Skip to content
Simpler Grants

No. O-BJA-2026-172676 · Bureau of Justice Assistance

Open

BJA FY 2026 Public Safety and Mental Health Initiative

Dealbreakers Cost share: not stated Audit: not stated Reimbursement-only: not stated
Award range
$0 – $3,000,000
Expected awards
Not specified
Application deadline
Sep 25, 2026 23 days left
Posted
Aug 14, 2026
Last verified
Yesterday

At a glance

No plain-language summary yet for this grant — the official description below is the best source.

What it funds

  • Law, Justice and Legal Services
Official description from grants.gov

This is a notice of funding opportunity (NOFO) for the BJA FY2026 Public Safety and Mental Health Initiative (PSMHI). This opportunity supports comprehensive service networks addressing untreated mental illness and substance use to reduce the burden of on law enforcement and the justice system; restore order in communities affected by homelessness, mental illness, and substance use; decrease recidivism; reduce crime; and improve overall public safety and restore confidence in public spaces. This initiative supports coordinated, direct intervention efforts across public safety, justice, mental health, and substance use agencies to increase access to mental health and substance use treatment through civil commitment, institutional treatment, and step-down approaches from pre-arrest through reentry, using accountability measures that ensure compliance with treatment plans. This program moves beyond temporary interventions by supporting appropriate institutional care and civil commitment processes, when appropriate, for individuals unable to care for themselves.

Who can apply

  • City or township governments
  • County governments
  • Native American tribal governments (Federally recognized)
  • Native American tribal organizations (other than Federally recognized)
  • Others
  • Special district governments
  • State governments
Geographic restriction None found in the announcement — likely nationwide

Program history

USASpending.gov

Assistance listing 16.745 · Criminal and Juvenile Justice and Mental Health Collaboration Program

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (16.745), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 0
FY 2025 0
FY 2024 52 $550,000 $515,080 – $550,000
FY 2023 65 $549,998 $534,828 – $550,000
FY 2022 138 $512,528 $303,555 – $549,997
FY 2021 38 $622,886 $495,636 – $716,208

For comparison, this notice advertises $0 – $3,000,000.

Who wins it Local government (205), State government (42), Nonprofit (19) of 293 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states TX (23) · FL (14) · OH (12) · GA (11) · NJ (7)
Largest recent awards
  1. THE COUNCIL OF STATE GOVERNMENTS LTD. $11,050,000 · FY 2022
  2. COUNTY OF LAKE $750,000 · FY 2021
  3. COUNTY OF PENOBSCOT $750,000 · FY 2021
  4. HANCOCK COUNTY ADAMHS BOARD $750,000 · FY 2021
  5. WEST MICHIGAN COMMUNITY MENTAL HEALTH SYSTEM $750,000 · FY 2021

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 15, 2026

Assistance listing 16.812 · Second Chance Act Reentry Initiative

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (16.812), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 0
FY 2025 25 $900,000 $899,716 – $900,000
FY 2024 58 $825,000 $749,997 – $848,271
FY 2023 111 $784,195 $750,000 – $900,000
FY 2022 169 $766,942 $749,834 – $900,000
FY 2021 63 $750,000 $661,042 – $900,000

For comparison, this notice advertises $0 – $3,000,000.

Who wins it Nonprofit (233), Local government (83), State government (68) of 426 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states NY (26) · CA (21) · PA (17) · OH (16) · TX (16)
Largest recent awards
  1. AMERICAN INSTITUTES FOR RESEARCH IN THE BEHAVIORAL SCIENCES $6,150,000 · FY 2023
  2. THE COUNCIL OF STATE GOVERNMENTS LTD. $5,474,583 · FY 2023
  3. CENTER FOR EFFECTIVE PUBLIC POLICY, INCORPORATED $4,500,000 · FY 2022
  4. IMPACT JUSTICE $4,000,000 · FY 2023
  5. THE LATINO COALITION FOR COMMUNITY LEADERSHIP $4,000,000 · FY 2023

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 14, 2026

Assistance listing 16.838 · Comprehensive Opioid, Stimulant, and other Substances Use Program

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (16.838), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 0
FY 2025 75 $1,300,000 $1,000,000 – $1,600,000
FY 2024 11 $750,000 $719,572 – $1,643,186
FY 2023 98 $1,290,176 $999,972 – $1,600,000
FY 2022 221 $996,944 $760,454 – $1,300,000
FY 2021 119 $886,738 $549,989 – $1,177,297

For comparison, this notice advertises $0 – $3,000,000.

Who wins it Local government (365), State government (78), Tribal government (43) of 524 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states NC (36) · OH (35) · NY (34) · WI (26) · MA (19)
Largest recent awards
  1. THE INSTITUTE FOR INTERGOVERNMENTAL RESEARCH, INC. $18,533,000 · FY 2022
  2. JBS INTERNATIONAL, INC. $9,600,000 · FY 2022
  3. CRIMINAL JUSTICE COORDINATING COUNCIL $7,000,000 · FY 2023
  4. DEPARTMENT OF JUSTICE WISCONSIN $7,000,000 · FY 2025
  5. DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY $7,000,000 · FY 2023

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 15, 2026