Skip to content
Simpler Grants

No. DE-FOA-0003215 · National Energy Technology Laboratory

Open

Annual Recurring University Training and Research

Dealbreakers Cost share: not stated Audit: not stated Reimbursement-only: not stated
Award range
$1 – $750,000
Expected awards
Not specified
Application deadline
Oct 16, 2026
Posted
Aug 14, 2026
Last verified
2 days ago

At a glance

No plain-language summary yet for this grant — the official description below is the best source.

What it funds

  • Energy
Official description from grants.gov

Annual Recurring University Training and ResearchThe purpose of this funding opportunity is to solicit and award research and development grants to educate and train the next generation of engineers and scientists; to support novel, early-stage research at U.S. colleges and universities; to increase research and development opportunities for underrepresented and structurally marginalized communities; and to ensure that students are equipped with cutting-edge, translatable skillsets that allow them to contribute to the U.S. workforce and greater economy over the course of a longstanding and enduring career.

Who can apply

  • Private institutions of higher education
  • Public and State controlled institutions of higher education
Geographic restriction None found in the announcement — likely nationwide

Program history

USASpending.gov

Assistance listing 81.089 · Fossil Energy Research and Development

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (81.089), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 9 $5,000,000 $1,000,000 – $15,000,000
FY 2025 65 $5,000,000 $2,954,021 – $6,000,000
FY 2024 152 $1,792,087 $701,391 – $7,000,000
FY 2023 135 $1,483,490 $999,040 – $3,040,681
FY 2022 52 $1,206,432 $428,182 – $2,610,957
FY 2021 126 $800,000 $499,755 – $1,499,999

For comparison, this notice advertises $1 – $750,000.

Who wins it Higher education (258), Business (166), Nonprofit (69) of 539 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states CA (64) · TX (57) · IL (42) · CO (22) · OH (17)
Largest recent awards
  1. COLORADO STATE UNIVERSITY $299,999,930 · FY 2025
  2. INSTITUTE OF GAS TECHNOLOGY $209,999,996 · FY 2025
  3. TEXAS COMMISSION ON ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY $134,151,343 · FY 2024
  4. TAMPA ELECTRIC COMPANY $55,835,381 · FY 2025
  5. SOUTHERN STATES ENERGY BOARD $55,248,172 · FY 2024

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 10, 2026