Skip to content
Simpler Grants

No. PAR-25-290 · National Institutes of Health

Open

Utilizing Invasive Recording and Stimulating Opportunities in Humans to Advance Neural Circuitry Understanding of Mental Health Disorders (R01 Clinical Trial Optional)

Dealbreakers No cost share required Audit: not stated Reimbursement-only: not stated
Award range
Not specified
Expected awards
Not specified
Application deadline
Jan 7, 2028
Posted
Nov 22, 2024
Last verified
Yesterday

At a glance

AI summary

This program funds research using invasive neural recordings and stimulation in humans to study the brain circuits underlying mental health disorders, with a focus on questions that could help inform future therapies. Eligible applicants include a wide range of U.S. and non-U.S. organizations, including nonprofits, universities, governments, for-profit organizations, and foreign organizations. Awards are through grants, the application budget is not limited, the project period can be up to 5 years, and the number of awards depends on NIH appropriations and meritorious applications. No cost sharing is required, and foreign organizations and foreign components of U.S. organizations are allowed.

AI-generated summary — verify against the announcement

What it funds

  • Health
  • Research & Discovery
  • Researchers & Scholars
  • Biomedical & Disease Research
  • Mental & Behavioral Health
Official description from grants.gov

The purpose of this Notice of Funding Opportunity (NOFO) is to encourage applications to pursue invasive neural recording studies focused on mental health-relevant questions. Invasive neural recordings provide an unparalleled window into the human brain to explore the neural circuitry and neural dynamics underlying complex moods, emotions, cognitive functions, and behaviors with high spatial and temporal resolution. Additionally, the ability to stimulate, via the same electrodes, allows for direct causal tests by modulating network dynamics. This funding opportunity aims to target a gap in the scientific knowledge of neural circuit function related to mental health disorders. Researchers should target specific questions suited to invasive recording modalities that have high translational potential. Development of new technologies and therapies are outside the scope of this NOFO.

Who can apply

  • City or township governments
  • County governments
  • For-profit organizations other than small businesses
  • Independent school districts
  • Native American tribal governments (Federally recognized)
  • Native American tribal organizations (other than Federally recognized)
  • Nonprofits with 501(c)(3) status (other than higher education)
  • Nonprofits without 501(c)(3) status (other than higher education)
  • Others
  • Private institutions of higher education
  • Public and State controlled institutions of higher education
  • Public housing authorities / Indian housing authorities
  • Small businesses
  • Special district governments
  • State governments
Geographic restriction None found in the announcement — likely nationwide

Program history

USASpending.gov

Assistance listing 93.242 · Mental Health Research Grants

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.242), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 491 $451,000 $167,702 – $811,948
FY 2025 600 $731,738 $320,544 – $1,460,736
FY 2024 883
FY 2023 898
FY 2022 986
FY 2021 945

Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 4,803 — award counts are complete.

Who wins it Higher education (3,532), Nonprofit (816), Business (215) of 4,803 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states CA (166) · NY (127) · MA (104) · PA (79) · IL (22)
Largest recent awards
  1. MASSACHUSETTS INSTITUTE OF TECHNOLOGY $21,714,815 · FY 2025
  2. OHIO STATE UNIVERSITY, THE $19,515,757 · FY 2025
  3. ALBERT EINSTEIN COLLEGE OF MEDICINE $18,270,924 · FY 2025
  4. DUKE UNIVERSITY $15,039,330 · FY 2025
  5. ICAHN SCHOOL OF MEDICINE AT MOUNT SINAI $12,007,972 · FY 2026

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 6, 2026