Skip to content
Simpler Grants

No. PAR-25-415 · National Institutes of Health

Open

Support for Research Excellence First Independent Research (SuRE-First) Award (R16 - Clinical Trial Not Allowed)

Dealbreakers No cost share required Audit: not stated
Not reimbursement-only
“Grant: A financial assistance mechanism providing money, property, or both to an eligible entity to carry out an approved project or activity.” — From the announcement
Award range
Up to $125,000
Expected awards
Not specified
Application deadline
Sep 7, 2028
Posted
Jun 13, 2025
Last verified
Yesterday

At a glance

AI summary

This program funds investigator-initiated biomedical research at eligible U.S. higher education institutions, with student participation required. It is for full-time faculty investigators who have not had any prior independent external research grants, and each applicant must have a U.S.-based mentor with relevant expertise and funding experience. Applicants may request up to $125,000 in direct costs per year for up to 4 years, and no cost sharing is required. Foreign organizations, foreign components, and clinical trials are not allowed. Eligible institutions must award biomedical science degrees, have received no more than $6 million per year in NIH research project grant total costs in each of the prior two fiscal years, and enroll at least 25% Pell grant-supported undergraduates.

AI-generated summary — verify against the announcement

What it funds

  • Education
  • Environment
  • Food and Nutrition
  • Health
  • Income Security and Social Services
  • Research & Discovery
  • Training, Fellowship & Career Development
  • Researchers & Scholars
  • Students & Learners (K-12 and Postsecondary)
  • Biomedical & Disease Research
  • Higher Education Access, Institutions & Humanities
Official description from grants.gov

The SuRE program supports research capacity building at eligible higher education institutions through funding investigator-initiated biomedical research inbasic, social, clinical, behavioral, or translational science that falls in the mission areas of the NIH. The purpose of SuRE-First awards is to provide support for investigator-initiated research at resource-limited institutions by full-time faculty who have not had any prior independent, peer-reviewed, external research grants, to furnish students with high-quality undergraduate and/or graduate research experiences, and to enhance the institutional scientific research culture.

Who can apply

  • Private institutions of higher education
  • Public and State controlled institutions of higher education
Geographic restriction None found in the announcement — likely nationwide

Program history

USASpending.gov

Assistance listing 93.113 · Environmental Health

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.113), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 149 $379,262 $119,524 – $644,459
FY 2025 210 $431,750 $254,376 – $1,187,118
FY 2024 281 $583,878 $300,000 – $1,672,899
FY 2023 242 $587,197 $216,320 – $1,842,227
FY 2022 258 $465,538 $259,613 – $2,117,638
FY 2021 239

For comparison, this notice advertises Up to $125,000.

Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 1,379 — award counts are complete.

Who wins it Higher education (1,027), Nonprofit (157), Business (146) of 1,379 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states CA (132) · NY (120) · MA (87) · NC (66) · TX (40)
Largest recent awards
  1. VANDERBILT UNIVERSITY MEDICAL CENTER $32,769,976 · FY 2023
  2. NORTH CAROLINA STATE UNIVERSITY $10,038,112 · FY 2023
  3. THE TRUSTEES OF COLUMBIA UNIVERSITY IN THE CITY OF NEW YORK $9,460,610 · FY 2022
  4. THE JOHNS HOPKINS UNIVERSITY $9,120,320 · FY 2022
  5. TRUSTEES OF BOSTON UNIVERSITY $8,944,898 · FY 2023

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 16, 2026

Assistance listing 93.121 · Oral Diseases and Disorders Research

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.121), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 155 $429,000 $306,500 – $571,863
FY 2025 277 $429,000 $310,295 – $829,259
FY 2024 301 $491,193 $310,985 – $1,283,003
FY 2023 320 $444,000 $298,673 – $1,756,575
FY 2022 295
FY 2021 305

For comparison, this notice advertises Up to $125,000.

Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 1,653 — award counts are complete.

