Skip to content
Simpler Grants

No. USDA-NIFA-HEP-011737 · National Institute of Food and Agriculture

Open

Food and Agricultural Sciences National Needs Graduate and Postgraduate Fellowships

Dealbreakers Cost share: not stated Audit: not stated Reimbursement-only: not stated
Award range
$78,000 – $705,000
Expected awards
Not specified
Application deadline
Oct 15, 2026
Posted
Aug 13, 2026
Last verified
2 days ago

At a glance

No plain-language summary yet for this grant — the official description below is the best source.

What it funds

  • Agriculture
Official description from grants.gov

The purpose of the NNF program, Assistance Listing 10.210, is to provide funding to support new graduate (master’s, DVM, or doctoral) student training and completion of degree programs to develop human capital to participate in meeting the mission of the USDA to increase the pipeline of domestic agricultural students. The NNF program offers funding for eligible full-time students pursuing graduate studies at the master’s, DVM, or doctoral levels within the food and agricultural sciences. The NNF program awards institutional grants to offer funding for eligible full-time students pursuing graduate studies at the master’s, DVM, and/or doctoral levels within the food and agricultural sciences. Fellows must be new graduate students (‘new’ is defined in Part III A); and citizens, nationals, or permanent residents of the United States. Awards made by the NNF program are specifically intended to support graduate programs that engage outstanding students who are citizens, nationals, or permanent residents of the United States of America to pursue and complete their degrees in areas where there is a need for the development of scientific and professional expertise in the food and agricultural sciences. NNF awards invest in graduate training and relevant experiential learning for individuals who demonstrate their potential to successfully complete graduate degree programs in disciplines relevant to the mission of the USDA.

Who can apply

  • Others
Geographic restriction None found in the announcement — likely nationwide

Program history

USASpending.gov

Assistance listing 10.210 · Higher Education National Needs Graduate Fellowship Grants

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (10.210), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 0
FY 2025 14 $239,750 $238,500 – $245,375
FY 2024 13 $246,000 $238,500 – $262,500
FY 2023 6 $133,122 $10,703 – $234,500
FY 2022 22 $119,249 $-10,833 – $246,000
FY 2021 58 $234,165 $-312 – $241,000

For comparison, this notice advertises $78,000 – $705,000.

Who wins it Higher education (104), Nonprofit (4) of 113 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states FL (9) · MI (6) · CO (5) · NC (5) · IN (4)
Largest recent awards
  1. MICHIGAN STATE UNIVERSITY $262,500 · FY 2022
  2. NORTH DAKOTA STATE UNIVERSITY $262,500 · FY 2024
  3. OREGON STATE UNIVERSITY $262,500 · FY 2024
  4. REGENTS OF THE UNIVERSITY OF MICHIGAN $262,500 · FY 2021
  5. TEXAS A & M UNIVERSITY $262,500 · FY 2024

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 14, 2026