Skip to content
Simpler Grants

No. O-BJA-2026-172677 · Bureau of Justice Assistance

Open

BJA FY26 Body-Worn Camera Policy and Implementation Program to Support Law Enforcement Agencies

Dealbreakers Cost share: not stated Audit: not stated Reimbursement-only: not stated
Award range
$0 – $2,000,000
Expected awards
Not specified
Application deadline
Sep 25, 2026 23 days left
Posted
Aug 13, 2026
Last verified
3 days ago

At a glance

No plain-language summary yet for this grant — the official description below is the best source.

What it funds

  • Law, Justice and Legal Services
Official description from grants.gov

This is a notice of funding opportunity (NOFO) for the BJA FY 2026 Body-Worn Camera Policy and Implementation Program (BWCPIP) to Support Law Enforcement Agencies. This opportunity supports publicly funded law enforcement and correctional agencies for the purchase or lease of body-worn cameras (BWCs) and the development of comprehensive BWC programs. Since its inception, BWCPIP has responded to growing demand for reliable, real-time video evidence in criminal investigations and prosecutions. Law enforcement agencies across the country increasingly rely on BWC footage to enhance evidentiary documentation, improve prosecutorial outcomes, and document public encounters. BWCs also serve as a deterrent to assaults against officers and can help exonerate officers falsely accused of misconduct.

Who can apply

  • City or township governments
  • County governments
  • Independent school districts
  • Native American tribal organizations (other than Federally recognized)
  • Others
  • Public and State controlled institutions of higher education
  • Special district governments
  • State governments
Geographic restriction None found in the announcement — likely nationwide

Program history

USASpending.gov

Assistance listing 16.835 · Body Worn Camera Policy and Implementation

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (16.835), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 0
FY 2025 42 $233,000 $77,500 – $703,493
FY 2024 0
FY 2023 54 $141,351 $54,500 – $519,170
FY 2022 129 $148,435 $50,000 – $399,810
FY 2021 41 $79,958 $26,117 – $168,539

For comparison, this notice advertises $0 – $2,000,000.

Who wins it Local government (206), State government (34), Higher education (11) of 266 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states NY (21) · CA (15) · FL (15) · NJ (14) · OH (7)
Largest recent awards
  1. JUSTICE AND SECURITY STRATEGIES, INC. $26,000,000 · FY 2023
  2. CITY OF MEMPHIS, TENNESSEE $2,000,000 · FY 2023
  3. INDIANA DEPARTMENT OF CORRECTION $2,000,000 · FY 2023
  4. MASSACHUSETTS DEPARTMENT OF CORRECTIONS $2,000,000 · FY 2022
  5. PORT AUTHORITY OF NEW YORK & NEW JERSEY $2,000,000 · FY 2022

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 14, 2026