Who wins it Higher education (1,224), Nonprofit (242), Business (71) of 1,653 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states CA (124) · PA (83) · MA (82) · NY (70) · TX (35)
Largest recent awards
  1. TRUSTEES OF THE UNIVERSITY OF PENNSYLVANIA, THE $6,128,166 · FY 2023
  2. THE GENERAL HOSPITAL CORPORATION $4,961,133 · FY 2023
  3. RESEARCH FOUNDATION OF THE CITY UNIVERSITY OF NEW YORK $4,002,156 · FY 2023
  4. DANA-FARBER CANCER INSTITUTE, INC. $3,742,682 · FY 2025
  5. TRUSTEES OF INDIANA UNIVERSITY $3,736,064 · FY 2023

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 16, 2026

Assistance listing 93.172 · Human Genome Research

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.172), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 59 $719,909 $248,971 – $2,040,991
FY 2025 100 $491,802 $283,764 – $1,360,276
FY 2024 180 $737,013 $395,019 – $1,360,662
FY 2023 179 $766,801 $392,035 – $2,341,997
FY 2022 175 $894,953 $401,519 – $2,830,080
FY 2021 215 $1,999,233 $431,511 – $5,047,468

For comparison, this notice advertises Up to $125,000.

Who wins it Higher education (576), Nonprofit (196), Business (100) of 908 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states CA (163) · MA (125) · NY (103) · PA (43) · NC (17)
Largest recent awards
  1. BAYLOR COLLEGE OF MEDICINE $26,395,336 · FY 2021
  2. UNIVERSITY OF NORTH CAROLINA AT CHAPEL HILL $24,964,130 · FY 2021
  3. THE LELAND STANFORD JUNIOR UNIVERSITY $22,977,417 · FY 2021
  4. THE BROAD INSTITUTE, INC $22,339,977 · FY 2021
  5. JACKSON LABORATORY $21,311,202 · FY 2021

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 16, 2026

Assistance listing 93.173 · Research Related to Deafness and Communication Disorders

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.173), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 170 $416,419 $134,042 – $648,731
FY 2025 238 $418,797 $187,647 – $1,008,401
FY 2024 283 $464,268 $152,978 – $1,268,772
FY 2023 260 $689,002 $272,758 – $1,868,608
FY 2022 286 $570,000 $145,264 – $2,113,099
FY 2021 246

For comparison, this notice advertises Up to $125,000.

Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 1,483 — award counts are complete.

Who wins it Higher education (1,127), Nonprofit (192), Business (83) of 1,483 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states MA (107) · CA (101) · NY (89) · PA (78) · MD (30)
Largest recent awards
  1. REGENTS OF THE UNIVERSITY OF MINNESOTA $4,621,171 · FY 2022
  2. UNIVERSITY OF ARKANSAS FOR MEDICAL SCIENCES $4,589,310 · FY 2023
  3. THE JOHNS HOPKINS UNIVERSITY $4,474,844 · FY 2022
  4. OREGON HEALTH & SCIENCE UNIVERSITY $3,863,432 · FY 2022
  5. THE LELAND STANFORD JUNIOR UNIVERSITY $3,579,023 · FY 2022

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 16, 2026

Assistance listing 93.242 · Mental Health Research Grants

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.242), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 491 $451,000 $167,702 – $811,948
FY 2025 600 $731,738 $320,544 – $1,460,736
FY 2024 883
FY 2023 898
FY 2022 986
FY 2021 945

For comparison, this notice advertises Up to $125,000.

Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 4,803 — award counts are complete.

Who wins it Higher education (3,532), Nonprofit (816), Business (215) of 4,803 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states CA (166) · NY (127) · MA (104) · PA (79) · IL (22)
Largest recent awards
  1. MASSACHUSETTS INSTITUTE OF TECHNOLOGY $21,714,815 · FY 2025
  2. OHIO STATE UNIVERSITY, THE $19,515,757 · FY 2025
  3. ALBERT EINSTEIN COLLEGE OF MEDICINE $18,270,924 · FY 2025
  4. DUKE UNIVERSITY $15,039,330 · FY 2025
  5. ICAHN SCHOOL OF MEDICINE AT MOUNT SINAI $12,007,972 · FY 2026

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 6, 2026

Assistance listing 93.273 · Alcohol Research Programs

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.273), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 100 $308,491 $157,932 – $601,291
FY 2025 175 $440,566 $194,934 – $1,114,948
FY 2024 237 $420,927 $153,632 – $1,110,810
FY 2023 327 $619,032 $350,328 – $1,806,361
FY 2022 314 $897,120 $369,477 – $2,547,224
FY 2021 274

For comparison, this notice advertises Up to $125,000.

Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 1,427 — award counts are complete.

Who wins it Higher education (1,103), Nonprofit (187), Business (75) of 1,427 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states CA (118) · NC (58) · NY (57) · PA (41) · TX (40)
Largest recent awards
  1. THE JOHNS HOPKINS UNIVERSITY $36,249,682 · FY 2022
  2. THE TRUSTEES OF COLUMBIA UNIVERSITY IN THE CITY OF NEW YORK $9,079,530 · FY 2022
  3. BOARD OF REGENTS OF THE UNIVERSITY OF NEBRASKA $6,335,676 · FY 2023
  4. VANDERBILT UNIVERSITY $5,361,769 · FY 2024
  5. LOHOCLA RESEARCH CORP $5,128,513 · FY 2022

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 6, 2026

Assistance listing 93.279 · Drug Use and Addiction Research Programs

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.279), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 428 $422,523 $183,034 – $700,682
FY 2025 588 $709,054 $348,214 – $1,489,059
FY 2024 714
FY 2023 724
FY 2022 740
FY 2021 606

For comparison, this notice advertises Up to $125,000.

Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 3,800 — award counts are complete.

Who wins it Higher education (2,743), Nonprofit (534), Business (366) of 3,800 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states CA (130) · MA (90) · NY (86) · PA (72) · MD (56)
Largest recent awards
  1. FLORIDA INTERNATIONAL UNIVERSITY $7,372,834 · FY 2025
  2. BETH ISRAEL DEACONESS MEDICAL CENTER, INC. $7,081,684 · FY 2025
  3. UNIVERSITY OF WASHINGTON $7,003,822 · FY 2025
  4. REACX PHARMACEUTICALS, INC. $6,900,000 · FY 2025
  5. WORCESTER POLYTECHNIC INSTITUTE $6,889,914 · FY 2025

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 18, 2026

Assistance listing 93.286 · Discovery and Applied Research for Technological Innovations to Improve Human Health

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.286), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 127 $276,000 $117,190 – $583,962
FY 2025 240 $555,997 $296,281 – $1,161,259
FY 2024 231 $589,216 $349,987 – $1,434,349
FY 2023 252 $652,889 $409,140 – $1,745,975
FY 2022 303 $691,306 $420,665 – $2,168,108
FY 2021 285

For comparison, this notice advertises Up to $125,000.

Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 1,438 — award counts are complete.

Who wins it Higher education (1,055), Nonprofit (237), Business (99) of 1,438 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states CA (133) · MA (128) · NY (69) · PA (27) · NC (26)
Largest recent awards
  1. UNIVERSITY OF ILLINOIS $6,543,053 · FY 2022
  2. ALLEN INSTITUTE $6,281,935 · FY 2023
  3. REGENTS OF THE UNIVERSITY OF CALIFORNIA, SAN FRANCISCO, THE $5,888,124 · FY 2024
  4. WASHINGTON UNIVERSITY, THE $4,858,373 · FY 2024
  5. REGENTS OF THE UNIVERSITY OF CALIFORNIA, THE $4,329,771 · FY 2023

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 18, 2026

Assistance listing 93.307 · Minority Health and Health Disparities Research

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.307), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 40 $768,076 $248,928 – $851,492
FY 2025 57 $604,863 $333,504 – $1,512,644
FY 2024 182 $465,783 $308,121 – $1,983,267
FY 2023 212 $1,299,549 $438,782 – $2,594,510
FY 2022 249 $1,408,033 $444,695 – $2,988,012
FY 2021 168 $2,071,562 $431,619 – $3,273,896

For comparison, this notice advertises Up to $125,000.

