational engineering research on classical and quantum aspects of advanced components, systems, and signal processing for communications and sensing. The Energy, Power, Control, and Learning (EPCL) program supports foundational research on systems and control, learning, optimization, artificial intelligence, and networked multi-agent systems, and their applications, with emphasis on power and energy systems. NSF ENG anticipates a portfolio of ENG: Electrical, Communications, and Computing Systems (ECCS) awards with a range of budgets and durations. Estimated program budget, number of awards, and average award size/duration are subject to the availability of funds. NSF ENG is particularly interested in intellectually ambitious and potentially transformative foundational research. Proposals need not promise a near-term product, deployment, or commercial outcome, nor need they address later-stage development to be competitive.
Who can apply
- Unrestricted
Program history
USASpending.govAssistance listing 47.041 · Engineering
Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (47.041), not just this notice.
| Fiscal year | Awards | Median award | Middle half |
|---|---|---|---|
| FY 2026 (so far) | 604 | $407,608 | $200,000 – $550,000 |
| FY 2025 | 1,537 | $389,666 | $282,237 – $549,621 |
| FY 2024 | 1,761 | — | — |
| FY 2023 | 1,862 | — | — |
| FY 2022 | 2,238 | — | — |
| FY 2021 | 2,436 | — | — |
Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 10,438 — award counts are complete.
- NORTH CAROLINA STATE UNIVERSITY $7,674,141 · FY 2026
- VANDERBILT UNIVERSITY $4,000,000 · FY 2025
- NORTH DAKOTA STATE UNIVERSITY $3,848,048 · FY 2025
- CALIFORNIA INSTITUTE OF TECHNOLOGY $3,000,000 · FY 2025
- NORTHWESTERN UNIVERSITY $3,000,000 · FY 2025
Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 19, 2026
Change history
Since we first indexed it- Aug 20, 2026 Grant announcement document replaced
- Aug 20, 2026 Deadline moved: Aug 17, 2076 → Aug 19, 2076