Who wins it Higher education (660), Nonprofit (111), Business (97) of 908 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states CA (114) · NY (92) · MA (45) · TX (45) · PA (26)
Largest recent awards
  1. UNIVERSITY OF CALIFORNIA, SAN DIEGO $40,426,614 · FY 2021
  2. UNIVERSITY OF NORTH CAROLINA AT CHAPEL HILL $30,744,792 · FY 2021
  3. CHILDREN'S HOSPITAL LOS ANGELES $27,816,472 · FY 2021
  4. UNIVERSITY OF ALABAMA AT BIRMINGHAM $27,671,310 · FY 2021
  5. REGENTS OF THE UNIVERSITY OF MINNESOTA $24,809,662 · FY 2021

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 18, 2026

Assistance listing 93.361 · Nursing Research

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.361), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 53 $732,795 $180,941 – $1,130,466
FY 2025 62 $675,031 $385,758 – $1,535,483
FY 2024 98 $473,202 $285,582 – $1,868,705
FY 2023 102 $758,157 $158,307 – $2,468,665
FY 2022 118 $493,973 $295,328 – $2,431,395
FY 2021 108 $478,145 $361,349 – $2,696,899

For comparison, this notice advertises Up to $125,000.

Who wins it Higher education (429), Nonprofit (54), Business (33) of 541 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states NY (48) · CA (35) · MD (32) · PA (31) · OH (25)
Largest recent awards
  1. UNIVERSITY OF CALIFORNIA, LOS ANGELES $13,344,757 · FY 2022
  2. THE REGENTS OF THE UNIVERSITY OF COLORADO $10,385,570 · FY 2025
  3. BAYLOR COLLEGE OF MEDICINE $8,282,292 · FY 2021
  4. THE LELAND STANFORD JUNIOR UNIVERSITY $6,476,031 · FY 2025
  5. UNIVERSITY OF MIAMI $4,547,851 · FY 2023

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 30, 2026

Assistance listing 93.398 · Cancer Research Manpower

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.398), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 276 $54,054 $47,103 – $150,818
FY 2025 345 $123,409 $87,964 – $287,576
FY 2024 322 $223,327 $109,842 – $537,651
FY 2023 381 $632,297 $272,352 – $830,594
FY 2022 363
FY 2021 443

For comparison, this notice advertises Up to $125,000.

Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 2,130 — award counts are complete.

Who wins it Higher education (1,636), Nonprofit (428), State government (1) of 2,130 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states MA (131) · CA (118) · NY (112) · PA (61) · NC (44)
Largest recent awards
  1. UNIVERSITY OF NORTH CAROLINA AT CHAPEL HILL $4,313,330 · FY 2024
  2. NEW YORK UNIVERSITY $2,239,066 · FY 2023
  3. SLOAN-KETTERING INSTITUTE FOR CANCER RESEARCH $1,780,430 · FY 2023
  4. THE TRUSTEES OF COLUMBIA UNIVERSITY IN THE CITY OF NEW YORK $1,674,301 · FY 2024
  5. TRUSTEES OF INDIANA UNIVERSITY $1,480,091 · FY 2024

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 22, 2026

Assistance listing 93.846 · Arthritis, Musculoskeletal and Skin Diseases Research

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.846), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 148 $377,506 $124,696 – $576,799
FY 2025 274 $432,326 $224,620 – $1,053,137
FY 2024 357 $473,099 $306,518 – $1,364,153
FY 2023 400 $611,188 $300,000 – $1,870,687
FY 2022 420
FY 2021 357

For comparison, this notice advertises Up to $125,000.

Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 1,956 — award counts are complete.

Who wins it Higher education (1,364), Nonprofit (386), Business (144) of 1,956 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states CA (115) · MA (97) · NY (92) · PA (78) · NC (52)
Largest recent awards
  1. WAKE FOREST UNIVERSITY $10,449,074 · FY 2023
  2. THE GENERAL HOSPITAL CORPORATION $5,795,791 · FY 2023
  3. REGENTS OF THE UNIVERSITY OF MICHIGAN $3,579,362 · FY 2023
  4. VANDERBILT UNIVERSITY MEDICAL CENTER $3,213,591 · FY 2026
  5. UNIVERSITY OF ALABAMA AT BIRMINGHAM $3,106,910 · FY 2023

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 23, 2026

Assistance listing 93.847 · Diabetes, Digestive, and Kidney Diseases Extramural Research

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.847), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 616 $537,141 $153,319 – $771,172
FY 2025 659 $730,832 $270,038 – $1,572,806
FY 2024 929
FY 2023 961
FY 2022 975
FY 2021 1,012

For comparison, this notice advertises Up to $125,000.

Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 5,152 — award counts are complete.

Who wins it Higher education (3,506), Nonprofit (1,046), Business (356) of 5,152 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states CA (137) · NY (98) · MA (84) · PA (74) · TX (64)
Largest recent awards
  1. BECKMAN RESEARCH INSTITUTE OF THE CITY OF HOPE $6,282,406 · FY 2026
  2. THE LELAND STANFORD JUNIOR UNIVERSITY $5,583,712 · FY 2026
  3. RECTOR & VISITORS OF THE UNIVERSITY OF VIRGINIA $5,180,852 · FY 2026
  4. NORTHWESTERN UNIVERSITY $4,764,127 · FY 2025
  5. UNIVERSITY OF SOUTH FLORIDA $4,640,761 · FY 2026

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 23, 2026

Assistance listing 93.853 · Extramural Research Programs in the Neurosciences and Neurological Disorders

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.853), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 654 $405,461 $120,825 – $587,738
FY 2025 923 $491,085 $157,949 – $1,077,840
FY 2024 1,031
FY 2023 1,194
FY 2022 1,228
FY 2021 1,132

For comparison, this notice advertises Up to $125,000.

Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 6,162 — award counts are complete.

Who wins it Higher education (4,669), Nonprofit (990), Business (259) of 6,162 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states CA (153) · NY (99) · MA (93) · PA (74) · TX (39)
Largest recent awards
  1. THE LELAND STANFORD JUNIOR UNIVERSITY $5,747,701 · FY 2025
  2. YALE UNIV $4,888,497 · FY 2025
  3. MAYO CLINIC $3,746,535 · FY 2026
  4. REGENTS OF THE UNIVERSITY OF CALIFORNIA, SAN FRANCISCO, THE $3,153,019 · FY 2025
  5. UNIVERSITY OF CALIFORNIA, LOS ANGELES $3,109,857 · FY 2025

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 23, 2026

Assistance listing 93.855 · Allergy and Infectious Diseases Research

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.855), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 1,817 $295,722 $146,402 – $737,210
FY 2025 1,596
FY 2024 1,720
FY 2023 1,711
FY 2022 1,576
FY 2021 1,857

For comparison, this notice advertises Up to $125,000.

Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 10,277 — award counts are complete.

Who wins it Higher education (7,336), Nonprofit (1,735), Business (694) of 10,277 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states CA (122) · MA (85) · NY (78) · PA (69) · TX (47)
Largest recent awards
  1. SCRIPPS RESEARCH INSTITUTE $3,679,976 · FY 2026
  2. REGENTS OF THE UNIVERSITY OF CALIFORNIA, SAN FRANCISCO, THE $3,499,366 · FY 2026
  3. UNIVERSITY OF WASHINGTON $3,414,775 · FY 2026
  4. UNIVERSITY OF FLORIDA $3,389,992 · FY 2026
  5. ALBERT EINSTEIN COLLEGE OF MEDICINE $3,204,071 · FY 2026

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 23, 2026

Assistance listing 93.859 · Biomedical Research and Research Training

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.859), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 1,048 $420,000 $325,870 – $487,506
FY 2025 1,115
FY 2024 1,171
FY 2023 1,383
FY 2022 1,574
FY 2021 1,321

For comparison, this notice advertises Up to $125,000.

Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 7,612 — award counts are complete.

Who wins it Higher education (6,024), Nonprofit (734), Business (565) of 7,612 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states CA (149) · NY (81) · TX (73) · PA (60) · MA (55)
Largest recent awards
  1. UNIVERSITY OF MISSISSIPPI MEDICAL CENTER $5,185,402 · FY 2026
  2. UNIVERSITY OF WISCONSIN SYSTEM $3,654,310 · FY 2026
  3. THE TRUSTEES OF PRINCETON UNIVERSITY $2,993,000 · FY 2026
  4. BATTELLE MEMORIAL INSTITUTE $2,843,142 · FY 2026
  5. UNIVERSITY OF LOUISVILLE $2,652,150 · FY 2026

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 23, 2026

Assistance listing 93.865 · Child Health and Human Development Extramural Research

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.865), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 386 $392,826 $79,188 – $593,582
FY 2025 665 $452,972 $178,000 – $1,225,547
FY 2024 785
FY 2023 835
FY 2022 799
FY 2021 764

For comparison, this notice advertises Up to $125,000.

Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 4,234 — award counts are complete.

Who wins it Higher education (3,137), Nonprofit (693), Business (224) of 4,234 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states CA (103) · MA (87) · PA (75) · NY (62) · MI (34)
Largest recent awards
  1. PRESIDENT AND FELLOWS OF HARVARD COLLEGE $16,115,056 · FY 2025
  2. UNIVERSITY OF MIAMI $15,385,183 · FY 2025
  3. UNIVERSITY OF WASHINGTON $6,635,347 · FY 2025
  4. GEORGE WASHINGTON UNIVERSITY (THE) $5,117,920 · FY 2025
  5. RESEARCH TRIANGLE INSTITUTE $4,847,747 · FY 2025

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 23, 2026

Assistance listing 93.866 · Aging Research

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.866), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 795 $493,972 $248,999 – $713,195
FY 2025 1,033 $643,089 $467,538 – $1,733,010
FY 2024 1,560
FY 2023 1,539
FY 2022 1,715
FY 2021 1,595

For comparison, this notice advertises Up to $125,000.

Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 8,237 — award counts are complete.

Who wins it Higher education (6,015), Nonprofit (1,370), Business (538) of 8,237 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states CA (153) · NY (110) · MA (100) · TX (57) · PA (41)
Largest recent awards
  1. REGENTS OF THE UNIVERSITY OF MICHIGAN $15,345,206 · FY 2026
  2. UNIVERSITY OF UTAH $10,793,501 · FY 2025
  3. THE TRUSTEES OF COLUMBIA UNIVERSITY IN THE CITY OF NEW YORK $10,223,348 · FY 2026
  4. SUTTER BAY HOSPITALS $9,466,491 · FY 2025
  5. TUFTS MEDICAL CENTER PARENT, INC. $8,296,115 · FY 2026

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 23, 2026

Assistance listing 93.867 · Vision Research

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.867), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 189 $440,263 $132,837 – $633,742
FY 2025 309 $464,903 $260,661 – $1,026,742
FY 2024 408 $630,967 $342,920 – $1,431,708
FY 2023 401 $771,099 $422,359 – $1,867,311
FY 2022 391
FY 2021 394

For comparison, this notice advertises Up to $125,000.

Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 2,092 — award counts are complete.

Who wins it Higher education (1,564), Nonprofit (300), Business (168) of 2,092 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states CA (182) · NY (96) · MA (90) · MD (48) · TX (48)
Largest recent awards
  1. UNIVERSITY OF CALIFORNIA, SAN DIEGO $8,283,963 · FY 2024
  2. REGENTS OF THE UNIVERSITY OF CALIFORNIA, SAN FRANCISCO, THE $5,256,090 · FY 2023
  3. OHIO STATE UNIVERSITY, THE $4,539,043 · FY 2025
  4. ALLEN INSTITUTE $4,260,011 · FY 2025
  5. THE GENERAL HOSPITAL CORPORATION $4,026,010 · FY 2024

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 23, 2026

Assistance listing 93.879 · Medical Library Assistance

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.879), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 31 $349,875 $149,897 – $642,658
FY 2025 34 $614,550 $462,000 – $823,053
FY 2024 56 $485,250 $224,711 – $995,406
FY 2023 53 $727,873 $286,324 – $1,435,500
FY 2022 61 $812,919 $413,880 – $1,390,150
FY 2021 63 $1,329,473 $351,797 – $1,651,842

For comparison, this notice advertises Up to $125,000.

Who wins it Higher education (223), Nonprofit (41), Business (17) of 298 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states CA (43) · PA (32) · MA (23) · NY (22) · IL (9)
Largest recent awards
  1. UNIVERSITY OF UTAH $11,107,283 · FY 2021
  2. UNIVERSITY OF MARYLAND, BALTIMORE $10,600,468 · FY 2021
  3. UNIVERSITY OF WASHINGTON $6,868,908 · FY 2021
  4. THE MEDICAL UNIVERSITY OF SOUTH CAROLINA $6,810,297 · FY 2021
  5. THE UNIVERSITY OF IOWA $6,236,524 · FY 2021

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 24, 2026